We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location, suitable hotel”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #39 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2017

The good thing: this hotel is very central. You get out and you are surrounded by bars and restaurants. The room was basic but ok. Everything spottless. Very good breakfast
buffet in a nice room which was once a little theater. The service is perfect but
not very personal.
The reception (each time another person) was helpful but not welcoming, just impersonal. A hotel were you stay without feeling you will come back because there are numerous like this. I prefer hotels were I warmly but discret welcomed.
In the whole aerea one can´t park, but this isn´t a problem because there is a very nice, modern and well lit and labeled parking. I suggest to make one or two photos of the place you park your car because its a huge garage.
I sleept very bad because of the polyester (or acrylic?) sheeds and pillows.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tamara4513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

After a very disappointing first night in this charming city at Les Augustine's, we walked in search of a better option and run into Hotel de France. We got a heavenly suite facing restaurants and coffee shops and where surprised in how quite it was . Good sound proof on windows. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Front desk was friendly and helpful.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank MARIPOSITAVIAJERA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

This hotel is at the heart of the old town but close enough to public transport to be easy to reach. The room we stayed was missing nothing, and it was clean and well maintained. The lift was working fine (the room was three flights up) and staff was non-hesitatingly helpful. I would chose the place again, even if the pictures look like this would be too noisy to sleep. I overcame my worries because of other reviews and it was good to do this. No problems whatsoever.

Room Tip: Room to the back yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Olaf B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

On the plus side, you literally walk out the doors of the hotel into the main downtown restaurant section of Aix En Provence. But the bad side of that is you cannot get anywhere near the hotel with a car - the streets are blocked for pedestrian traffic only. So it takes you forever to figure out where to park (we finally called the hotel and they told us to use the shopping mall two blocks away). You then have to get your luggage there. IN fairness, the booking did say they didn't offer parking, I just didn't think that meant there was none anywhere. The room was tiny and very basic. The in-room fridge did not work. The wifi was horrible, which I find particularly annoying as I had contacted the hotel a couple of days before to check on the issue identified by recent reviews. I was assured it was fine, but it was not. This creates an unbelievable amount of stress for people. Anyway, front desk's response was "it works for me, nothing we can do".

Room Tip: The best rooms are in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank gmcnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

This hotel is in a great location close to all the sights, bars, restaurants, etc but without the noise. However the room was incredibly small and the air con kept shutting down during the night (deliberately !) and it was just terrible for getting to sleep. There was hardly anywhere to store your personal items. The only redeeming feature of the room was the bathroom products which were very nice. Because of its location there is no parking at the hotel so just park in the underground car park at the Rotonde and it is a flat fee of 25.00 Euros for 24 hours. Not cheap but you are in the middle of a big town.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank CaptainsWife1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Negrecoste
Hotel Negrecoste
#19 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
125 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel des Augustins
Hotel des Augustins
#25 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
327 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Saint Christophe
Hotel Saint Christophe
#33 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Boutique Hotel Cezanne
Boutique Hotel Cezanne
#7 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,146 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Le Concorde
Hotel Le Concorde
#12 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
472 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel du Globe
Hotel du Globe
#9 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: 63 rue Espariat, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: €99 - €188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de France 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing