We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
121
155
56
12
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
155
56
12
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift flights of stairs train station adapted room hospitality tray great location the main street tourist office clothes hangers lovely courtyard the air conditioning works internal courtyard huge bathroom breakfast area lower floor reception desk bed was comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 351 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2018

The location is excellent, a five-to-seven-minute walk from the train station, even if you have luggage. It's the same distance from the main tourist square. The street is the main shopping street of Avignon. The hotel has a historic church a few steps away on either side. The street front is a passageway to a quiet interior court where the hotel itself is located. The rooms are adequate in size, and ours was pleasantly decorated in beige and white. We liked the electric kettle and the desk with two chairs and good light., the two night tables, luggage rack, and stool in the bathroom. The bathroom is minimal in size and amenities (flimsy plastic glasses, no sanitary bags, no paper handkerchiefs, one large towel per person) but the shower works well and there's a hair dryer, mirror, etc, We asked for more clothes hangers and more than one tube each of shower gel and shampoo, and they were quickly delivered. Air-conditioning is good but it goes off late at night. We did not have breakfasts at the hotel. There are cafes and brasseries diagonally across the street as well as others very close by. We particularly liked the staff. One receptionist suggested a street where there are less touristic restaurants, a 10-15 minute interesting stroll away.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, as the hotel is recessed from the street.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carol K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe L, Gérant at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Dear Carol,

Thank you very much for this detailed comment. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Central Hotel. I suggest you to taste the breakfast buffet during your next visit, you will find fresh quality products, such as our home-made fruit salads.

Best Regards,

Mathilde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

What a fabulous find in the centre of Avignon. The staff were very friendly & helpful. Our room was delightful, clean and simple but stylishly furnished. Lovely cool courtyard and bar to relax with a cool drink and relax from the heat of the day in. Walk through the doorway straight out onto the Main Street.

Would definitely recommend and visit again.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mushah2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippe L, Gérant at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2018

Dear Guest,

We are very happy that you have had such a good time at the Central Hotel and we will be glad to welcome you again.

Best Regards,

Mathilde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

Small hotel right in the centre 10mins from the local Train Station .
If coming on the Eurostar be aware the new Station is outside of Avignon, do wait for the
Free Train into Avignon, there was a long wait for a taxi . It’s too far out to walk & the buses are confusing so make sure you get on the right one .
Typical French Hotel with Shutters , modern Bathrooms good beds lovely linen changed twice in four days .
We upgraded our room size , but didn’t realise you need to upgrade even more if you require the lift , our friends room was up six flights of stairs !! not an easy task in 35 degrees of heat. Air con in the rooms though. We were lucky we had a ground floor room we also had a fridge . Both our rooms only had two clothes hangers in the Wardrobes ,
next to the bar ( diidnt hear any noise as it’s only seems to be used by the residents )
Next to the Reception & down a few steps to a very cool & shady Court Yard , good place for a pre dinner drink or a night cap.
We didn’t take breakfast in the hotel as we thought 15 Euros pp was expensive so we went out & had a drink , fruit juice croissant or pastry for 5 Euros an extra Croissant
was only another Euro .
Staff very pleasant & helpful ,
This is an ideal hotel for a short stay at a very resonable rate in the The Centre of the town .
We were disappointed with the food in the Restaurants , not really French , more Tourist
ie Pizzas & Pasta , we did have Moules & chips though although this seams to be available every where now .

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Frances B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Central A, Réceptionniste at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Dear Frances,

we thank you for your positive comments, and are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel.
Please note that we can, at your request, order a taxi when you arrive at the station to avoid too much waiting. Similarly, our team of receptionists remains at the disposal of our guests if they need advices : traditional restaurants, good plans of the city, heritage discovery, museums... Similarly for all special requests, we do our best to always find a solution to make your stay more enjoyable.
Our buffet breakfast includes a complete selection of drinks and fresh products : baguette, bakery pastries, bread, cold cuts, cheeses, cereals, milk, pure fruit juice, butter, jam, yogurts, fresh fruit, coffee Richard, Twinnings tea...
We will be glad to welcome you again soon.

Best regards,
Xavier TRIQUET

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018

The Central Hotel is aptly names as it is ideally situated in the heart of Avignon. As almost every review has mentioned, it is ideally placed for access to the bus and rail stations in the city and is only a short walk to the major tourist sites.
From the street, the hotel is fairly nondescript but the entrance leads to a quiet, quaint courtyard and thence to reception. The cocktail bar (which is open to the public) also provides access from the street.
Some reviews have mentioned the cramped rooms and lack of facilities but my wife and I had everything we needed in room 48 on the third floor. It was a 'superior room' and was spacious, quiet and comfortable. The lift access was a appreciated with heavy suitcases although there were still two or three steps to negotiate. The room overlooked the courtyard and the roofs of the the opposite buildings.
The bed was comfortable and the shower room spacious and well equipped, cleaned every day and fresh towels supplied as needed. The air conditioning worked well - the temperature was in the upper 30's during our stay. The wi-fi reception was excellent.
I cannot comment on the breakfast as we did not partake but the variety looked good. There are many cafes, bars and restaurants very near the hotel and we sampled different ones each morning.
Unfortunately, directly above room 48, work was being carried out on the roof. Each morning, around 7.30, we were woken by the sound of drilling, hammering and, on more than one occasion, the singing of the workmen.
Dust and debris sometimes trickled through the open window. I made a complaint to the reception staff and received assurance that he manager would be informed.
Later during our stay the work began at 6.15am. This was also complained about and, once again, the young lady on the reception desk was most apologetic and, once again, assured me that the manager would be informed of my complaint. Nothing was heard from the management.
If you are thinking of staying at the Hotel Central I would ask whether or not the work has been completed or check whereabouts your room is situated in the hotel.
The roof renovations did not, however, detract from our overall enjoyment of our stay to a major degree although they were less than relaxing first thing in the morning.
Just a word about travelling around Avignon: the brochures and leaflets in reception promote excursions and visits to the surrounding area. Many of them cost 80, 90, 100 Euros ( and more). However, for around 3 Euro many of the places can be accessed by coach from the bus station only a five minute walk from the hotel.
Avignon is a marvellous city and we hope, on day, to return.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Central A, Réceptionniste at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Dear Pete,
we thank for your positive comments, and are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel.
As you point out, we do have several room categories, some of which are larger and with elevator access.
You can find a wide variety of fresh products on our buffet breakfast : baguette, bakery pastries, bread, cold cuts, cheeses, cereals, milk, pure fruit juice, butter, jam, yogurt, fresh fruit, coffee Richard, Twinnings tea ...
We are sorry that you have been bothered by the works. These are intended to be able to offer you in the future a wider choice of services. Please note that our receptionists have informed us and we have made every effort to reduce this inconvenience.
Looking forward to receive you soon.
Best regards,
Xavier TRIQUET.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018

Nice room. Hotel is really well located, within walking distance to the train station one way, and to the Papal palace in the other direction. Staff was pleasant enough. But, very thin walls. I could hear everything from my neighbor using the bathroom to the late comers and the early risers. Good for one night, but that's probably it.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ada B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hôtel Central A, Réceptionniste at Hotel Central, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Dear Ada,
we thank you for your positive comments, and are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel.
When you come back to see us, do not miss to compare our different categories of rooms to find the one that best meets your expectations.
Looking forward to seeing you soon.

Best regards,
Xavier TRIQUET.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews