We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Avignon Centre
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2017

This hotel is an ideal location, within walking distance to all attractions in Avignon, the Centre Gare, and the Viking River cruise dock. Special kudos to Tony, working the front desk. Super helpful with the map and recommendations.

A few comments:

- There's construction going on the main road facing the hotel. There's no noise, but traffic may be disrupted.

- If you have a car, you are better off choosing this hotel instead of a hotel within the city walls, as it would be extremely difficult to drive a car there.

- Frequently Accor Hotels have lousy (or turned off) A/C, but this hotel's worked great, even during the unexpected warm weather in September.

- As others have mentioned, the shower set-up is weird. I found it difficult to figure out how to turn it on correctly.

- The pool looked clean and inviting. The bar, on the other hand, looked cold and sterile, not appealing.

- Apparently, this hotel is a popular overnight stop for bus tours. Since the tour groups depart early in the morning, be aware that the breakfast buffet area will be a madhouse before their departure. No matter how hard the breakfast room staff worked, they found it hard to keep up with the hungry hoards. My tip is to check the tour group's schedule (usually posted by the elevator) and eat breakfast right after they leave.

- If you are boarding a Viking River cruise, this hotel is located close to where your ship will be docked. After our check out, we walked with our luggage from the hotel to the ship. It wasn't a super easy walk, but it could be done if you had to. Frankly, if I had to do it again, I'd take a taxi.

If we ever return to Avignon, I would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Barbie21144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARIE L, Responsable réception at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Avignon Centre.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 1,429 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

I wasn't expecting anything from this hotel but when I walked into the hotel it gave me a lot of good vibes

It's clean and most importantly it's next to the train station. The location is perfect.

The room is big and it comes with a lot of little little things such as good toiletries and extra pillows.

The hotel is new and I like their front desk. They were so friendly and helpful.

Highly recommended.....

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Samson O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARIE L, Responsable réception at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Good location one block from the train station and main entrance to the old city. Above average breakfast with good variety. Modern interiors (some might say funky), but nice size, comfortable rooms. My wife and I ate dinner one night in the hotel and had a very good meal (paella) at a reasonable price. Front desk personnel very friendly and English-speaking – they helped me arrange for taxis several times during my stay.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LinLan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARIE L, Responsable réception at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Avignon Centre.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

Comfortable room, delicious breakfast, close to train and bus station and an easy walk into the centre of Avignon. Friendly and helpful staff . Top marks to Toni who was a star. And than
ks for the complimentary drink on the bar.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilfried T, Directeur Adjoint at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our services. Thank you for your nice comments.

We will make sure to share your kind words with all the team members who are always giving their very best to exceed our guest expectations and create memorable experiences for them.

We hope to have a chance of welcoming you back soon in Avignon.

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

We chose this based on TA reviews are were really impressed for a fairly budget priced hotel. we had a suite and it was lovely with a large separate lounge, quirky designer bathroom and nice little outdoor terrace to relax on. The staff were great, all with at least two languages, and very helpful. Breakfast was a nice buffet spread. Best of all the location is excellent, adjacent to the old city wall and a gate into town, giving a nice 10 min walk to the central place/palais area. For Eurostar/train visitors, it's adjacent to the Gare Central. From the TGV/Eurostar station, we simply walked up the platform on arrival and hopped on a train to central station 3 mins later for free. The TGV station is about a 15 euro cab ride out of town otherwise. Also has on site parking. You really cannot beat it.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilfried T, Dir Adjoint at Novotel Avignon Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our services. Thank you for your nice comments.

We will make sure to share your kind words with all the team members who are always giving their very best to exceed our guest expectations and create memorable experiences for them.

We hope to have a chance of welcoming you back soon in Avignon.

With kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Avignon hotels
6.1 km away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
0.8 km away
Hotel de l'Horloge
Hotel de l'Horloge
#5 of 68 in Avignon
1,644 reviews
0.9 km away
Mercure Avignon Centre Palais des Papes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Mercure Pont d'Avignon Centre
0.7 km away
Hotel Garlande
Hotel Garlande
#1 of 68 in Avignon
835 reviews
0.1 km away
Avignon Grand Hotel
Avignon Grand Hotel
#20 of 68 in Avignon
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Avignon Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Avignon Centre

Address: 20 boulevard Saint Roch, 84000, Avignon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Avignon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 68 Hotels in Avignon
Price Range: €78 - €170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Avignon Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Avignon Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing