We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,416)
Filter reviews
1,416 results
Traveller rating
441
547
255
102
71
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
441
547
255
102
71
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view blue beach old town junior suite negresco hotel classic hotel private beach the bus top floor beautiful hotel promenade des perfect location long weekend reception staff very pleasant stay breakfast room monte carlo
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 1,416 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The room was a lovely size, looked out of teh back of the hotel and so was quite noisy in the evening with the air conditioning unit going all night but the room was clean and had everything that you could require. The location is good, a 15 minute walk to the old town and right by a bus stop. The thing that really spoiled this trip for us was the lack of wifi in the room. The hotel advertises wifi and so we expected that it would be there. There was a router in the room but would not connect to the internet. I mentioned this twice to N. on Friday evening who said it would be sorted on Saturday, it wasn't, I then mentioned it to the concierge who came to the room and tried to fix it and couldn't, he said he would inform his manager. Still nothing. On Sunday I spoke to C. on reception who said she would inform technical support that it was now urgent. Nothing. I spoke to JM on Monday who did kindly offer us another room but this was half the size of our existing one and so as we were only there two more nights we declined - the concierge who showed us the room confirmed that wifi in this room worked but still not in ours. As a result, we had no wifi in the room for any of the 5 nights, I had to pay for more data on my phone as a result, was not offered any gesture of goodwill to recompense for this and, to add insult to injury, was woken up at 8.30am on our final morning by drilling outside our room !

I am sure, had a simple thing like wifi not spoiled the holiday I would have a different feeling but when the hotel sells itself as wifi in every room - that is what one expects !

Room Tip: Don't have room 523 if you want wifi !
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Michel S, Responsable relations clients at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear RobertB
Thank you for your time and your valuable informations about your recent stay with.
We do regret this unfortunate experience with our wifi in your room which could not fixed up correctly durng your stay.
A room change to the room next yours has been proposed but you declined to accept it.
As a matter of fact your electronic device was working everywhere else in the building but regretfully not in room.
We would have loved to discuss about your extra datas during your stay and from now we are still ready to.
Focused on our customer satisfaction we definetely remain open to further notice even after a review which is not in favor of our reputation.
Shoud you feel like getting more information or assistance, do please contact us back at your convenience.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We were traveling with our teenage daughter. They gave us a room with our bed in one room hers through another door (which did not open to the hall way). Great arrangement in that it gave her more privacy. Windows actually opened so we got that great sea air. And since our room did not face the ocean, we had the sea air without any road noise. Staff was very helpful. Breakfast was plentiful and excellent.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter. No ocean view means no road noise!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seetheworld253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Michel S, Responsable relations clients at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you very much dear Seetheworld253 for such a valuable review .
We do enjoy to have contributed to the success of your stay and do hope you will keep in mind the souvenir of it that way.
Kindest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

The only pro of this structure is the position. The rooms are very small, old fashioned and not clean enough, really not in Line with the first impression we had of the hotel from the outside. The room for the breakfast is not large enough for all the guests. You must arrive very early in the morning if you want a seat, otherwise you’ll be sent to another room very far from the buffet and the staff. The staff of the hotel is very bad too. The blond girl who manages the breakfast restaurant is the only nice person we found and she tries ti do her best to overcome the issues caused by her superiors. The consierge is totally useless, he was not able to give us and useful advice or tip, his job was limited to typing the names of the places we wanted to go to on trip advisor (something everyone can do).
Finally, we asked to the receptionist to call us a taxi for the airport our last day and he called it 3 hours before the time we actually wanted it. But the worst thing is that he required me to go down to the reception at 4.30am and blaimed me for the mistake, he said that it was my fault because i had not checked what he had written on his personal note the night before!! He also called us a fancy private driver that we did not asked for and costed us €50 instead of a €20 which is the normal tarif.
An hotel we suggest to stay far from.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Lorenzo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Michel S, Responsable relations clients at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear LorenzoL

What an unfortunate experience and what a desperate way of revealing it.
It does not only reveal your disapointment but your willingness of making it even harder to you and to us.
We would like along with our apologies to moderate your review with informative and corrective actions.
Our hotel is dated from 1842 and its style is Belle Epoque as well as many of our rooms.
Should this style not be yours, then our website displays all our rooms and also our Deluxe rooms decorated in a more contemporary way.
And we are sure you will appreciate a lot their brightness .
The concierge may refer to reviews posted on various website to adjust his own perception to the most common that anyone can read on line.
Beyond the unconvenience mentionned on your departure, the regular fare for a taxi ride to the airport is 35 euros and bagage handling is 4 euros per piece and extra charge for early departure is 4 euros. An early taxi ride will cost then 40 to 50 euros depending on bagage.
These rates are the one usually applied by the Nice RivieraTaxi company.
should any assistance or information be needed, we remain open to provide you all you may need that could help you to reconsider your review.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We stayed 3 nights in the West End, a beautiful Hotel in the best section of the beach. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, and the staff was friendly. Our rooms were city view, and this has its problems such as the very noisy macro extractor of the Massena Parking that is shoulder-by-shoulder with the Hotel building or the kitchen smells, even if we were in the 6th floor. I guess that a city view room in the lower levels must be very problematic given our experience in the top floor. The wifi basically did not work.

Room Tip: Avoid city view.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Giussepeferdinando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Michel S, Responsable relations clients at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Dear Giuseppeferdinado,
We do appreciate your review and the time spent to write it.
It is a real gift for all of us to be thanked for our kindness and helpfulness.

For better comfort we do recommend to close the windows as the air conditioner is regulated to maintain the optimal temperature in rooms and also sound proofed equipment cannot be effective.
Wifi is regularly checked and works with all major electronic devices unless if personnal settings may interfere the signal or the connection.
Our technicians can help you in many ways, should you need their assistance.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

The first thing to do at the Hotel West End is to wake up and open the curtains and look at the Sea - you will feel fabulous! We stayed in this lovely Hotel using the Secrets escape deal. We arrived by bus (98) from the Airport and walked about 20 meters from the bus stop , it was so easily accessible. Our suite (305) was quite spacious with an extra room, and included two nice balconies which overlooked the sea . Upon arrival the assistant manager (Julien) was delightful and very helpful. Breakfast was included with our deal and was very good but it was always hard to find a decent table. The hotel has real character and was positioned within easy walking distance to local shopping, restaurants and the beach. The Town centre was also walkable unless you decided to take a bus which would be great for a family on a budget. And the nearby Trattorias, Pizzaria or Cocktail bar are just beside the Hotel, perfect!!

We decided to dine at the Hotel for all of our three nights in Nice, as we were given a 15% discount which helped a bit with our final bill. Sandra and David, our waiters, gave us a great service and they were super friendly. We were happy with our stay. Definitely we will return to the West End Hotel - so lovely to be there with my darling partner.

A good tip for those who like to explore more the Provence. The Train tickets are cheaper than in England - for just €20 or less you can travel to San Remo and surrounding Towns, including Ventimiglia, Bordighiera, Monte Carlo and Antibes.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Khato1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean-Michel S, Responsable relations clients at Hotel West End, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Khato1
Thank you so much for such an amazing review about your recent stay with us.
How glad we are to read it. It is a true gift from you and we do share it all together.
Should you ever wish to visit us again, do please contact us.
We do hope to welcome you back the soonest.
Kindest regards from all of us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews