We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eclectic Art Collection / Great Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Negresco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Negresco
Ranked #14 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Eclectic Art Collection / Great Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

We had an early flight s we needed to be close to the airport. I question who writes these reviews. We tried some of the "better" ranked hotels and they were just not our style. It goes to show some people love wall-mart also. We walked in the number one ranked place and walked right out. Hotel Negresco gave us several choices in rooms, they recommended a great place to eat and they also have a restaurant with Michelin stars. We were in a funky styled Art Deco room with a sea view and balcony. The street noise was a bit loud but we enjoyed the room.

Room Tip: Street noise is pretty loud in front on lower levels. Park view on the side is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brickland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction7, General Manager at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Brickland,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our concierges indeed have a lot of good tips if you do not know what to do/where to go in Nice! We really hope to welcome you again soon !
Pierre Bord, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,173
    513
    230
    125
    115
See reviews for
314
1,174
85
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

A beautiful "La Grand Dame" hotel of old-time classic, every corner decorated with antiques and art objects. It gave me a homely feel as if I were a personal guest of Mrs Augier, the resident owner of the hotel. Service from receptionists and concierge was impeccable. Dinner in the carousel-like La Rotonde restaurant, which gave one the impression of being in a circus, was both a great culinary and visual experience. Facing the promenade with panaromic view of the Mediterranean, it is only across the road from the miles-long pebble beach where one can relax in an outdoor cafe soaking up winter sun, watching the blue sea and gentle waves.

My recently refurbished room was huge with a large sitting area and marble bathroom, tastefully decorated with all the mod-cons. Unfortunately sound insulation left a lot to be desired, as one could hear footsteps in the corridors, plumbing noise, guests next door talking and using the bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sho132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction7, General Manager at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Sho132,
We are happy to see that you had a good time amongst us! We hope to welcome you again soon !
Pierre Bord, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Had the fortune of staying at this magnificent establishment last week. It is absolutely fantastic. The position could not be better, right on the seafront.
This hotel has so much character and charm. People actually walk in from the outside to take photographs of the interior. You feel like you are walking around a museum.
The most positive aspect of this hotel is that you actually know you are in France, it has got a very French feel to it, maybe with a touch of Romanian mixed in as I believe that the original owner was in fact Romanian.
Out of curiosity I checked out some of the negative reviews and they seem mainly to come from American clients. It is true that if you are looking for modern, functional, chintzy luxury a la Hilton you might be disappointed. This is more for people who like their luxury with artistic depth. If it is history and character you are looking for, then this is your place. One person criticized this place because there was a cat walking around. I saw the cat too and thought it was charming that a five star hotel had a resident cat in it. This animal actually belongs to the owner, Madame Augier, who actually lives on the sixth floor. How personal is that.
I was in a room on the 5th floor with access to the private lounge and free bar. Only negative is that I had a bit of trouble getting to grips with the high tech light switches. If you get the chance, stay here one night. It is an experience.

Room Tip: I would think that sea view is best, and preferably on the 5th floor. Here you have access to the VI...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
4 Thank bewlaybros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction7, General Manager at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear bewlaybros,
Thank you for sharing this nice comment with us! You are completely right, the first hotel owner, Henri Negresco, was Romanian. However, all the piece of art you can see in the hotel has been found by Madame Augier, the current owner. When it comes to the cat, Carmen, she belongs to Madame Augier indeed, and is around 10 year old. We are happy you enjoyed you stay amongst us, and you perfectly understood the concept of the hotel: History and Character. We hope to see you soon again !
Pierre Bord, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trimdon Village
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

19th - 23rd December 2011 My Husband and I stayed at The Negresco (Bed and Breakfast)! We has booked through Easyjet and could not believe our luck at the wonderful deal we had received. From the moment we arrived at the door we were treated like royalty, upgrading us to a superior room on our arrival - from then on it was like a dream come true. The view from our room was fabulous (the room itself there is not enough room here to tell you have brilliant it was) looking over the sea, watching the sunrise on a morning and the lights come on on an evening - fantastic. We have been to Nice many times and stayed in some other hotels and had a wish list to one day stay at 'The Negresco' it did not let us down. The art work, each floor is a revelation even the lift is an event, the bars and restaurants were unique but most of all the staff ALL made us feel special and welcome in a way that perhaps we have not had in any other establishment - The dream is still alive - to one day return!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction7, General Manager at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Chris V,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor! We were delighted to read your comment! We are really happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again!
Pierre Bord, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Very professional staff, place was amazing, location was perfect and breakfast was great too... plenty of things to see in this wonderful place, was worth every cent. Was a great honeymoon stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank qf11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Direction7, General Manager at Hotel Negresco, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Dear Qf11,
Thank you for sharing such a special moment of your life with us! We are glad you chose Le Negresco and hope to see you again soon !
Pierre Bord, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Negresco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Negresco

Property: Hotel Negresco
Address: 37 Promenade des Anglais, 06000 Nice, France
Region: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#11 Business Hotel in Nice
#25 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Negresco 5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Negresco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negresco Hotel Nice
Hotel Negresco Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing