We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Chantereyne
Nearby Hotels
US$88
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moderna Hotel(Cherbourg-Octeville)
US$85
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel D'angleterre(Cherbourg-Octeville)(Great Value!)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Ibis budget Cherbourg - La Glacerie(La Glacerie)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B&B Hotel Cherbourg(La Glacerie)
US$63
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Renaissance(Cherbourg-Octeville)
US$80
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Ambassadeur(Cherbourg-Octeville)
US$88
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel de la Gare(Cherbourg-Octeville)
US$72
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel De La Croix De Malte(Cherbourg-Octeville)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
74
123
30
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
123
30
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea making facilitiesplenty of free parkingquiet at nightone nightpowerful showerroom was largeon arrivalstay there againshort stayferry portexcellent valuenice hotelbreadtown centreconvenient locationwithin walking distancebrittany ferries
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good choice for an overnight stay. Plenty of car parking (being redeveloped when we were there). Rooms very comfortable and unlike many French hotels - tea/coffee provided. Small bar area - adequate. Very good breakfast buffet.
The only slight downside is the noise from the fairground but assume this may only
be seasonal.
Reception staff were very attentive and pleasant.

Room Tip: We had a corner harbour view - very pleasant
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate_Maxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Spent a night here before flying home - we had passed it many times when sailing in and out of Cherbourg marina. Since last year the roadway outside has been dug up, meaning a truck round to the back of the hotel..not their fault of course. Worse still there was an enormous fun fare 100 yards away, and whilst we were reassured it would end at 8p.m. In fact the equally loud disco went on until almost midnight.

Our room was clean and tidy, but reeked of old cigarette smoke. May not have been recent, but full redecoration would have resolved it. Not much sleep that night.

Petit dejeuner was OK, but overall disappointed with the smell of the room and the lack of sleep. I doubt we will return.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank rneilharvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in a room with a view over the Marina . The good points are that it’s close to the marina and shops , it’s clean and there is a decent eatery next door .

Not so good is the breakfast offering which is sparse, not enough power plugs in the room and the rooms are a little dated . Three stars is about right when comparing with UK hotels .

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank wp12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

We will definitely be returning. We stayed at this hotel for a night as part of a Brittany Ferries deal. This must be the most comfortable bed that we have ever slept in. We loved the 50s architecture that had been tastefully updated inside. Our room was large with a view towards the Chantereyne Marina. Clean, warm, tea making facilities, powerful shower and quiet. The staff were friendly, accommodating and efficient. The bar prices were less than expected. Continental-style self-service breakfast from 6.30 to 10.30am. It was also located not far from the Place de la Repulic with a park and statue of Napolean and handy for restaurants leading into town or for a walk around the port. Cannot think why this hotel is not rated more than 3 stars - perhaps because there is no fridge or safe inside the rooms. It is excellent value for money.

Room Tip: We took the room we were allocated on the first floor and were happy
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

We stayed in this hotel twice recently. Once just off the ferry and once night before the ferry, and the location was just so perfect.

The reception staffs are all very kind and professional, clean and spacious room with comfortable bed and good shower/bath facility.
Also the breakfast was very good quality and at excellent value.

The room facing the marina was quieter than a room facing the front of the hotel.

There are many good restaurants/bar/entertainment within walking distance from the hotel.
Free car park has plenty of spaces.
Free Wifi worked perfectly during our stay.

We had a very good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank hihiromi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sebastien P, Directeur général at Hotel Chantereyne, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2017

Dear Guest, thank you for posting such a wonderful review on TripAdvisor. Its always great to hear from our guests - especially when they return for a second visit. We are most grateful for your kind words and for taking the time to recognize our team of hospitality professionals for their friendly and considerate service. We truly enjoyed having you as our guests and we look forward to your next retourn Best regards, Pascaline.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews