We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, right in the action”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
Ranked #5 of 51 Hotels in Rouen
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good value, right in the action”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

First, I want to say that the picture in the profile here is not correct. the building that the Murcure is in is more of a war bunker, solid concrete.

Anyways, onto my stay...I personally hate making reservations, I much prefer to scope the city out, figure our where I want to be then look around for a hotel. As it happens, I was able to do it this time around...so this says a lot for the location. Right next to the cathedral, within the midieval protion of the city and central to the action.

As for the hotel, I had never stayed at a Mercure hotel before so I had not idea what to expect. Being slightly suspicious I asked to see the room first. It might be worth mentioning that I was there with my wife and two young children, so we needed somthing roomy, which it was. I also suspect that because I wanted to see the room first, that they gave me the best room available (#329 if you're wondering) and it was, perched over the street and a straight view to the cathedral. The room was equipped with a King bed, and a sofa that converted into a single bed, they also brought up a crib for my son.

The room was a little dated/worn/basic (as can be expected in Europe), but it worked beautifully for our needs. It was a great base to explore Rouen, which was charming and nice in itself.

Parking was 13 Euro, which was a good deal! And in-room wireless internet was free.

Happy travels.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,312 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    669
    249
    68
    34
See reviews for
190
674
68
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Stayed three nights in February in a privilege room with balcony and cathedral view. Well, if you stood on the very small balcony you could see the spires! No matter as you are close enough to walk round the corner for a closer look. We had room 401, good size and comfortable but bathroom fairly ordinary. Room had coffee machine which was, as you would expect, good for coffee but made awful tea. If you like tea then you will be disappointed. Free soft drinks in mini bar are can of coke, can of ice tea, bottle of Evan, bottle of badoit and bottle of orange juice. Drinks are replenished each day. Room description mentions 'Privelege' items but bathroom had standard Mercure stuff.
Breakfast served in bar, it is ok but not worth 16.50€. Bar was very quiet and closed early.
Staff very helpful, spoke good English.
We travelled by train, taxi from/ to station about 8€. Would not like to drive through very narrow cobbled streets but there is underground parking.
Location is excellent, no restaurant in hotel but plenty within a 10 minute walk.
Not sure if it is really worth the premium you pay for being so central but would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Number34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

My mother and I stayed at this hotel during the French Cup competition in February. The rooms were clean, large (by European standards),and very comfortable. The staff was most helpful and many spoke English. The hotel location is great and very central to all that the city has to offer. We left during an unusual snow storm and had trouble connecting with the bus taking our group to CDG airport. (The narrow streets and heavy snow prohibited the bus from getting to the hotel front door.) One of the hotel staff walked with us, during this bad storm, and escorted us directly to our bus. Without his assistance, we would never have found the bus and made our flights home. We were very impressed with this help. It was certainly above and beyond our expectations.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Hotel is nice and clean. We stay on the 5th floor which look like a roof top one. The room is ok size. We can see the Catherdral from the window. Bed is comfy. The room is clean but I put 4 because they forget one cleaning tissue after the first day in our room.

Staff is friendly.

We stay there two night of 31 December and 1 January 2012.

Hotel has their own parking but it is very narrow and small. We have Peugeot 3008 and with my husband driving skill, it is still nearly impossible, have to do many back and forth.

Room Tip: Cuoose a roof top floor, you will have a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

Even the man staffing the reception desk agreed that finding the hotel by car is a little scary the first time. It is difficult to navigate Rouen's narrow cobbles, but you have to trust the sign posts.
Once in we were delighted with the quality of the welcome and the although the room was a standard Mercure style room it was very pleasant, none the less and well decorated.

The only draw back was the noise from the street during the night. It was a damp, chilly Thursday at the start of January but we we still awoken by young men shouting at one another in the street three floors beneath our room in the small hours of the morning.

Otherwise it was a very agreeable stay and we will definitely go back - the hotel is much to be preferred to Mercure's other Rouen offering on the Champ de Mars.

Breakfast was the usual buffet affair but reasonably priced. I do wonder about Mercure's breakfast policy. A map handed out at their Champ de Mars hotel said if you are over fifty (I'm 61) your guest gets a free breakfast. Last time we stayed there the lady at the reception desk said if you are over 60 (we both are) you don't have to pay at all. We paid for two - but didn't begrudge it - it was all very pleasant and we got the room at a very good price.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HighgateExigeant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rouen hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel de Bourgtheroulde, Autograph Collection
1.5 km away
Novotel Suites Rouen Normandie
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Litteraire Gustave Flaubert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel de la Cathedrale
Hotel de la Cathedrale
#17 of 51 in Rouen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.9 km away
Ibis Rouen Champ De Mars
0.9 km away
Mercure Rouen Champ de Mars Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel

Property: Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel
Address: 7 rue Croix de Fer, 76000, Rouen, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Rouen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Rouen
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rouen
#5 Family Hotel in Rouen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right in the centre of Rouen, at the foot of one of the most beautiful cathedrals in France, the Mercure Rouen Centre is an ideal hotel for exploring the attractions of this medieval city including the Old Market Square and the Gros Horloge clock tower.The hotel features 125 soundproof, airconditioned rooms, including 4 suites, WiFi in all areas, bar, room service and meeting facilities. Ideal location, not far from the station, in the peaceful pedestrian area of Rouen. Private pay car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Rouen Centre Cathedrale Hotel Rouen
Accor Rouen Centre Cathedrale

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing