We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned gallic charm”
Review of Villa Gallici

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Gallici
Ranked #2 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2017

We stayed here as a family over October and had a room with an extra camp bed in it. As far as we could see all rooms come with some form of a balcony and are pleasantly decorated in what might be described as from a more romantic time period but have the mod cons such as coffee maker and fridge. With three to the room we were a little cramped but the room would be fine for two. The bathroom was spacious with both shower and bath tub. Housekeeping was good and I won't dwell upon the rose petals strewn about the room (see other reviewers). We were lucky to experience unseasonably warm weather so we walked into town daily which is about 20 minutes away from the centre, downhill into town but beware uphill coming back. We didn't try the spa or use the heated pool. The daily buffet breakfast was a good spread but unchanging so might become monotonous if you stay more than a few days, but at least the opening hours were generous. The staff, particularly in reception, were excellent and tried to accommodate any request. Overall, a charming, old fashioned bit of luxury, but if you like your decor Scandic then go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank dc0i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2017

From the moment you arrive Villa Gallici is a sanctuary.This is aix Provence the arts the beauty service as close to perfection you could wish for .
Villa Gallici is unique a small boutique hotel with exceptional service and warmth .
The rooms are exquisite again classical and Provençal
We had a beautiful suite junior with outdoor space
The pool are is enchanting also a fabulous spa area both exceptionally private
If you want a very special time to celebrate or indulge and memories to last forever come here stay 2 nights at the least you will not want to leave this enchanting Provence Villa .Ahuge thank to all the staff especially the guy at breakfast Michelle a real character I also met the general manager the most professional absolutely charming man mr Laurent Mounet also Phillipe Head or guest reservation was extremely helpful so we thank you all at Villa Gallici and we will be back soon

Room Tip: Choose a junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

This lovely boutique hotel has pleasant rooms and pristine grounds. The small property is filled with amazing sculpture and beautiful flowers and shrubbery. The only reason I can not recommend it is that the entire hotel is saturated with the scent of strong perfume. My allergies acted up for the 2 nights we were there. We wanted to have dinner in the hotel's dining room but it too was so perfumed that I wondered how anyone could dine and enjoy it. We did have a good lunch outside on their lovely terrace. When I mentioned my problem with the perfume to the concierge at the front desk, I was told that the perfume is Villa Gallici's trademark. So, if you are slightly sensitive, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank discerningNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

A very comfortable, traditional villa hotel in Provence, Villa Gallici has a great deal going for it.

In this modern era of clinical white minimalist interiors, if you long for some traditional rich fabrics, deep comfy armchairs, wallpaper, lots of curtains and vases of flowers, Villa Gallici has it all. Fantastic.

The Villa is small and intimate, almost a house party. There are lots of cosy corners to sit in, both inside and out, so you can feel relatively private even in the public areas. The external areas are well appointed: a lovely deep tree-covered terrace, and very good sun loungers around the small pool.

Tea and cake (theoretically) served from a lovely buffet spread from 16:00 - 18:00 is delightful, when they remember to set it out.

They have recently build a spa, something we don't use. Looks great, but pity they sacrificed a lovely pergola covered lunching area to provide it.

The food was delicious and the breakfast spread delightfully done. The dining room is in fact also the sitting room so you eat sitting in wonderful comfy armchairs and sofas. I hate piped music but at least here it was tasteful classical music played quietly.

Housekeeping gets full marks. Very good.

Two downsides however. Access and parking are difficult. Located in a densely built residential area, the approach is up a steep, narrow residential street with a tight turn into the drive, passing through narrow gates flanked by high stone walls. OK for small cars; anything else requires your full attention - and good driving skills.

You have to buzz to be let in, and sometimes they keep you waiting in the street. Also, take care the gates don't close again on you as you are taking in the tight turn.

The car park is small, difficult to manoeuvre in, and shared with staff. This doesn't work for a hotel of this calibre.

The bigger downside though is the service level. This ranged from about one third very good to one third indifferent/unfriendly, to one third completely unacceptable. They really need to address this. The very good are great; the indifferent/unfriendly might be OK with training; the unacceptable should not be working in a hotel at this price point.

The hotel is also very understaffed. We arrived on Sunday afternoon and had to wait to be let in and wait to check in (sole staff member around talking to another guest about earrings). Not good after a long drive. The staff levels did not pick up to anything like adequate until mid-week.

Would I recommend staying here? It is certainly a lovely location (inside the hotel) and very comfortable with great food. To enjoy it though, it would be helpful if you are the patient sort and don't mind unreliable service levels.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pantagruel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Close to city center, but absolutely quite, very nicely decorated and charming with very efficient personnel, everything you request from a such a high class hotel. Room was small but very cosy, very nice bathroom above the room, interesting architecture. Convenient swimming pool. Food at dinner as one of the best we had. Worth the trip. Just: service at dinner too long due to a lack of staff, but this can be improved easily.

Room Tip: quite, everything on-site cooked, charming and very dedicated staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
1.3 km away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
765 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#3 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
684 reviews
1.4 km away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#4 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
923 reviews
0.6 km away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#15 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,166 reviews
4.6 km away
Les Lodges Sainte Victoire
Les Lodges Sainte Victoire
#1 of 1 in Le Tholonet
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Gallici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Gallici

Address: 18 avenue de la Violette, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#2 Spa Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: €271 - €1,156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Gallici 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under the light Cezanne once knew, the Villa Gallici Hotel,18th century Provencal house member of Relais et Chateaux, provides many luxury services, a gastronomical restaurant registered in the main guides, a shady seven acre garden with a swimming-pool, a nice place to relax a few steps away from the heart of the city of Aix-en-Provence.The Villa Gallici Residence is richly furnished with French and sumptuous fabrics. Time seems to have stood still, throughout the day whether dining or enjoying the calm of the gardens and pool, every experience has a charm of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Gallici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Gallici Hotel Aix-En-Provence
Gallici Hotel Aix En Provence
Gallici Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing