We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
141
56
16
16
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
56
16
16
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdark streetsabsolutely loved this hotelbeautiful gardensun loungersstar propertycharacter and charmromantic hotelmini barrooms are beautifulside streetheated poolthe hotel staffthe hotel offersvery nice hotelold townsouth of francecourtyard
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2018

The plusses of this hotel definitely outweigh the positives. It has a beautiful courtyard with a thin pool (bigger than a plunge pool but not full sized) which is a small oasis, especially on a hot day. The staff are very friendly and helpful while you were there and contacted restaurants for us. Our car was always brought from the valet quickly. Common spaces are nice and the rooms are fairly large and nicely decorated as well. The location, though not central to the old part of Arles, is very good with a 10 minute walk to the arena and easy walk to shops. The Roquette neighborhood seems to have more locals which is a plus. Some items that keep it from 5 star in my opinion- the breakfast is okay. We went one morning and most items were depleted and did not seem to be refilled. It wasn't particularly late either. The bathrooms were not up to snuff for a 5 star hotel. They were clean and reasonably updated but not particularly luxurious in any way. Before arrival, it took some time for email responses and sometimes it took an additional email to get a response. The items in the free minibar were 2 still and 2 sparkling waters that were not restocked. No water was given at night with the turndown service either. Tasty turrone type sweets were, however, which were a plus. Again, I would likely stay here when in Arles again but there is room for improvement. Btw, there is no lift so that might be an issue if you have impaired mobility and don't have a first floor room. Also pay attention to the map they send you before you arrive; it's not entirely intuitive to find the hotel via car, especially with the small roads which are at times one way.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank apv75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

We were here for three nights in June and absolutely loved this hotel. The staff, everyone of them, we excellent and very friendly. The hotel staff did a great job at setting us up with a private walking tour of the city, a private driver to the airport, and recommending restaurants. You could not ask for better, nicer staff. The room was very well appointed and very large. Room was also very clean. The air conditioner worked very very well. There is a beautiful court yard with a refreshing pool that was very much appreciated on hot afternoons. The courtyard is peaceful and the hotel offers a limited menu and a full bar. Breakfast is very good, with a full range of choices. Location could not be better - tucked away in a neighborhood oozing with character and charm. Walking distance to everything. This is a great hotel and I would certaining stay here again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

Tucked away in a small, narrow side street, hotel entrance requires you to ring the bell for access to Reception in the courtyard garden/pool area. Staff are friendly and helpful. Long narrow heated pool was welcome after a day's visiting the city. We had Room 3 for our first night. You enter directly into the bathroom which has motion sensor lighting, then through a door into the bedroom area. A problematic layout if you have to get up during the night for the toilet as the automatic lighting may wake up your partner. We requested and obtained a change of rooms; # 23 is on the top floor overlooking the garden/pool area. Pleasant, well appointed room. Small bar and outside tables where a light, limited menu is served afternoon and evening. Set price buffet breakfast available but food was mediocre at best. Hotel location makes for easy walking access to many of the sites in the older section of Arles.

Room Tip: Room 3 entrance directly into bathroom; auto motion sensor lighting problematic.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikkie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

Take a look at my review from October 2012 and you will see we loved this hotel. Perfect in every way. So, this October we were excited to return. It had been one of our favorite "South of France" properties. A lot can happen in 5 years. The rooms are still beautiful.....white on white, lovely antiques, lots of linen, Hermes products.....that's the good news. Our first disappointment was there is no dining room.....says there is one on the website. Our previous dinner there was excellent. Now you must walk down those tiny dark streets for a meal. When the young man took us to our room he told us everything in the mini bar was complimentary.....there was one bottle of water in the mini bar, nothing else. No coffee pot, no slippers, no hand/body lotion, no conditioner.....only shampoo. And worst of alll, dingy and frayed towels. In a 5 star hotel??? I don't think so. I hate to mention the toilet but I must tell you that I am 5'2" and my knees hit the wall in front of me. Enough said about that.
I don't know what has happened to Hotel Particulier and I don't know who gives hotels the stars but no slippers, dingy towels, no dining room as website says, etc does not add up to a 5 star hotel. What a shame as the setting is beautiful - much like a New Orleans courtyard, rooms are lovely and the staff (what there is of it) is friendly. Something is off and I hope they will pull themselves up and back to the 5 stars they once were. Oh, one more thing. It's kind of funny now but each night we asked for ice. What we got was a tiny sherbet dish of 3 or 4 cubes. First night it was old freezer burn ice! I wouldn't tell anyone not to stay here as the setting is beautiful and so are the rooms but there are minuses people need to know it is no longer a 5 star property. Please get some new towels!!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Robbinwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

Secreted behind a high wall and large double doors in the narrow streets of old Arles, a ring of an old-fashioned bell pull opens the door into a tranquil secret garden laden with jasmine and citrus fruit trees, and small swimming pool. A charming chateau style house and a warm welcome. Our room was large, stylishly furnished, with an equally large en suite with a separate bath and rainfall shower. Breakfast was taken on the terrace, with simple but adequate fare. We did not eat lunch or dinner at the hotel, as the town is full of good bistros and restaurants. Definitely recommended.

Room Tip: We had a great room on the second floor, overlooking the garden
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 292Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews