We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (907)
Filter reviews
908 results
Traveller rating
322
446
107
24
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
446
107
24
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the river river view privilege room standard room accor hotels garage parking main town small balcony fabulous views small supplement nice hotel restaurants and shops tea and coffee facilities restaurant area superb location reasonable size bedroom window
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 908 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2017

Really liked the location and outlook of the hotel, looking across the river towards the chateau. Check in staff were fine, bar staff indifferent. Rooms were OK and cleanliness was good. Fine for a night, but I would look elsewhere in future.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AndrewKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We stayed here 10 years ago and since then the hotel has had a make over.
It is a stunning view over the château which is lit at night.
Our Room was a "Privilege" one over looking the Loire. Small balcony, enough for two. Large comfortable bed
Separate W/C to bathroom
Shower over Bath
Tea and coffee facilities.
Reception staff very helpful in recommending eating places for the evening.
Breakfast at 16 Euros but plentiful and good choice. Fresh fruit, breads, cooked facilities, Gluten free. Very accommodating
Small gym available second floor
There is a lift
Car Parking just outside the hotel is limited but free car parking is a small walk away, barrier controlled.

Room Tip: There are two privilege rooms, great rooms, super view with balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6648, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Heather K,

We thank you very much for sharing your opinion about a recent stay with us.

Indeed, the hotel has changed a lot in 10 years and we are delighted that you still like it.
We are pleased to see that you appreciated your privilege room and all our services, our staff was glad to welcome you and to participate in the success of your stay.

We would be delighted to welcome you again on Saumur.

Best regards,

Thibaut / Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Excellent location, right on the river looking at the Chateau & beautiful old buildings of Saumur. The bars, shops and restaurants of the town are just a few minutes walk across the bridge.

They have a lovely, if narrow terrace overlooking the river, from which to enjoy a cold drink & watch the world go by. It's a real sun trap at certain times of the day, but don't sit out on it at night in the summer with a bright light as the proximity to the river means thousands of flying creatures!

The hotel itself is modern & clean & the rooms of reasonable size, although only 1 small wardrobe for two is just not enough. We were travelling on a motorcycle, so didn't have many clothes, but this still was insufficient for our needs. The bathroom was modern & the shower worked very well, a simple plus, but one that counts in my opinion (I have been at the other end of the scale and a rat filthy bathroom just doesn't aid a comfortable stay!). There was a fridge in the room which had power, but it too seemed to be on holiday as it didn't bother chilling anything.

There is parking in the (quiet) streets around the hotel as well as in the secure car park underneath. We thought we'd negotiated a deal to put the 3 motorcycles in 1 car space, but discovered after leaving that they'd charged us for 3 spaces, which was a bit naughty.

The staff overall were helpful, if a little stand-offish. They seemed more friendly once they realised a few of us (we were a group of 6) could speak French. The young chap who worked both reception & the bar (who we thought might be the owner's son) was the friendliest of the lot, nothing was a problem for him. However, they had a member of staff who covered the same roles and she really shouldn't be in the hospitality business, as she struggled to smile at us, consistently short-filled the ladies' proseccos & argued with us when we said we would only be staying 4 nights, not the pre-booked 5. It was her that finalised our bills that overcharged us €8 a day per couple.

Room Tip: All I can say is pay more for a good view if you want it. personally speaking I didn't see the point.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights on our way back to the ferry. A great location on the island with an amazing view across to the chateau and Saumur. A 5 minute walk across the Pont des Cadets de Saumur and you are in town. Easy to find with free hotel parking outside and a very short walk away in a gated area. Book a superior room with river views to appreciate this wonderful location. Good breakfast buffet available. Friendly, helpful staff. Would definitely revisit.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sandrab7691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Our room had a wonderful view of the river and chateau. The room was clean and had a walk-in shower with two shower heads in the bathroom. It was a five minute walk into the restaurant area of town. We managed to find a place with vegetarian food called Bar 1929. Breakfast was good at the hotel and all the staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for river view
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank coopercarol49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews