We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Dinner in St Tropez”
Review of Benkirai Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Benkirai Hotel
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Saint-Tropez
Certificate of Excellence
portgrimaud
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst Dinner in St Tropez”
Reviewed 28 July 2009

We went to Benkirai Restaurant for dinner tonight, 28.07.09, our wedding anniversary. Unfortunately it was a disaster, slow amatuerish service, overcooked sea bass, re heated duck, cold rice, petit fours just not edible. The best part of the meal was in fact the coffee. For the amount of m oney paid, this was a total disgrace. We ate here two years ago and had a reasonab;e meal and decided to return, as we loved the food and ambience. Will definately not be returning and definately not recomending. If you want a further appraisal please do not hesitate to e-mail me. Your views would be appreciated.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank suewei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sébastien N, Directeur général at Benkirai Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2016


Dear Suewei,

I am the new manager of the Benkiraï and wanted to thank you for taking of your time to post these comments. We were sorry that your dinner was not at your level of expectation and a bad experience for you on that special day.
We already changed and corrected most of the points and the new team and I will continue to improve to do better with our new Chef and a complete change of the "menu".
We hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you for a lunch or dinner at Benkiraï Saint Tropez .


Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    82
    37
    21
    15
See reviews for
45
163
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2009

The ghost of South Beach Past must have designed this place. A little worn and funky attempt at modern, but the pool scene was a welcome oasis from the dueling billionaires in St. Tropez . Very good brunch included. And a lovely garden to add to the relaxation. A bit expensive for a locale that is not walking distance to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacoba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sébastien N, Directeur général at Benkirai Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2016
Dear New Canaan Mom,

I am the new manager of the Benkiraï and wanted to thank you for taking of your time to post these comments. We are glad that your appreciated the most of your stay. The new team and I will continue to improve to do better with a big renovation planned for our next closing during the winter 2017/2018.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you for a new stay in Saint Tropez .

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Great gem 5 mins outside of town and 5 mins from beach. Must drive as too far to walk to either, but they have a shuttle with pre set drop off points. Property and rooms are very modern and comfortable and doesn/t feel crowded. They charge too much for in hotel food and services (small breakfast for 2 was $80US), which is probably why few people eat in their restaurant, but town is close enough and has many dining options.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camino17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sébastien N, Directeur général at Benkirai Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2016
Dear Clark1717,

I am the new manager of the Benkiraï and wanted to thank you for taking of your time to post these comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, despite the food offer. Of course we took good note of your comments and already changed and corrected many points and, the new team and I will continue to improve to do better...
We hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you for your next stay in Saint Tropez .

Sincerely yours,

Sébastien N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneve
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2008

When we booked 2 rooms at the hotel, we were seduced by the web site...When we arrived, it was really different.
The rooms are really small. The Hotel is new, but the quality of the building was very cheap. Rooms are not so new, they look 10 years old.
We could see 2 other rooms, they had the same problems (a lot of marks on the floor giving you the impression it's dirty).
They were damaged on the wood on the floor of the bathroom and a very bad smell. The same with the room of our friends.
Other clients met a the bar told us the same, they were really disapointed.
The music started this morning on the garden at 08h00 AM on the morning. Even with the windows closed, it will wake you up. Nice if you like disco atmosphere, very disturbing if you like to sleep on the morning and rest.
We called the reception to see if they could reduce the volum, they ansewered NO, it's part of the concept of the hotel.
Excepted the receptionist, employees are nice, with a trendy look but probably not a strong experience with 4 stars client's expectations. We come in St Tropez twice a year since 1985, it's our worst experience in this hotel category.
The only 2 good points are wifi Internet access and location.
Hope one day the owner will listen those comments and take appropriate actions to change the situation.
We understand better why this hotel was not fully booked 2 days ago and we could get 2 rooms at last minute...

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room which looks 10 years old
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BelAirGeneve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sébastien N, Directeur général at Benkirai Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2016
I am the new Manager of Benkiraï and would like to thank you taking of your time to post these comments. We are really sorry to read that you had a bad stay and that that the hotel was not at the level of your expectations. We infom you that we already changed and corrected some of the points, except the size of the rooms, and the new team and I are still working to make it better. We also plan a full renovation next winter 2017:2018
We hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you again on a next visit to St Tropez.

Sincerely yours,

Sébastien N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Benkirai the first week of September and we loved it. The staff was fantastic, so accommodating and very nice and friendly. The property was beautiful, especially the pool. The hotel itself is very modern and sleek, not your traditional hotel, so if that is what you are looking for, this isn't your place - the hotel is super trendy. Rooms are a bit small, but not by European standards. The food at the restaurant was excellent, we had both the Thai dinner and breakfast. Prices at the restaurant and for room service were excellent. The hotel is up a hill a bit out of the main area of St. Tropez, however, they have a shuttle and will drop you off and pick you up anytime between 8am and midnight. We highly recommend this hotel, we would stay there again and can't wait to go back.

  • Liked — Free parking and free wireless internet
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JackieCVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sébastien N, Directeur général at Benkirai Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2016
Dear JackieCVancouver,

I am the new manager of the Benkiraï and wanted to thank you for taking of your time to post these comments. We were pleased to read you and that your stay was at your level of expectation. The new team and I will continue to improve to do better with a big renovation planned for our next closing during the winter 2017/2018.
We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you for a new stay in Saint Tropez .

Sincerely yours,


Sébastien N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Tropez hotels
3.0 km away
Kube Hotel-St Tropez
Kube Hotel-St Tropez
#1 of 13 in Gassin
318 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel de Paris Saint-Tropez
Hotel de Paris Saint-Tropez
#5 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
369 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Villa Cosy
Hotel Villa Cosy
#2 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
La Ferme d'Augustin
La Ferme d'Augustin
#2 of 25 in Ramatuelle
252 reviews
0.9 km away
Chateau De La Messardiere
Chateau De La Messardiere
#3 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
426 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel La Residence de la Pinede
Hotel La Residence de la Pinede
#6 of 73 in Saint-Tropez
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benkirai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benkirai Hotel

Property: Benkirai Hotel
Address: 70 Chemin du Pinet, 83990, Saint-Tropez, France (Formerly Lou Pinet St. Tropez)
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Saint-Tropez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Saint-Tropez
#11 Luxury Hotel in Saint-Tropez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Benkirai Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Benkirai is located in a green setting close to this exciting whirlwind of Saint Tropez activity, just close enough for its guests to fully appreciate the sunlight of The Cote d'Azur, the scents of Provence, the warmth of the seasons out by the swimming pool and the proximity of the Mediterranean. In the middle of generous vegetation, the Benkirai has 37 rooms in a large Provencal-style Bastide and 3 other buildings surrounding the pool. The Charm & More Group entrusted the design of the Benkirai to renowned designer Patrick Jouin, who created an elegant establishment in a discreet and simple style, a balance between tradition and modernity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Benkirai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benkirai Hotel St Tropez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing