We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for the price”
Review of Hotel Alcyon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Alcyon
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2016 via mobile

Arrived after a long day cycling. I was recommended it as being good value for the money and it was. Exceptionally clean with an extremely friendly manager who spoke excellent English. A great breakfast was provided. Only it's location, near the station, stops it from 5 stars.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Thank Haedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2015

If only this hotel was not so near the railway, I would have given it 5 stars. The room was very clean and tidy with a huge bathroom, the breakfast was one of the best during our trip, lots of fresh bread etc, and cereals. Several different types of tea to choose and good coffee. And a kettle to make the tea with. Car parking is available with is huge bonus. The owners could not have been more helpful, a lovely couple.The old town centre, where there are lots of good restaurants, is a gentle flat 15 minute stroll across the Loire.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that doesn't face the railway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2015

This hotel was fine - decent sized rooms, a unique and wonderful rolling table across the bed (think hospital dining) on which to place stuff and use as the computer desk - brilliant idea! - but its location kills it really. You need to drive back across the island into the main town, which for dinner etc is a bit of a downer. If you don't mind staying away from the centre, then go ahead. But if, like me, you prefer everything in easy walking distance, I'd look for another closer to the centre. A pity, as the staff were charming and helpful. Like most French hotels now it seems, breakfast at around 9-10 euros is overpriced, even if it is the full spread. How much can a bowl of cereal and a bread roll and jam cost these days?

Stayed: July 2015
Thank TravellingAussie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2015

Had a fairly disastrous motorcycle trip to Barcelona Primavera Festival last May, doing the same trip to the same festival this May on the basis that lightening seldom strikes twice.
One highlight from last year was chancing on this little gem for my first night in France - I rarely revisit places, but have been searching the net and finally found it.
Hurrah! The aged memory finally clicked into place when I saw the name Hotel Alcyon.
For a biker with a very nice and immaculate motorcycle, the secure off-road parking allows a stress free nights sleep (no one ever vandalises my Vauxhall, but a gorgeous Super Blackbird 1100XX seems to attract saddos).
Meeting such friendly people running a good value little hotel is a great start to a road trip.
Now I have found them I will be booking in for the start of this years road trip

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peterthesane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2014

Picked this hotel at random from the internet. Late decision but what a great choice.
Super room,clean and tidy. Excellent bathroom facilities. The only downside is that it is on the 'wrong' side of the bridge,but a little bit of exercise is good for you !
Car parking is in a locked yard. Beds are clean and comfy. Tea/Coffee in room.
We will definitely come again (even if we have to walk over the bridge) Excellent

Room Tip: Don't know,ours was a good room (2nd floor) our friends room was a good room (3rd floor,slightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
1.9 km away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#4 of 24 in Saumur
448 reviews
1.2 km away
Kyriad Saumur Centre
Kyriad Saumur Centre
#10 of 24 in Saumur
253 reviews
1.4 km away
Le Volney
Le Volney
#13 of 24 in Saumur
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
0.4 km away
Best Western Adagio
Best Western Adagio
#7 of 24 in Saumur
290 reviews
1 km away
Cristal Hotel
Cristal Hotel
#9 of 24 in Saumur
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alcyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alcyon

Address: 2 B rue de Rouen, 49400, Saumur, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Price Range: €58 - €66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Alcyon 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the region Pays de la Loire, Alcyon hotel is just 250 meters from the Loire. We offer contemporary rooms, some with views of the castle. A 10 minutes walk from the city center and near the train station, we are located on the North Arm of the Loire, opposite the castle Saumur.Reparties on three levels, Our 16 rooms are all equipped with a double soundproofing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Alcyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing