We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Saint Exupery Gardens Hostel
Ranked #10 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Nice
Reviewed 25 July 2010

I really can't recommend this hostel enough. Fantastic service, great value for money. You're guaranteed to make new friends here. Everyone staying has always been friendly and social - my friend and I visit every year!

The chef cooks AMAZING food every night. You have to try the chocolate brownies. Fantastic value for money too.

A must for your stay in Nice. It's so much fun here that you should book at least 2 - 3 nights here min. We now stay for about a week as there's so much to see and do - Cannes, Antibes, Grasse, Monte Carlo...

Can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellywoodGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

239 - 243 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2010

The hostel has quiet hours after 10 pm, which is kind of ridiculous since it's a hostel that caters mostly to younger people. We were asked to keep it down several times and were told we weren't allowed to play drinking games.

Not in a good location. We had to take a tram to the far side of Nice and then wait for a hostel car to come pick us up. The cars come fairly often but it's still annoying to have to wait for it every time you want to go to and from the hostel. The hostel is about a 45 min walk from the main area and beach which isn't too bad if the weather is nice.

My experience in the rooms themselves was not good. The first night I had a clean room and it was great but I had to switch rooms the second night to a smaller one where the air conditioning was broken so it was boiling the whole time we were there. We asked the staff 4 times to look into fixing it but no one ever came.

Other than that, the dining area was really nice and it was great that we were able to use the computers free of charge. The food at breakfast was decent, and the food that they had at dinner was amazing! They served huge portions and the meals were really good quality at a really cheap price. The bar staff and drivers were nice but the people at the front desk were not that helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tbyers14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Pros: helpful staff.

Cons: very expensive, located far from town, absolutely no noise past 10pm (not even talking, we were repeatedly shushed when whispering -- i realize this sounds exaggerated, but it's entirely true), very loud in the morning (impossible to sleep past 8am), food from their kitchen takes forever to be prepared, full of american boys and girls who have just left home for the first time and must prove their worth by proclaiming their alcoholism, creepy hostel owner, and the hostel is in bad need of maintenance (paint, plumbing, pillows).

I highly suggest not staying at this hostel. They ruin the image of La Petit Prince.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marco9i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

The staff were fantastic and provided us with so much travel information (particularly Brendan, Jeremy and the lovely Scottish bar maid). They really helped make our stay in Nice so great! When we stayed there, there was a themed Party and all the guests and staff got dressed up. It was such a great night! Definitely will stay there again! Hopefully sooner rather than later! :)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HannahME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

I picked this place based on the rave reviews - and I wasn't really disappointed at all. Room (four beds with ensuite) was very comfortable, but came to be a little short on space when all beds were full, and no lockers to store things out of the way. But that is nitpicking. Room was very quiet, being towards the back and around the corner - sure, no view (go out for that!), but ensured a good sleep. Ensuite was large, private and well appointed. Bar area is always full with things going, perfect to meet people, but can be a little intimidating if you are a shy solo. Free net is high speed, but you'll have to pick your time as they can be busy, but I had no trouble. Lots of info is availavble about diy and organised day trips. Shuttle to tram is very useful, walk down to tram is very doable, but walk up a little more strenuous. Trams are v frequent so location of hostel didn't prove to be a big drawback.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebluemarble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Villa Saint Exupery Beach
Hostel Meyerbeer
#1 of 64 in Nice
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Negresco
#18 of 203 in Nice
2,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Saint Exupery Gardens Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Saint Exupery Gardens Hostel

Address: Villa Saint Exupery 22 avenue Gravier, 06100 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 64 Speciality Lodging in Nice
Price Range: €15 - €80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Villa Saint Exupery Gardens Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Stayforlong S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Villa Saint Exupery Gardens Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Saint Exupery Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing