We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy to dine there again”
Review of Palais du Maharaja

Palais du Maharaja
Ranked #350 of 687 Restaurants in Avignon
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 16 May 2017

Apparently this is the only indian restaurant in Avignon. We were worried when we entered the restaurant because there was nobody inside except for the owner. But we still decided to dine there. Food was good! We had mushroom curry, chicken curry and lamb briyani and also take-away some nun for breakfast. So if u're looking, look no further.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fookermaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2017

restaurant opened 15 minutes too late! however, warm reception.
contrary to other reports we did not wait long for our orders.
the food was good. union badji exceptionally well prepared.
chicken saag very tastefull.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Maurits S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2017

It can be excellent 1 day and if you try again later, it can be disappointing, but this is the only Indian in Avignon.
Old interior design, good service, but slow.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nyckolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Been here for dinner after searching for an Indian restaurant for a while in Avignon (visited on 14/09/16). Restaurant is beautiful but food taste is very bad. Chicken curry tasted like it's been cooked with some ready made sauce in market. Worst was Lamb Biryani, as it tasted really bad and the shocking thing was the rice had gone bad (was smelling bad). I had to return the Biryani after telling the owner. I strongly recommend NOT to visit if you are looking for even decent Indian food.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank hafeez k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2015 via mobile

Hard to give a bad review but was not a good curry, only good thing is it was spicy as I requested but I have made better myself. Tiny portion too. Maybe Indian food in France is meant to be this way but I'd never come back.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palais du Maharaja also viewed

 
Villeneuve-les-Avignon, Gard
Avignon, Vaucluse
 

Been to Palais du Maharaja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing