We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice except the Half Board”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Eze Hermitage
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Eze
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2008

We stayed at the Hermitage for a night in October 2007. It was about 2km from the village and pretty much in the middle of nowhere which is fine if you are travelling by car but perhaps not so convinient otherwise. It was actually nice to escape from the hustle and bustle of the coast and the hotel has lovely mountain views from the gardens and from the rooms that look out of the back. The rooms to the front however not only have no view but are a little noisy as they are right on the road. The rooms are quite nice, smallish, but nicely decorated. The garden was nice with an area to lounge with a pre-dinner drink. The food was good and the dining room had a nice atmosphere, however we regretted having booked our room with half-board as this meant we were served a fixed menu that we were not keen on. The other dishes we saw looked much better and we would definitely have preferred a la carte had we realised. We paid about €80 for the room which was good value and €30 extra per person for the half board. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveller1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 147 of 351 reviews

Reviewed 29 February 2008

We spent five nights in Eze at the Hotel Hermitage in October 2007. It was exactly what we wanted; it overlooked the Cote d'Azur from far above, away from all the chaos of Nice, but we were still close enough to experience the shops and beaches of Nice, Cap Ferrat, Monaco all within ten minutes. One of our most enjoyable experiences was the home/intimate museum of Ephrussi Rothschild. Aside from being a glimpse into the amazing woman's life, it has beautiful gardens, artifacts from a life well traveled, and a wonderful terrace on which you can have a not very expensive but quite good lunch. The views of the Cote d'Azur were absolutely stunning, and if I could have built a house anywhere on the earth, I would love to have one there!

While in Eze we had a hard time finding a good beach without going too far, but it was too cold in October to do much sunbathing anyway. The only problems we had at the hotel was the language barrier - after spending 10 days in the rest of France, one would think we were accustomed to it, but we found the staff did not speak any English, and found it incredibly difficult to communicate. We made great use of the wireless internet access, went online to babelfish.altavista.com and typed what we wanted to say. It doesn't tell you how to pronounce it, but it was better than trying to decipher something with our French/English dictionary. Unfortunately, we couldn't understand the response from the staff so trying to get a shirt laundered turned into a half hour affair. Our stay in Eze was still the most fascinating destination and we would definitely go back, this time spending more time in the village of Eze itself.

Dinner at the Troubador - amazing, great place. Very friendly waiter and the food was excellent.

1  Thank TrueBlueGin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2007

after reading previous reviews, decided to book three nights here. it was a very pleasant stay and so convenient for seeing the area by car though there is a bus stop nearby. hotel is rather isolated on the grande corniche above eze village with spectacular mountain views from our rear -facing 2nd floor room. ample parking, quiet garden/[pool with plenty of space to relax in peaceful surroundings. a haven away from the busy riviera
our bedroom, though small ,was quiet, clean and comfortable with a modern shower room. cable internet connection was free. the restaurant was reasonable for the area ( the set menu de la mer was excellent) and there was also a la carte. all the hotel staff were friendly
some good walks nearby with wonderful views of the med and nice

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank levant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2007

We stayed in this hotel for two nights and although it was a little difficult to find, it was worth it. Make sure you get directions on how to get there, it is in Upper Eze and not in the town. The room was small but nice, and clean and similar to other rooms in France. The property was next to a nature trail that when you walk it you get the most amazing view of Nice and the Sea. We decided to eat in the hotel the first night and we were suprised, the food was amazing. We decided to eat there the next evening and it was equally as good. The staff were pleasant and the grounds were beautiful. For the price we paid it was a bargain. A car is necessary as the property is far from anything.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JLMCto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2007

Stayed at this hotel for our first wedding anniversary. After a tricksy journey from Nice to the hotel, we arrived to find a wedding happening which was lovely, but after travelling for about 11 hours, it was disappointing to find the kitchens were shut, although we hadn't been made aware of this when booking.

Luckily, the staff were great and the chef made us a cheese and meat platter which sorted us out.

The gardens of this hotel, and the views out the back are amazing, it's truly a boutique hotel, with lovely touches, like the tent like relaxing area, which is beautiful.

After a boozey day in Eze by the sea, we had a great meal at the hotel to celebrate our first anniversary. not cheap, but lovely.

Hotel staff were really nice.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bandares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eze
1.7 km away
Chateau de la Chevre d'Or
1.8 km away
Eza Vista
Eza Vista
#5 of 6 in Eze
398 reviews
1.6 km away
Chateau Eza
Chateau Eza
#2 of 6 in Eze
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Cap Estel Hotel
Cap Estel Hotel
#4 of 6 in Eze
204 reviews
5.9 km away
Riviera Marriott Hotel La Porte de Monaco
12.4 km away
Best Western Hotel Prince De Galles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eze Hermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eze Hermitage

Address: 1951 avenue des Diables Bleus | 1951 Avenue des diables bleus, 06360 Eze, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Eze
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Eze
Price Range: €69 - €183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eze Hermitage 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Eze Hermitage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermitage Eze Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing