We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
189
55
9
6
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
55
9
6
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We stayed one night while driving from Paris to the Dordogne. The room was very spacious and clean. The owner was on the premise and spoke English. Suggested a great little resturaunt down the street, which had excellent food.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Annette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016

We did not know what to expect and were very pleasantly surprised. Lovely rooms, great host and quiet location. Local restaurant for dinner and breakfast on site. Lots to see locally and great wine is everywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank B5907JVmichaela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2016

We found the hotel to be a delight, very friendly, lovely grounds, great for children with outdoor trampoline, swingball, indoor table tennis and table football to occupy them! Great family rooms with 2 single beds connecting to a room with a large double and single bed, ideal for our family of 5! What made the stay even better was the small kitchen and dining room opposite with all wee needed to create a simple meal, they even had a fridge of wine you could purchase at a very reasonable price. Great breakfast with organic jams. Would have stayed longer if we had time.

Room Tip: Families should ask for the large family room
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bayfield321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

We couldn't believe how nice this hotel was. We booked a family suite with two adjoining rooms and had everything we needed. The rooms themselves were sizeable but there was also a large sitting area/lounge outside the rooms with a good collection of books. Also a kitchen for communal use with fridge freezer, cooker, microwave, crockery and cutlery etc.
Outside there were extensive gardens which were great for relaxing in with fruit trees, benches, deck chairs, games including badminton. Also an indoor games room with table tennis.
The owner was one of the friendliest and most helpful guys you could wish to meet. He gave us lots of information on the many sites in the area. The buffet breakfast had lots of homemade and local fare and gave us a great start to each day.
We were there in a heatwave but the buildings have very thick walls which kept us nice and cool.
Definitely a hotel we will return to.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank VangoMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

We booked 3 nights in le Chai de la Paleine with my Irish husband in order to make him discover the region (I'm french and I know how much this is a great place to visit).

The minute we arrived in the hotel, we were really pleasantly surprise by the owner who is very helpful and friendly. We have got many advice about what we could visit (La Loire castels, Puy du Fou or Futuroscope theme park, vineyard, troglodyte cellars...) and also where we could find good restaurants in the area.

The hotel is situated in a small and typical french town with a traditional church you can visit and with 2 restaurants you can access on foot. The premises have been converted from a old vineyard so that you can take your breakfast in a big old barrel (yeah, true!).The environment is amazing; there is a big garden with free hens, cats, and sheeps (don't worry, there are nice) and a beautiful little castle in front of you. The bedrooms are spacious, clean and tastefully decorated. You can enjoy a kitchen, a big living room surrounded by some old book, a game room and others games in the garden.

However, be careful of the wine, it's so tasty that you will forget it's alcohol...

To summarize, it was for us the perfect place to rest, visit and appreciate the french culture. Next time we go back to France, I would book in Le Chai for my whole family (our children would be happy do do trampoline near sheeps!)

I would obviously recommend it to anyone who wants to discover the region, in couple, in family or with friends!

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank clemeencex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews