We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful little place in the centre of town, a must for afternoon tea!”
Review of Le 101

Le 101
Ranked #113 of 516 Restaurants in Caen
Price range: US$0 - US$15
Cuisines: French, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 6 May 2017

We visited Caen last year and this place was one of our enduring memories - all except the name, so apologies for not having left a review previously! I made a point of noting it down this time so I could mention how great it is to find a place where you really feel like you're having a high-class break in the middle of town!

We only had the desserts, although they do offer a range of main courses too, but they're really good quality and very reasonably priced - fresh macarons for 50 cents each, for example, and a chocolate mousse so thick and rich that the spoon could stand up in it on its own for 3.50. They also have really nice bottled water, which isn't something I usually notice, but this is sourced from over 300m underground, never touched by pollution, served ice cold, and is one of the most refreshing things I've ever drunk.

We'll definitely be back here any time we're in Caen!

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 106 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2016

I've been here several times. The hot chocolate is out of this world! It's more than I would normally pay in America, but it's worth a nice treat. They also have Macaroon's, and actual food dishes as well. The service is always great. If you want a nice indoor cafe, go to Le 101!

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank katherineweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2015 via mobile

Food was good but not amazing. Coffee is terrible (pods). Kind of between fast food and restaurant. Lots of space to sit.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank 191ryans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2015

This is a decent cafe with a really nice, clean interior. It's a bit pricey for what it is though. They do sell little snacks and things like that to go with the coffee though, and their macaroons are pretty nice.

Date of visit: March 2015
1  Thank tsukikoneko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2014

The place is in the centre on Caen, the staff is friendly but unfortunately the coffee is terrible..the cappuccino is awful..burning hot and super strong..price was 3.5€ each. Definitely not a good choice

Date of visit: December 2014
Thank Costasxlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le 101 also viewed

 

Been to Le 101? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing