We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (942)
Filter reviews
942 results
Traveller rating
422
350
106
35
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
422
350
106
35
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews basement room old town superior room blue beach belle epoque two double beds no lift breakfast room sitting room small hotel french hotel boiled eggs overlooking the garden train station small balcony street noise first floor
Filter
Updating list...
148 - 153 of 942 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2016 via mobile

I researched Nice hotels for location, charm, best reviews and best value for $$. Villa Rivoli exceeded all expectations from early check in (off season plays in to that capability), expert patient advice and directions I English to maximize my explorations in a short period of time AND breakfast was included for a more than reasonable price, especially for a single woman traveling. The hotel was well situated 3 blocks up from Le Negresco and the Gambetta bus stop (bus 98 Promenade Anglais airport to Gambetta 6 euro one way 20 minutes tops). The structure is reminiscent of a well loved affluent Manor home or Villa with grand marble stairway but no elevator so you will need to use your muscles for luggage navigation on wide set of stairs. The rooms are updated with clean efficient bathrooms and comfy clean beds, linens and pillows. Room 5 was delightful with street front french door balcony window and the room has air conditioning as well as it can get very hot in Nice. My only complaint is that I could hear my neighbors, walls seemed thin or maybe accoustics of high ceilings created sound reverberations. I imagine this is common in most of the more intimate non commercial structures. The breakfast was fabulous although would have preferred brewed coffee instead of Nescaffe and Lipton tea was pedestrian. Loved the boiled egg knitted cap cozies!
Easy exploring walking distance to Castle Hill, Old Town and Modern Art Museum, Plasse Massena and Rue France offer great shopping opportunities with pedestrian only walkways. Sasha and Julie were excellent at reception and dining assistant was most gracious!!! The people who work here are lovely and professional!
I fell in Love with Nice and Villa Rivoli!! I highly recommend this hotel and look forward to returning soon!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled solo
Thank Penelope C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionVilla, Propriétaire at Hotel Villa Rivoli, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2016

Dear Mrs. Penelope,

Gracias !!!

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback about your stay at hotel Villa Rivoli.

I was thrilled to read your kind and detailed information about your stay with us. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed the decor of our hotel, and your room especially.

We truly make a point in offering each one of our guests an outstanding stay and we are so happy to know that our team contribute to offer you that kind of experience.

I have proudly shared your kind words with the entire staff. It is a great reward for us as we all constantly strive for excellence.

Please be sure that you will always be more than welcome to your » Nicois home » and that Le Villa Rivoli team looks forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon!

Sincerely,

Barbara Kimmig & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016

Very warm and welcoming, Our room (6) was lovely in true French Style, with the great addition of large windows and balcony. Very clean and the bed was super comfy too. The breakfast room is restful and gorgeous.the continental breakfast simply good. We too loved the boiled egg hats, and of course took photographs. All the staff are exceptionally nice and very helpful. The hotel is in a great location (expect some traffic noise) and very near to everything. Although not driving, there is car parking space which I am sure is a real plus in Nice. Also a little garden in which to relax. We truly had a super stay for 5 nights.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sues825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Location - walking distance to the Promenade, Massena & Old Town

Hotel Staff -very helpful & gave us a very warm welcome & service

We love the interior of the place!

Breakfast was ordinary but was made special & memorable because of the boiled eggs with beanies

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionVilla, Propriétaire at Hotel Villa Rivoli, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2016

Dear Mrs Karen,

We would like to thank you very much for your very positive feedback and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Villa Rivoli.

Thank you for your compliments concerning quality of our service as well as the interior design.

The small egg " beanies" are hand made by my mother and a very kind english guest , continued with the collection....

Looking very much forward welcoming you again,
best regards
Barbara Kimmig & team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Very good location, 100 meters from the beach and 15 mins walk to the old town. Restaurants and shops on the way to old town. City bike rental 50 meters from hotel. Rooms very small, bathroom remarkably small but just enough :) Good atmosphere and helpfull, smiling staff. Nice, simple breakfast out on the cosy backyard. Book parking ahead.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank May-Britt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionVilla, Propriétaire at Hotel Villa Rivoli, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

Dear Mrs. May Britt,

we are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Villa Rivoli and we would like to thank you very much for your kind review.

Indeed the location is really in the center of Nice, very closed to the sea, to the bistros abd to the shopping area.

I will straight away pass your compliments concerning our helpfull and friendly staff to our team !

Concerning the size of the rooms, please contact us for your next trip directly and we are happy to choose the perfect room for you :) For your information, the superior rooms are the biggest.

Looking very much forward welcoming you again,
best regards of Nice

Barbara Kimmig & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We left Villa Rivoli this morning after an excellent stay. The hotel is bijou so you really feel you are staying in a quant old villa with beautiful French windows yet right in the heart of Nice. The rooms are small but spotless with adequate space, great wifi and the young staff are very friendly, helpful and smiling in a genuine way. They clearly enjoy their jobs and the guests. Buffet breakfast is a very reasonable 12 euro although a continental version is available for 4.50 and it is served in a beautifully decorated room with a lovely terrace if you prefer "al fresco". It's the perfect start to step out and immediately explore Nice which is on your doorstep. The old town is only a 15 minute stroll away and the promenade is a block away. We would love to go back soon.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Eugene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirectionVilla, Propriétaire at Hotel Villa Rivoli, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2016

Dear Mrs. Eugene,

Merci beaucoup for your very nice compliments !

This is a real motivation for all of us, reading that you realized the effort we make concerning the decoration ( le charme à la française) and the cleanliness.

We are happy that you had a nice stay with us and ... yes, we do definitely enjoy our job .... and our guests :)

Looking very much forward welcoming you again, all the best and have a very nice automne,

yours Barbara Kimmig & team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews