We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, reasonably priced ”
Review of La Celula

La Celula
Ranked #125 of 294 Restaurants in Menton
Description: Anciennement le balico, la celula a été lancé le 24 decembre 2018 avec une nouvelle équipe et nouvelle direction.
Restaurant details
Description: Anciennement le balico, la celula a été lancé le 24 decembre 2018 avec une nouvelle équipe et nouvelle direction.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Had dinner with friends and was positively surprised. Small pasta to start was actually quite large and very tasty. Main course of fish and vegetables was fresh and excellent. I’ll be there again soon!

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Wanderer49552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018

Went for a quick lunch ! Took a vitello tonnato and ossobuco di vitello. Sooo goood !!! Dishes are very creative and so tasty ! And they have English and russian menu !
Bravo !

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank viktorivnayana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

Very nice location, in the center of Menton on the Place au Herbes. The waiters are very friendly, the price is very reasonable and tasty food.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank s_bastienm750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

We were in Menton for the Lemon Festival and needed somewhere to warm up on a bitterly cold day.We found this restaurant in the middle of the pedestrian shopping zone,it was already full with diners and their Minestrone soup of the day on a 3 course menu at 20 euros was enough to encourage us to join them.Service was prompt and friendly and steaming bowls of soup and fresh crusty bread soon arrived.Main course of faux-filet and chips was as we have come to expect in France,tasty but quite fatty and the sharp steak knives provided were necessary to extract the meat.Lemon tart dessert was OK but not home made.The bill for 2 was 48 euros including a pichet of wine-so a fair price for the lunch we had eaten.
When I came to write a review I could not find La Celula referred to,but after some research identified this restaurant by its former name Le Balico.If I had read the reviews beforehand,based on the universally negative comments I would not have dined here. Having said that,our experience was perfectly satisfactory and there was no evidence of our fellow diners either complaining or returning food on a whole scale basis. So whether the staff have changed or taken on board earlier criticisms is a possibility but in our experience this was definitely not the disaster zone it has been portrayed as previously.No restaurant deserves to remain in business if it treats its clients with contempt,but then nor does it deserve to be trashed online as may have been the case previously.Complaints should be dealt with at the time,not retrospectively,and if not handled properly then rightly brought to the attention of the readership.Caveat Emptor.

Date of visit: February 2018
2  Thank pjh1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: October 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Celula also viewed

Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Menton, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Celula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing