We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stopped here before”
Review of Anne d'Anjou

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anne d'Anjou
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Saumur
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
368
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

A lovely hotel but perhaps a little dated. Reception is very welcoming. Bedrooms are a little tired and perhaps need refreshing . View from the front of the hotel is overlooking the river and very pretty . Breakfast was plentiful with very helpful staff. Parking is available at the rear of the hotel with a charge but we parked both our motorcycles at the front for free as did other car and motorcycle owners.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAA, Responsable réception at Anne d'Anjou, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thanks for sharing your experience at hotel Anne d'Anjou. Indeed motorcycles and cars can park either in front of our hotel free of charge on public parking spaces just along the river or secure your vehicle in our private area locked at night (booking on request).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017

Beautiful location, however disappointing inside. The bedrooms are stuffy and if you have a river view, it is hard to sleep with the windows open, because of the noise.
The whole hotel has a very old fashioned atmosphere. A shame as it has some lovely features and very friendly helpful staff. (The pillows are also rock solid :()

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank janepowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAA, Responsable réception at Anne d'Anjou, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

We would have preferred to be able to reply to your needs during your stay. Of course we are located by the river and traffic passed by down the road and nowhere in town is easy to sleep with open windows as noise comes from outside. Our hotel is a historic building and not a modern one and many of our customers love that "old-fashioned" atmosphere. We provide pillows (bought last winter) which are well-stuffed and usually that is what is expected but on request we may even find you some spare flatter ones. We always make you feel confortable as much as possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

The hotel is very well/placed near the attractive centre of the old town, on the left bank of the Loire and in the shadow of the magnificent chateau. The staff made us feel very welcome with a professional approach at all times. First floor bedrooms have high ceilings and ours looked out onto the charming garden at the back of the property, with a view up to the Chateau. The restaurant Les Menestreuls is also located in the garden and is very well worth a visit - you will need to book! Private parking is available in the garden for the hotel, although 12euros per night is quite expensive for the privilege. All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAA, Responsable réception at Anne d'Anjou, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

We are glad to see how much you enjoyed staying with us. We will forward your comment to our staff as well. Regarding parking fee, we charge 12 euro as we have just a few spaces only and could not park every customer's in and moreover there is some free public parking area right in front of the hotel. Our private area shall be reserved for those peculiarly wishing to secure their vehicle at the rear part of the hotel locked at night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Loved this hotel, we took a garden room as we had our dog with us. Lovely breakfast in the courtyard garden and hotel is in a beautiful historic building. Right in the centre of Saumur but very peaceful. Excellent, friendly staff who were happy to help us with booking local events like the Cadre Noir. Liked it so much on our drive down through France we made sure we came back this way on our way home.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joanne295424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAA, Responsable réception at Anne d'Anjou, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

We thank you for letting your comment on your 2 summer stops here with us. We are glad that you enjoy the building and our service. We would always help you organize your activities locally and make sure you spend a good time in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

River views, old historical building with a history as long as your arm located beneath the old chateau of Saumur, great staff with a wide range of linguistic abaility, fabulous buffet breakfast and a restaurant on site which we did not use due to no reservation.

Short walk to town square and restaurant choices.

The only downside for the street side in summer a tad noisy, but what a fabulous sun rise...

this was agreat stop en route to St Malo.

Room Tip: Note we had an entry level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AdbFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerAA, Responsable réception at Anne d'Anjou, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you for commenting an overnight stop with us. We are glad you enjoyed the building, our staff and services as well as sunrise on the river Loire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saumur hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Saint-Pierre
Hotel Saint-Pierre
#1 of 24 in Saumur
414 reviews
0.4 km away
Mercure Bords de Loire Saumur
19.2 km away
Logis Le Chai de la Paleine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Le Londres
Le Londres
#2 of 24 in Saumur
589 reviews
1.2 km away
Chateau de Verrieres & Spa
0.4 km away
Cristal Hotel
Cristal Hotel
#9 of 24 in Saumur
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anne d'Anjou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anne d'Anjou

Address: 32 quai Mayaud, 49400, Saumur, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Saumur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Saumur
Price Range: €71 - €146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Anne d'Anjou 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fine 18th century hotel is situated a stone's throw away from the city of Saumur, enjoying the opulent beauty of the River Loire running gracefully nearby. Listed façade, sumptuous staircase crowned by a trompe-l'oeil ceiling - all the prestigious hallmarks of the past have been preserved and enhanced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anne d'Anjou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anne d`Anjou Hotel Saumur
Anne d Anjou Saumur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing