We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (828)
Filter reviews
828 results
Traveller rating
336
366
99
22
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
336
366
99
22
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea view jean baptiste sea front the bus hotel restaurant old town best westerns nice hotel monte carlo minute walk french riviera express breakfast excellent restaurant the hotel staff nice airport fantastic stay double glazed doors
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 828 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2018

I searched Trip Advisor for a room in Menton which had a sea view, a balcony and bed larger than a double; Hotel Prince De Galles offered all of these however I was hesitant o book a Best Western. In North American Best Westerns are better known to be budget hotels, I am thrilled I took the chance! Everything about this hotel was perfect starting with the front desk staff (Mr. Jean-Baptiste was so helpful and even moved his own vehicle from a parking spot so that we could have it). We had a corner room on the 4th floor with a wrap around balcony and a phenomenal view of the sea. The balcony had a table and 2 chairs and also 2 loungers. The room was one of the largest I have experienced in Europe, very clean, very modern, Nuxe bath products and a free mini bar that was stocked daily with water and juice.

The beach was right across the street and the hotel provided beach towels for the day or you could pay to go to a private beach just steps further and get a discount from the front desk staff (private beach is so worth it due to rocky beach). Prince De Galles is on the very edge of Menton but the walk down the sea walk is beautiful leading you to a bunch of restaurants and a large casino. One of the staff members directed me to a grocery store not 4 mins away by foot where I picked up some wine and cheese. The hotel staff happily uncorked my wine and gave me wine glasses to take to our room.

The cost of the room for the time of year was reasonable, my only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer as the hotel was booked. After 2 nights there we wanted to stay longer! Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: worth it to pay the extra for a sea view room!
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank chantelleko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas-Laurenti, Front Office Manager at Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Menton.

We are really glad that you have enjoyed the location of the hotel, the comfort and the sea view of our rooms and our staff. I will be sharing your positive comments with the whole team and also with the staff of our private beach "Le Solenzara" that we have just opened this summer.

We will be more than pleased to welcome you back to our hotel hoping to have the pleasure of having you for more nights.

Kind Regards
The Management Team
Hotel Prince de Galles Menton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Did not know anything about Menton. Pick the hotel from an online picture. We were not disappointed. The room was spacious, the staff helpful and the location was perfect. When we return to the Cote de Sol, we will be booking there. And the VIEW.

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Joseph C V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas-Laurenti, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Prince de Galles and for leaving a review about our hotel.

We are happy to read that you liked the spacious room allocated, the staff, our location and the great view from your room.

We would be glad to welcome you again if your future trips bring your back to Menton.

Kind Regards
The Management Team
Hotel Prince de Galles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

Our room was on the ground floor and had just been completely renovated, which was excellent. It would have been nice to have a balcony room, but there was good people watching on the road outside the hotel. The balcony was a great place to enjoy an evening drink watching the sun go down. All the staff were terrific.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank dawncee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas-Laurenti, Directeur général at Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Dear Dawncee28,

Thank you for choosing the Prince de Galles and for leaving a review about our hotel.

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your room and liked the staff.

Please note that we do also have rooms with balcony, some located on reception floor, but most of them are located on the higher floors of the hotel. For future reservations please do not hesitate and contacts us and we will assist you booking a room with balcony overlooking the sea.

Waiting the pleasure of welcoming you back in our hotel, we wish you a nice day.

Kind Regards
The Management Team
Hotel Prince de Galles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

The hotel was clean and personnel quite nice. There is a really nice private beach in a beach club close by for the hotel but it cost 19€ per person. The breakfast was quite bad, if you are going to choose this hotel, I would recommend you to skip the breakfast.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Tomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas-Laurenti, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2018

Dear TomiS,

Thank you for choosing the Prince de Galles and for leaving a review about our hotel.

We are happy to read that you liked the cleanliness of our property and the staff.
Regarding the breakfast we are sorry to read your comment as we are used to receive only compliments.

We would be glad to welcome you again if your future trips bring your back to Menton.

Kind Regards
The Management Team
Hotel Prince de Galles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed here 23rd to 30th June lovely hotel and grounds.
Staff extremely attentive, knowledgeable and willing to assist their guests.
Had a sea view room with balcony, breathtaking in every direction, has spoiled us for future trips.
Hotel handy to small cove/beach 20m for morning swim before breakfast, nice walking distance from Menton.
Only complaint being stay was too short, easily sorted, will book now for two weeks same time next year.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jackomcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas-Laurenti, General Manager at Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Dear Jackomcc,

Thank you for your review. We are really happy to read that you liked our property so much and you have enjoyed the location and the great view from your room. Be sure that I will be sharing all the comments you left with the staff.

We would be glad to welcome you again in our hotel next year! Please do not hesitate to contact us directly

Kind Regards
The Management Team
Hotel Prince de Galles Menton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews