We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Chanteclair

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chanteclair
Ranked #63 of 126 Hotels in Cannes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I spent two nights here whilst on a whistle stop tour of the south of France. Pascal was great at helping me to organize my time and my room in advance. My room was a newly renovated one and was clean and nice. There was no AC, but I had a fan. I was able to walk to and from the station and the local Forville market was right outside. There was a very cheap leader express supermarket right next to the hotel. I would certainly stay here again, if in the area.

Room Tip: A renovated one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingNessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

Family-like atmosphere. Bargain price for a great location - Rue Meynadier is right across the corner, along with the local market. Pleasant welcome. Cute friendly dog waiting for visitors ) Breakfast as well as anything you bring yourself may be eaten in the small courtyard.

Tiny shower and WC (2nd floor), but we had a shower ensuite, as well as a sink what was handy.

Old, almost ancient vibe in the whole building as well as rooms and the stairs. Feel of old Europe.

Hope it all stays the same when I decide to come next time!

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, room 13 (corner). Small but cozy, shower ensuite. The seagulls woke us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nargis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank jemmyyork
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Location could not be beaten. Right in Old Town & 5 mins walk to the marina. Manager & dog is friendly. Room was the cheapest in town at this price unfortunately you do get what you pay for. The hotel is old & rundown. Our room had an open shower which wasn't mentioned in the ad. The WC was small. We had sewage smell from the pipes. Very basic so don't expect kettle or hairdryer. Good enough for backpackers & stayers only wanting a comfortable bed for few nights but we (couple) would rather pay more than stay here again but that's just our preference.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank AJ R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pascal F, Manager at Chanteclair, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear guest,

First of all thank you for taking time to write a review on Hotel Chanteclair. You have selected a hotel in the old part of Cannes, hence it is an old building. You write that you did not like the room. That make me sad because you did not tell me. We could have given you another room. All our rooms are different but of course all rooms are very small. We do write that on our website. You are also claiming a hairdryer. We do lent out hairdryers from the reception if asked of. I hope that you will find hotels that suits you better in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I have just returned from a 4-day stay in this hotel / hostel. I booked it via hostels.com and you can't argue with the cost - 100 euros for 4 days - what a bargain.

I absolutely loved the location, charm and ambience of this hotel as well as my little room 4. I booked this pretty last minute as I suddenly found myself with a long weekend on the cards due to a public holiday in Amsterdam and decided to set off for some sun.

Room 4 has a shower (not for the large), sink, queen bed and the toilet is just outside (which did not bother me at all). The room overlooked the courtyard and each morning I was woken (after a great night's sleep) to the sound of a wood pigeon and also the world's noisiest seagull!

I slept really really well here, the bed was v comfortable and with the window open it was just the right temperature.

Location wise, as others have said, you are right next to the market and 'restaurant row' in the old town, as well as just down the road from the Croisette. If you are after a private beach then I can recommend the O'key private beach. If you go down to the marina and turn right, you can't miss it. The prices are 12 euros per day in the week and 16 euros at the weekend for a sunbed & parasol. The owners and staff were lovely to me for the two days I was there.

Pascal is very kind and his dog Oscar is a little naughty thing (but v cute French boxer). If you are not keen on dogs then do not be put off, he is only a tiny thing and Pascal will tie him up if he is running around and being too naughty.

For 7 euros you can have a continental breakfast or if like me, you just want coffee, then a grand cafe is 2.50 euros (and I did check out the prices round about - he is cheaper).

Also if you ask him nicely, you may arrive after 8pm - but you must ask in advance.

Overall, I loved this little place - I felt very at home, and I'm sure I will be returning. I'm only sorry that the weather in Amsterdam is several degrees cooler than it was on the Cote D'Azur, as I'm missing the warmth.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woganmog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cannes hotels
4 km away
Kyriad Cannes Ouest - Mandelieu
0.7 km away
HOTEL P.L.M
HOTEL P.L.M
#70 of 126 in Cannes
72 reviews
1.4 km away
Hotel Abrial Cannes Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Chalet de l'Isere
Hotel Chalet de l'Isere
#34 of 126 in Cannes
85 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel SImone
Hotel SImone
#14 of 126 in Cannes
154 reviews
0.4 km away
ResidHotel Les Coralynes
ResidHotel Les Coralynes
#96 of 126 in Cannes
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanteclair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanteclair

Address: 12 rue Forville, 06400 Cannes, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Cannes
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Cannes
#42 Romantic Hotel in Cannes
Price Range: €34 - €87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Chanteclair 1.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chanteclair reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chanteclair Hotel Cannes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing