We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$71
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$155
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$91
US$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$94
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$164
US$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$132
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$161
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
US$90
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$102/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveller rating
134
317
86
19
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
134
317
86
19
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram stopcentre garenice hotelcentral locationblackout curtainsadjacent restauranthotel staffrestaurant next doorcould not have been more helpfulbus tourunderground parkingwithin walking distanceloire valleytea and coffee making facilitiesrailway stationno frillspleasant stay
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 562 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2017

What a brilliant hotel this was. On arrival the receptionist was so friendly and helpful and gave us tips and advise on where to visit and how to get there. Great location as only a short walk to the major attractions. The room itself was lovely. Really big and immaculately clean. There was a safe, tea and coffee making facilities, lovely long mirror for getting ready, excellent bathroom, all in all everything you need. The buffet breakfast was really good. We had the best evening meal of our 3 weeks traveling around France in Joe Carpa's restaurant next door, which you can access from the hotel reception. Great food and wine. There wasn't any car parking on site but there was underground parking nearby. We had an amazing time here and we will most definitely return for a longer visit in the future. Thank you to the wonderful staff at this hotel for a lovely, memorable stay :))

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 196gail1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mercure_angers, Réceptionniste at Mercure Angers Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comment. Its always a pleasure to read that you ve had a good stay and the services we provide have matched your expectations.
I can't wait to share your review with the team and the restaurant next door.

Thank you again for taking the time to write and mark your stay.

Your re more than wlecome to come back for a longer visit in Angers.

Best regards,

Mercure Angers Centre Gare Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Standard city centre Mercure hotel.
We thought it was quite expensive for what it was but the staff were very nice and the room clean and comfortable.
we thought breakfast looked expensive so we went about 30metres down the road to a patisserie.
If you look at the photos you see a picture of an ancient timbered building - not surprising this building is nearby -it is not the hotel!

Room Tip: sorry - no tip
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank purcellfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mercure_angers, receptionniste at Mercure Angers Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear Purcell Family,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Hôtel Mercure Angers Centre Gare.

We are delighted to read that you had an excellent stay and enjoyed your visit at our hotel. It is always encouraging to learn that guests are satisfied with our service as it is what we strive for every day.

All kind of feedbacks help us improve the services we provide.

Thank you again

Best regards,

Mercure Angers Centre Gare Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

We stayed here for one night, my wife,daughter and myself plus our two little dogs. It was the start of our two month holiday.
The bedrooms were great with an adjoining door, we had a lovely sleep and the bathroom was excellent.

Breakfast was very good indeed. The biggest and very best thing is the staff - they are all wonderful and made our one night stay really memorable.

We shall most certainly stay again at this hotel and look forward to spending more time in the splendid city of Angers.

If you want a great very clean hotel with a decent restaurant then look no further.

Top marks to everyone and thank you for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: Just stay here it's great
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank HappyTravellers222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mercure_angers, RECEPTIONNISTE at Mercure Angers Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your comments regarding your stay at the Hôtel Mercure Angers Centre Gare.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely

Mercure Angers Centre Gare Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

This hotel is a short tram ride or walk from the train station and is located along a very walkable street in the heart of historic Angers. Lots of restaurants and parks close by as well, and walkable to the Chateau, the cathedral, and the Musee de Beaux Arts among other things. Right along the main bus lines as well. Rooms were clean, staff was extremely helpful, and the breakfast is the full Mercure buffet. I was there a week, and was really glad for the central location. Although it was noisy one night when my window was open and some young guys decided to get rowdy outside the building, the rooms have a wonderful double window system that completely blocks out sound once you close both. Highly recommended. The only glitch was that the WiFi went out on my last day, which was pretty inconvenient.

Room Tip: Pick a room that faces the back to avoid traffic sounds at night.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mercure_angers, Réceptionniste at Mercure Angers Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

Dear Karrie R.,

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We are truly sorry for the wifi issue due to a network failure. However, it is very encouraging to read your nice feedback.

We hope to see you again soon for another journey with us.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

compared to other mercure hotels i have been to before, this one is at the lower range, a bit older i guess. There was also no wifi, i drama for a business traveller. No compensation (I asked for a commercial gesture, but got a very formal "no"). Parking is small (max. 10 cars), so if you want a parking spot, ask for it when reserving the room.
Only 2 power outlets in the room, that's definitely not enough (one was taken by the water heater). Also, the light in the corridor only went on after 5 meters walking in the dark (bad positioning of the detector probably).
Water temperature in the bathroom fluctuating noticeably. Water flow could do with a bit higher flow rate.
Positive: very abundant choice for breakfast.
Also positive: very good food in the adjacent restaurant (i had ceviche of swordfish as a starter and chicken tikka as main dish, both very tasteful !)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Yves R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mercure_angers, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Angers Centre Gare, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear Yves,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Hôtel Mercure Angers Centre Gare. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews