We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
€114
No prepayment needed
Priceline
€98
Go to your Happy Price
Vio.com
€86
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,437)
Filter reviews
1,437 results
Traveller rating
374
461
293
199
110
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
374
461
293
199
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool beautiful building superior room lovely hotel train station separate toilet the air conditioning side street inside the city walls secure parking old town central location an easy walk croissants avignon centre papal palace cloisters
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 1,437 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2019

On arrival we were welcomed by two female desk clerks who cordial and extremely helpful. One had to show us to our room (thru an unmarked door, thru an old chapel - still used) They are in the middle of a renovation and we found this different in a good way.

This was in contrast to a male desk clerk who began the answer to every question with (I don't know). He didn't know how to get English on the computer and said; "that's the first time anyone ever asked that question".... Really????

Everything else was fine, we enjoyed our stay for the third time...

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rags P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2019

Dear Sir,
I would like to warmly thank you for this positiv comment after your stay in our hotel CLOITRE SAINT LOUIS. It is always a pleasure for us to receive such nice compliments. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you for some real holidays in Avignon.
Best regards,
The Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2019

We stayed at this hotel last month for two nights on a guided tour. I was very hesitant about staying here as I had read the reviews and also saw that they have attic rooms. I am extremely claustrophobic. We paid to upgrade our room the two nights at this hotel. Upon arrival, we presented our upgrade voucher and were told that they knew nothing about our upgrade and since they were full, there was nothing they could do for us anyway. Naturally, we were shown an attic room with a slanted ceiling and one small corner window. The AC was not working. They sent the bellhop up with a screwdriver. Needless to say, he could do nothing for us. The only saving grace was that our tour guide offered us her room or we would have had to leave and find a hotel in town at additional expense. I do not fault the tour company as our upgrade in the previous hotel went through without a problem. This place is very rundown and some rooms require you to carry your luggage up a staircase to your room. There has to be a better choice in Avignon

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2019

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment on Tripadvisor following your recent stay with us.
I would like to extend my most sincere apologies for the inconveniences that you experienced in the hotel.
I sincerely do regret that we did not live up to your expectations, be sure that all points noted will be fixed
we hope that you will give a second chance on the occasion of your next visit in Avignon.
Kind regards,
The Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2019 via mobile

The overall impression is weird. I didn’t have much expectations based on the fact that the hotel was in the building of monastery and after having read some of the Feedbacks, but I still believed that a four stars hotel could provide a better service. We booked a standard room for one night (we had to change a hotel due to rooms availability during our stay in Avignon). The check-in was at 4 p.m., which was a first inconvenience, and we had to walk for a couple of hours. When we finally got the room, nobody asked us wether we were the first time in a city or provided a city plan, we were not proposed any luggage assistance. When we came to our floor, it turned out that we had to climb some stairs to get to the room, and in the room we found another stairs to get to the living area, the toilet was downstairs and the shower and bed upstairs. I was traveling with my mum, who was not an Athlete to run the stairs every time she needed to the toilet. The ceiling in the room was very low with a small round shaped window close to the floor, which I could hardly name a window, this was a hatch, partly opened. So the room was really hot with bad conditioning. We asked to change a room and we were first transferred to a room which was not done, was messy but ok, with normal window at least. However when we decided to choose it we were told that we had been sent there by mistake and were proposed another attic room without stairs and with small old window which was noisy moving due to the wind. Again nobody assisted with the luggage, although the room was situated in another part of the building. The receptionist repeated several times that we had booked a standard room. Come on guys, standard room doesn’t mean uncomfortable room and lack of assistance. The bed was shaking and firm by the way and there was a musty smell in the bathroom.
Ok the hotel provided l’occitane cosmetics (is this what they got 4 stars for?) But this didn’t change the impression.
We decided not to take the breakfast.
And we were happy to leave this place, although we didn’t pay much for that. When leaving the hotel receptionist didn’t take any interest in our stay, didn’t ask anything, didn’t propose taxi. Just billed our tax de séjour. So what can I say.
There are much more comfortable hotels with better ambiance and better location in Avignon for the same money.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank VladiMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2019

Dear Guest,

We thank you for your feedback about your stay in the CLOITRE SAINT LOUISl. We attach lot of importance in our guest comments, wether positiv or less. This kind of feeling permit to always remain vigilant to maintain our gains.
We regret that you were disappointed about your stay.
We hope that you you will trust you again for another stay in the CLOITRE SAINT LOUIS.

With best regards,

The Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2019 via mobile

This gem of a hotel has a fantastic location, walking distance to the palace, restaurants and shopping. The room we were given was serene. The fountain outside our window in the courtyard lulled is to sleep and provided a white noise to block out any of the bustle of Avignon. The staff, in particular Heather, was very helpful and cheerful. Parking was easy and safe. Just walking down the halls felt like you could imagine the life of a monk. The breakfast was delicious and overlooked the courtyard and fountain. I highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank thordargreybeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2019

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you so much for this lovely review on TripAdvisor ! We are really happy that you fully enjoyed your experience at the Cloitre Saint-Louis. It is a pleasure to read your positive feedback and to share it with our team who strives continuously to improve our quality of service. Your satisfaction is our best reward !
Looking forward to welcoming you back again,
Best regards,
The Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2019 via mobile

A wonderful stay at this beautiful, historic hotel. The view of the pretty courtyard and fountain was delightful.
The staff at this hotel was very attentive
We’d like to commend Simon who took care of us on both days of our stay. He was very friendly, kind and professional. We will definitely stay here again next time we are in Avignon!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank oyukib
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
DIRECTION-AGH-CSL, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Cloitre Saint Louis, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2019

Dear Sir,

I would like to warmly thank you for this wonderful comment after your stay in our hotel . It is always a pleasure for us to receive such nice compliments. Your satisfaction is out best reward ! I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you for some real holidays in Avignon.
Best regards,
The Direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews