We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury And Heaven in Provence ”
Review of Villa Gallici

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Villa Gallici
Ranked #3 of 69 Hotels in Aix-en-Provence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

What a fantastic hotel. Situated in a small side street just outside of the centre of Aix en Provence this luxury hotel is in the perfect position to provide relaxation and calm but be a short walk to the interesting busy town. I can only describe Villa Gallici as elegant, romantic, high end, cultural, relaxing but also cosy and very friendly. All the staff were so charming and ultra friendly (genuinely so...) making us feel special but also at home. The decor is high end eclectic and drawing room chic. Immense thought goes into making every moment in the hotel special. From the floral breakfast table settings to the stacks of sweet goods in reception. The grounds are small but wow - scented flowers everywhere and an amazing collection of sculptural pieces that are stunning. Great swimming pool and small spa. Staff came out with little treats while we were by the pool which was a lovely touch. We parked our hire car in their car park and didn't have to drive anywhere for the whole time we were there. Walking into the centre takes about 10 minutes (a bit longer on the way back as its uphill - just take it slowly). The large market in Aix is worth a visit as are the two museums. Cezanne's workshop is near to the hotel but it is quite a walk uphill - worth it though. I could go on and on about this hotel so just take it from me that it was special.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 71 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2016

The Villa itself is lovely. The building is divine and the position is everything you could want. It takes 10 minutes to walk to the centre of the old town. The room was everything you would want in a French villa.
Parking is ample and easy. The staff were very welcoming.

There were a few little issues we had that pulled it back from being 5 stars even though the room was luxurious.

The room's air conditioning was very difficult. We boiled at night even though it wasn't too hot outside (our room had a conservatory and this acted like a heater). We couldn't get it to be any cooler. We even found the secret thermostat behind the curtains.
To take the luggage to the room we had to go through the restaurant which was difficult. It was strange that we had to do this ourselves.
The meal we had in the restaurant at dinner was not good. I ordered caviar and blinis and it was expensive and the blinis were stale and tasted like they had been bought in a bag at carrefour. Hubby's slow cooked beef was not slow cooked beef at all. When we didn't eat much of the food, they didn't seem to mind and indeed cleared the plates into one plate at the table. Just no!

The position of the property was excellent though! It was so convenient and if you didn't eat in the restaurant all of the other small niggling things would not cause concern.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tania_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016

We had not visited for about 12 years. It was as wonderful as we remembered it. The Villa Gallici is an oasis of tranquillity. Everything about it is relaxing. The staff are charming. The rooms are old school and very comfortably so. The dining terrace is delightful. The food is most agreeable. The pool is charming, comfortable and quiet. The plane trees enfold the whole wonderful spot in the most charming greenery - from a great height. This is a great place.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

The villa and the landscape are very nice.
The food is excellent and the service was superb.
The reception was not friendly. We had booked a suit and the room given to us was the same size as a regular room located underground overlooking an inner road.
We tried with the reception but the attitude was arrogant and they insisted that what we got was a suit.
It was not fair but we had to accept.
Other than this incident everything was perfect.
My recommendation is to book directly with the hotel and avoid booking on line.
Pre-select your room and choose the rooms on the upper floors.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Raphael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2016

Property is excellent with lots of character. With in walking distance of town. Suite was spacious, with an excellent bathroom and a beautiful view towards the town. In addition to the balcony there was a private area for su bathing in the back.
Service was excellent and we were made to feel welcome from the get-go.
Other guests seemed to spend most of their time on poeperty, enjoying the gaddens, spa, pool, etc.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank faarias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aix-en-Provence hotels
1.3 km away
La Maison d'Aix
La Maison d'Aix
#1 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
786 reviews
2.1 km away
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de France
Hotel Le Pigonnet - Esprit de Fr...
#2 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
688 reviews
0.6 km away
Aquabella Hotel
Aquabella Hotel
#14 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hotel
Renaissance Aix-en-Provence Hote...
#4 of 69 in Aix-en-Provence
938 reviews
1.4 km away
Grand Hotel Roi Rene Aix-en-Provence Centre - MGallery By Sofitel
4.6 km away
Les Lodges Sainte Victoire
Les Lodges Sainte Victoire
#1 of 1 in Le Tholonet
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Gallici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Gallici

Address: 18 avenue de la Violette, 13100, Aix-en-Provence, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Aix-en-Provence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#3 Luxury Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
#3 Spa Hotel in Aix-en-Provence
Price Range: €252 - €1,035 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Gallici 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under the light Cezanne once knew, the Villa Gallici Hotel,18th century Provencal house member of Relais et Chateaux, provides many luxury services, a gastronomical restaurant registered in the main guides, a shady seven acre garden with a swimming-pool, a nice place to relax a few steps away from the heart of the city of Aix-en-Provence.The Villa Gallici Residence is richly furnished with French and sumptuous fabrics. Time seems to have stood still, throughout the day whether dining or enjoying the calm of the gardens and pool, every experience has a charm of its own. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Gallici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Gallici Hotel Aix-En-Provence
Gallici Hotel Aix En Provence
Gallici Aix En Provence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing