We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't guess from outside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Royal-Riviera
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2012

As usually, the leading hotels of the world prepared a nice surprise. while being on a business trip we've stayed in this hotel. for one night only. what a pity. great hotel. the room was perfect (205 - splendid view), although you can hear the planes sometimes (but that is inevitable in Nice me thinks). my room was on the sea-side, so no noise from the street (that is pretty close - so ask for sea-view rooms to be safe). food was excellent and service as well. only low was the SPA - saunas were a bit small and i'd love to enjoy more of offerings in their premises. anyways, my stay was perfect.

Room Tip: sea -side would be safe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gustavb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patriciaroyal, Patricia Kintzinger at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2012

We thank you for sharing your experience with us and are glad to read that you enjoyed your time at the Royal Riviera. We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back to the Hotel for leisure, and for a longer time so that you can fully enjoy our property!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (888)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

423 - 427 of 889 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

We booked this hotel to spend a short week end and enjoy the Indian summer! We are a leaders club member and we always trust lhw standards to book our stays. in that case we should have been more careful ... as what surprises me is there is no mention in any tripadvisor’s reviews of the very very disturbing trains/cars/bikes noise that you will experience if you stay in any comfort mountain view room , even some superior rooms have this issue ! So basically in order to spend a correct stay you’ll have to book at least a superior sea view room! Otherwise be prepared to need good earplugs! Which is unacceptable when sleeping in a 5* hotel. After complaining (and because it was out of season), the manager could give us another room with a nicer view but most of all on the quiet side of the hotel. Still we were indelicately pointed out that this gesture was an exceptional favor as we already benefited from a promotional rate + leader's club benefits (bb + upgrade). I think a customer who is part of a loyalty program should never be reminded that the benefits he gets are part of a huge favor! (Specially that you have to pay a fee to be part of this program) So basically you get what you get so don’t complain!
The rest of the stay was ok, the hotel grounds including swimming pool are nice enough to spend a lovely lazy afternoon with a view on the sea and the cap ferrat. Overall the best asset of this hotel is the people working there; friendly and efficient is an accurate definition.
Too bad for the location just next to the railway tracks! Just be aware.
That is why I would qualify this hotel as a 4* rather than a 5.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank W144EVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patriciaroyal, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

We thank you for sharing your experience and are sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations.
We would like to kindly inform you that the railroad is mentioned on our website. Our standard rooms are overlooking the road and a railway track.(with no train running at night) However all our standard rooms have double glazed windows and offer all the comfort of a 5-star hotel for a very good rate. We usually do not have any complaint about the noise disturbance but would suggest a sea view room to our clients who are sensitive with noise.
Upon your arrival, the Hotel was almost full which is why we could not offer you a better upgrade than a Superior room mountain & garden view (with a partial view on the road). When you informed us that you were unhappy with your room, we offered you an upgrade to a sea view room since our availability allowed us to move you on the next day.
According to our Leaders club check in procedure, we advised you upon arrival about all the amenities that are included in your rate. Our team is trained to honour our membership and this is part of our leaders club contract to clearly mention your benefits upon check in to avoid any confusion. We are sorry if you took it as if we were doing you a favor since this was not our purpose. We will make sure to improve this point.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Hotel and that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you.
I personally remain at your disposal should I be of any assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We have stayed in Nice three times, but this is the first time we have stayed here, and we very much hope that it won't be the last. On arrival at Reception, we received a great welcome from the young lady on duty, who showed us the facilities of the hotel and then took us to our room. Everyone in the hotel was absolutely charming; and the quality of food in the restaurant was outstanding. As other correspondents have said, it is expensive, but it is worth paying for the sheer quality.

The outdoor pool was heated, and it was lovely to have a swim even when it was overcast. There were plenty of loungers around the pool and seats in the garden, so it was good to have a chance to relax and read our books. There are some delightful walks along the coastline - St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat in one direction and Beaulieu-sur-Mer in the other - and both had a choice of restauarants. We particularly enjoyed Le Catalan in Beaulieu and La Goelette in St-Jean.

With such excellent and friendly service at Royal Riviera, it seems churlish to mention some very minor disappointments for an hotel of this quality. TV picture on BBC was very poor and kept freezing - metioned to Reception, but no change before we left - and I get BBC very clearly in Spain, so know it is possible. Two days in a row, cleaning staff didn't leave shampoo - promptly arrived when mentioned to Reception, but we shouldn't have to mention it. Bathroom scales broken - advised to Reception, but still hadn't been dealt with before we left. As I say, very minor things - but everything else (apart from the weather on some days!) was perfect.

We shall return!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms at the front of the hotel, which overlook the road and railway line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalellaDePalafrugell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patriciaroyal, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2011

We thank you for your time in sharing your experience with us. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Royal Riviera. We are very grateful to you for letting us know what you qualify as "minor disappointments". This would help us improving our quality of service. We are really sorry for the lack of attention on shampoo and the scales. We have informed our General Housekeeper and Front Office Manager, who will make sure such an omission will not happen again. Regarding the poor picture on BBC channel, we work with an external system and it did take a few days before they could resolve this problem.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Royal Riviera in a near future and I personally remain at your disposal for a future reservation.
pkintzinger@royal-riviera.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

I got what I considered a very good deal through a booking agency on a standard room. It would only allow me to book for 2 adults although I was travelling with my adult daughter and 10 year old son.
When we arrived we were upgraded. The room size was very large by European standards. No additional cost was inccurred for the child using the kingsize bed (including breakfast which was the best we had in France). The location is great and a short (regular) bus or train trip into Nice or Monaco but out of the hectic town and with fabulous views. Good facilities - heated 20m pool, nice garden table tennis. Meals (other than included breakfast) unbelievably expensive but plenty of excellent restaurants nearby.. Staff very attentive and approachable but not particularly knowledgale about activities in Nice.
I would definitely stay here again if I am in that part of the world.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DarwinJunglewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patriciaroyal, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

We thank you for sharing your experience with us and are glad to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay here. As per your comment on our restaurant prices, we would like to kindly inform you that we offer a 3-course Menu at 55 euros in our restaurant Le Panorama, which is quite reasonable for a 5-star hotel.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the Royal Riviera in a near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed here for a week's holiday in May.

This has to be one of the best privately owned, 5* hotels in the best location in the south of France.

For the best part of the week we were in a dream. This is absolute luxury in a small boutique hotel at it's finest.

It is expensive, however you get what you pay for!

This is worth paying for.

I am hoping that this was not a 'once in a lifetime' trip, as I would love to go back again.

Trust me, you will not be disappointed at all.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M3N_XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
patriciaroyal, Attachée de Direction at Hotel Royal-Riviera, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2011

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We're glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and we also hope that it wont be a "once in a lifetime trip". We'll be delighted to welcome you back to the Hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
0.7 km away
La Reserve de Beaulieu Hotel & Spa
La Reserve de Beaulieu Hotel & S...
#1 of 14 in Beaulieu-sur-Mer
389 reviews
5.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Nice Palais de la Mediterranee
3.9 km away
Chateau de la Chevre d'Or
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Welcome Hotel
Welcome Hotel
#1 of 12 in Villefranche-sur-Mer
566 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel & Spa la Villa Cap Ferrat
Hotel & Spa la Villa Cap Ferrat
#3 of 8 in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
156 reviews
5.7 km away
Hotel Negresco
Hotel Negresco
#18 of 204 in Nice
2,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal-Riviera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal-Riviera

Address: 3 avenue Jean Monnet, 06230 St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in St-Jean-Cap-Ferrat
Price Range: €212 - €455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Royal-Riviera 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched in the peninsula of Cap-Ferrat, with plunging views of the Provencal gardens and the Mediterranean, the 94-room Hotel Royal-Riviera provides the intimacy of a private villa with the luxury and glamour of a palace. L'Orangerie villa's 16 rooms and suites each offer a large terrace overlooking the garden or the pool, or a balcony with a partial sea view. Guests may dine in the restaurant "La Table du Royal" or on its outdoor terrace, overlooking the Mediterranean Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Royal-Riviera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Riviera Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing