We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2017

This hotel is in a great location on the river bank. We found our room to be small but comfortable. We enjoyed a drink on the lovely terrace with beautiful views of the city. We could walk easily to restaurants and shops. The room was very clean and had everything we needed. It was a very peaceful stay.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank 516dorothym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6648, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2017

Dear 516dorothym,

Thank you for your comment and for taking the time to share your experience and it's a pleasure to see a comment like yours, it's our biggest reward.

We are pleased to see that the location of the hotel contributed to your satisfaction.

We hope to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Thibaut / Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (808)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 808 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2017

Really liked the location and outlook of the hotel, looking across the river towards the chateau. Check in staff were fine, bar staff indifferent. Rooms were OK and cleanliness was good. Fine for a night, but I would look elsewhere in future.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AndrewKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We stayed here 10 years ago and since then the hotel has had a make over.
It is a stunning view over the château which is lit at night.
Our Room was a "Privilege" one over looking the Loire. Small balcony, enough for two. Large comfortable bed
Separate W/C to bathroom
Shower over Bath
Tea and coffee facilities.
Reception staff very helpful in recommending eating places for the evening.
Breakfast at 16 Euros but plentiful and good choice. Fresh fruit, breads, cooked facilities, Gluten free. Very accommodating
Small gym available second floor
There is a lift
Car Parking just outside the hotel is limited but free car parking is a small walk away, barrier controlled.

Room Tip: There are two privilege rooms, great rooms, super view with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6648, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Heather K,

We thank you very much for sharing your opinion about a recent stay with us.

Indeed, the hotel has changed a lot in 10 years and we are delighted that you still like it.
We are pleased to see that you appreciated your privilege room and all our services, our staff was glad to welcome you and to participate in the success of your stay.

We would be delighted to welcome you again on Saumur.

Best regards,

Thibaut / Desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

Excellent location, right on the river looking at the Chateau & beautiful old buildings of Saumur. The bars, shops and restaurants of the town are just a few minutes walk across the bridge.

They have a lovely, if narrow terrace overlooking the river, from which to enjoy a cold drink & watch the world go by. It's a real sun trap at certain times of the day, but don't sit out on it at night in the summer with a bright light as the proximity to the river means thousands of flying creatures!

The hotel itself is modern & clean & the rooms of reasonable size, although only 1 small wardrobe for two is just not enough. We were travelling on a motorcycle, so didn't have many clothes, but this still was insufficient for our needs. The bathroom was modern & the shower worked very well, a simple plus, but one that counts in my opinion (I have been at the other end of the scale and a rat filthy bathroom just doesn't aid a comfortable stay!). There was a fridge in the room which had power, but it too seemed to be on holiday as it didn't bother chilling anything.

There is parking in the (quiet) streets around the hotel as well as in the secure car park underneath. We thought we'd negotiated a deal to put the 3 motorcycles in 1 car space, but discovered after leaving that they'd charged us for 3 spaces, which was a bit naughty.

The staff overall were helpful, if a little stand-offish. They seemed more friendly once they realised a few of us (we were a group of 6) could speak French. The young chap who worked both reception & the bar (who we thought might be the owner's son) was the friendliest of the lot, nothing was a problem for him. However, they had a member of staff who covered the same roles and she really shouldn't be in the hospitality business, as she struggled to smile at us, consistently short-filled the ladies' proseccos & argued with us when we said we would only be staying 4 nights, not the pre-booked 5. It was her that finalised our bills that overcharged us €8 a day per couple.

Room Tip: All I can say is pay more for a good view if you want it. personally speaking I didn't see the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights on our way back to the ferry. A great location on the island with an amazing view across to the chateau and Saumur. A 5 minute walk across the Pont des Cadets de Saumur and you are in town. Easy to find with free hotel parking outside and a very short walk away in a gated area. Book a superior room with river views to appreciate this wonderful location. Good breakfast buffet available. Friendly, helpful staff. Would definitely revisit.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sandrab7691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#1 of 26 in Saumur
424 reviews
0.4 km away
Anne d'Anjou
Anne d'Anjou
#11 of 26 in Saumur
230 reviews
0.6 km away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 26 in Saumur
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Best Western Adagio
Best Western Adagio
#9 of 26 in Saumur
290 reviews
2.6 km away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 26 in Saumur
453 reviews
0.8 km away
Ibis Styles Saumur Gare Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur

Address: 1 rue du Vieux Pont, 49400, Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Saumur
Price Range: €73 - €111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Saumur, the Mercure Bords de Loire 3 star hotel is on the Ile d'Offard island, in a relaxing environment 5 mins walk from the town centre. From your room you can admire the castle, theatre, Pont Cessart bridge and the majesty of the LoireRiver, in the UNESCO World Heritage listed Loire Valley. Renovated in 2007, our reception offers you the 3 themes of wine, horses and heritage. The hotel features 45 rooms and 3 meeting rooms all equipped with air conditioning and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Stayforlong S.L., Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing