We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (526)
Filter reviews
526 results
Traveller rating
401
72
33
12
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
401
72
33
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rose petals beautiful hotel terrace overlooking the pool plane trees private gate common areas turn down service deluxe room little touches residential area fresh flowers sun loungers the entire hotel sitting room south of france macaroons historic center
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 526 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2017

From the moment you arrive Villa Gallici is a sanctuary.This is aix Provence the arts the beauty service as close to perfection you could wish for .
Villa Gallici is unique a small boutique hotel with exceptional service and warmth .
The rooms are exquisite again classical and Provençal
We had a beautiful suite junior with outdoor space
The pool are is enchanting also a fabulous spa area both exceptionally private
If you want a very special time to celebrate or indulge and memories to last forever come here stay 2 nights at the least you will not want to leave this enchanting Provence Villa .Ahuge thank to all the staff especially the guy at breakfast Michelle a real character I also met the general manager the most professional absolutely charming man mr Laurent Mounet also Phillipe Head or guest reservation was extremely helpful so we thank you all at Villa Gallici and we will be back soon

Room Tip: Choose a junior suite
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

This lovely boutique hotel has pleasant rooms and pristine grounds. The small property is filled with amazing sculpture and beautiful flowers and shrubbery. The only reason I can not recommend it is that the entire hotel is saturated with the scent of strong perfume. My allergies acted up for the 2 nights we were there. We wanted to have dinner in the hotel's dining room but it too was so perfumed that I wondered how anyone could dine and enjoy it. We did have a good lunch outside on their lovely terrace. When I mentioned my problem with the perfume to the concierge at the front desk, I was told that the perfume is Villa Gallici's trademark. So, if you are slightly sensitive, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank discerningNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

A very comfortable, traditional villa hotel in Provence, Villa Gallici has a great deal going for it.

In this modern era of clinical white minimalist interiors, if you long for some traditional rich fabrics, deep comfy armchairs, wallpaper, lots of curtains and vases of flowers, Villa Gallici has it all. Fantastic.

The Villa is small and intimate, almost a house party. There are lots of cosy corners to sit in, both inside and out, so you can feel relatively private even in the public areas. The external areas are well appointed: a lovely deep tree-covered terrace, and very good sun loungers around the small pool.

Tea and cake (theoretically) served from a lovely buffet spread from 16:00 - 18:00 is delightful, when they remember to set it out.

They have recently build a spa, something we don't use. Looks great, but pity they sacrificed a lovely pergola covered lunching area to provide it.

The food was delicious and the breakfast spread delightfully done. The dining room is in fact also the sitting room so you eat sitting in wonderful comfy armchairs and sofas. I hate piped music but at least here it was tasteful classical music played quietly.

Housekeeping gets full marks. Very good.

Two downsides however. Access and parking are difficult. Located in a densely built residential area, the approach is up a steep, narrow residential street with a tight turn into the drive, passing through narrow gates flanked by high stone walls. OK for small cars; anything else requires your full attention - and good driving skills.

You have to buzz to be let in, and sometimes they keep you waiting in the street. Also, take care the gates don't close again on you as you are taking in the tight turn.

The car park is small, difficult to manoeuvre in, and shared with staff. This doesn't work for a hotel of this calibre.

The bigger downside though is the service level. This ranged from about one third very good to one third indifferent/unfriendly, to one third completely unacceptable. They really need to address this. The very good are great; the indifferent/unfriendly might be OK with training; the unacceptable should not be working in a hotel at this price point.

The hotel is also very understaffed. We arrived on Sunday afternoon and had to wait to be let in and wait to check in (sole staff member around talking to another guest about earrings). Not good after a long drive. The staff levels did not pick up to anything like adequate until mid-week.

Would I recommend staying here? It is certainly a lovely location (inside the hotel) and very comfortable with great food. To enjoy it though, it would be helpful if you are the patient sort and don't mind unreliable service levels.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Pantagruel2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

Close to city center, but absolutely quite, very nicely decorated and charming with very efficient personnel, everything you request from a such a high class hotel. Room was small but very cosy, very nice bathroom above the room, interesting architecture. Convenient swimming pool. Food at dinner as one of the best we had. Worth the trip. Just: service at dinner too long due to a lack of staff, but this can be improved easily.

Room Tip: quite, everything on-site cooked, charming and very dedicated staff
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

This is a very special experience in every way. The grounds, the public spaces, the rooms are all so meticulously designed and taken care of. We came for a ten day stay with the Villa being our base as we toured throughout Provence. We were fortunate to be upgraded to a private villa suite which is simply stunning, private and spacious. Every morning, the buffet breakfast was the perfect way to start the day especially when Michele was working. But to single out Michele would not be right as every single member of the staff is excellent. Maybe some don't speak English all that well and some misunderstandings took place, but then we don't speak any French so can't really judge. Housekeeping did not initially understand our requests but that quickly smoothed out. Well located a short walking distance into the historical part of Aix and on three of our ten days, we spent our day in Aix. Compliments on the services at the Spa and an afternoon at the pool was a nice relaxation. Couldn't be more pleased.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rlevin227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews