We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY uncomfortable 4 nights; dengue fever risk?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Crillon Centre Nice by HappyCulture
Ranked #70 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed 9 June 2017

Stayed 4 nights mid-May 2017 Rated this "poor, not "terrible" because the hotel seemed very clean. The basic goal of restful nights for the guests was never achieved. Staff very pleasant but very ineffective (except for bus info & reserving shuttle). Various problems;we worried no AC meant health risk from mosquitoes attack.We tried to be good guests & not complain, but we just could not sleep! Room in front VERY noisy (bus stops/motorcycles); closed windows made quiet enough for sleep except then VERY hot stuffy room awful for sleep. Given ineffective SMALL room fan we ran constantly. Open windows (w/o screens) cooled room but let in many mosquitos that bit seriously overnight (50+ bites on one exposed shoulder, plus many more; very scary looking) . Has been dengue fever in Nice area in past, so it's been a worry. Told hotel's central AC unit being replaced, (was ready day before ck-out) but told not warm enough to use yet!..so another hot night fighting mosquitos. We bought repellant but was little help.
Expected tiny bathrooms & limited elevator use (was used for others' luggage, some reason not ours). We have been to Nice 2 other times,thought we knew what to expect. This is handy central shopping area (not "quaint"), but should have moved hotels after 1st night. If need Tram it is very close.

Room Tip: confirm if A/C is WORKING & is bring USED; ask to be away from street, ask for room site detail
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crillon06, Directeur général at Hotel Crillon Centre Nice by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear gjo65,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us this feedback.
Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience provoked by the air-conditioning.
We will be happy of welcoming you again for your next stay in Nice for a better stay.
Best regards
Christine Stenger
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 468 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2017

Staff was nice and spoke well enough English.
A/C was broken on Friday when we arrived so at night we opened the window and got mosquito bites all over which itched like h...ll. Didn't realize to prepare for those in the middle of the city:) Got a fan to the room for the remaining nights which worked on a timer 2 hours at a time. Woke up probably every 3 hours to turn it on again.
Elevator was not operating safely the whole time (Fri to Tue).
Stayed in a double room which was really tiny; didn't fit much else than the bed. Bathroom didn't have much surfaces to put your cosmetics on and the shower was really snug.
Breakfast was maybe typical French; croissants and some sweet bakes and white bread. Maybe not worth 10 eur...
WiFi worked excellent and the location was better than excellent; less than 5 min walk from Place Massena, all the shops nearby and maybe 10 min walk from the Old Town.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JenniSaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crillon06, Directeur général at Hotel Crillon Centre Nice by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear JenniSaa,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us this feedback.
And thank you for the remarks concerning our room, our bathroom and the lift, and we are really sorry for these inconveniences.
We will be happy of welcoming you again for your next stay in Nice for a better stay.
Best regards
Christine Stenger
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

Staff was nice and helpful, always in reach if you needed something, even at night.

Location was perfect, near shops and restaurants but still in the walking distance from the old town. Beach wasn't too far away either.

The room was quite small, but very pretty and clean with a tiny balcony.

The elevator was very small but other than that I have nothing bad to say :)

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
Thank johanna h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crillon06, Directeur général at Hotel Crillon Centre Nice by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Dear Johanna,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hotel Crillon in Nice.
You had a good stay in our hotel and we are happy.

My team and I would be delighted to welcome you next time,

Kind regards,

Christine STENGER
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2017

Great Location, Great Service, Great Breakfast! Highly recommend.. Location is right in the center of the city, everything is walkable.. breakfast is very good and the staff is very helpful. Make sure to choose double bed, if you are traveling as a couple, I was traveling solo so went with the bunk bed.. but it may not be obvious as both suggest for 2 ppl..

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Niyati_Pa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crillon06, Directeur général at Hotel Crillon Centre Nice by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2017

Dear Niyati,

Thank you very much for your kind comment !

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your holiday thanks to our services and the hotel location in the city center of Nice.

Looking forward of welcoming you again in Crillon hotel.

Christine Stenger
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

I recently stayed at a Happy Culture hotel. I didn't realize it was a chain restaurant until the third day I was there. The only reason I found out was because a supervisor happened to be in the common area and told us. The Happy Culture hotels each have a theme. Ours was jelly beans, which means guests get free jelly beans whenever they wish. Other hotels in the area had themes of wine and chocolate. I would have much preferred to stay at one of those, but that is because I prefer wine and chocolate to jelly beans. It would be a good idea to be told about this feature upon arrival. My room was very small; I had trouble walking around the bed. The sheets were not changed every day, which is fine, except that there was an obvious spill on the top of the sheet that I cleaned myself after the first night. Also, the sheets had yellow stains on them, which was a little disconcerting. The staff was their redeeming feature. Very friendly, very eager to please and answer questions. The elevator was broken during my stay, but thankfully I was on the second floor. I felt sorry for the guests that were on the higher floors, especially having to carry their luggage up several flights of stairs.

Room Tip: Find out the hotel's theme and choose according to your preferences, e.g., wine, chocolate, or j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Cathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crillon06, Directeur général at Hotel Crillon Centre Nice by HappyCulture, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Dear Cathleen,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Hotel Crillon in Nice.

Thank you for the remarks, and please accept our deepest apologies for this unpleasant experience. We do well understand your feelings and hope you will forgive that unexpected situation and human mistake.
Be certain that it is of course not in our habits to act like this.

We look forward to welcoming you once again and assure you of our best attention and services at all times.

Best regards

Christine Stenger
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Helvetique
Hotel Helvetique
#65 of 203 in Nice
164 reviews
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Best Western Alba Hotel
Thiers / Train Station
Hotel du Midi
Hotel du Midi
#62 of 203 in Nice
151 reviews
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crillon Centre Nice by HappyCulture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crillon Centre Nice by HappyCulture

Address: 44 rue Pastorelli, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: €46 - €131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Crillon Centre Nice by HappyCulture 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crillon Centre Nice Hotel is located in the heart of Nice, near the Massena Sqaure and close to the beach and the famous Promenade des Anglais. The hotel has been completely renovated in 2012. You can enjoy our HappyTime "Candy Bar" every day at anytime ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Crillon Centre Nice by HappyCulture reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crillon Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing