We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveller rating
73
140
40
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
140
40
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews normandy area king size bed restricted area mid range hotel central location middle of town parking garage is front desk staff ww ii extra euro an easy minute walk memorial museum rented a car very clean hotel enjoyable stay omaha beach restaurants and shopping
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2018

Good location for restaurants and shopping and sights. The front desk staff could not have been more welcoming and helpful, and overall we liked this place. Downside to the area was that there was road-work being done all around the hotel so there was noise and dust, and the streets all over town were being dug up for a new tramway to be built, so getting to where you wanted to go was difficult. But we would stay here again, and found the hotel parking very useful. We enjoyed the breakfast, although it was somewhat expensive and we only had it on one of the 3 mornings we were there.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canadian017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

I spent 6 nights at this centrally-located hotel in early July on a business trip. I was given a second floor room that looked out on the street. The room had a new bathroom and other parts of the hotel were being renovated as the lobby was painted during my stay and the staff had begun to put an awning in over the front door. I tried the breakfast offered at the hotel one morning. It was a typical European affair with meats, cheeses, cereals, fruit, and some scrambled and boiled eggs. The town is well into a major renovation as some streets are being completely torn out and replaced. Sidewalks in the vicinity of this hotel were also being replaced; this led to morning noise, but I was up and out the door on business about the time it started each day.

Caen is home to the fifth largest farmer’s market in France, and it is fabulous. Every Sunday, about 3 blocks from the hotel, the city closes a large street and adjacent parking lots for vendors selling cheeses, sausages, fruits, vegetables, fish, and prepared food. This market is well worth a visit. I did in early July when cherries and strawberries were peaking.

The hotel is an easy 20-25 minute walk from the train station or less than 10 minute/12 euro taxi ride.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights to tour the Normandy area. The hotel is situated near quite a few restaurants, drug stores, and even a (Lafayette) department store. It is within walking distance of the cathedral and the castle. The theatre bus stop is just down the street where you can catch bus #2 that terminates at the Caen memorial.

Their parking at the hotel is 10 euros/night but is limited. We were late reserving parking, so we had to park at the repulique underground lot about a block away for 17.5 euros/night. If driving, make sure you print the directions from the hotel staff. The gps put us about two blocks from the hotel and told us the hotel was in a traffic restricted area, so we just went straight to the parking deck. However, the directions from the hotel show you how to drive right to the front of the hotel to check in and drop your luggage.

The staff was very helpful, friendly, professional, and fluent in English. They were able to reserve a spot in the Caen Memorial D Day tour, from the hotel after the local TI office was not.

The breakfast was an extra charge, but was worth it from a time and convenience standpoint. It was also very good and the breakfast attendant was very good.

Our room was very nice and had a king bed as we requested. This was very nice.

The only 2 downsides to our stay was we were there was a National day of music on June 21st and I know the hotel had no control over this, but the person or band across the street was not music. It was some guy screaming into a microphone until 1:30 am. At breakfast the next morning, that opinion was echoed in several languages. Also the lobby and reception area was being renovated so there was some noise in the middle of the day, but that was no big issue. It appeared to be nearing completion.

If visiting this area I would definitely recommend this hotel, but bring earplugs if you are there on June 21st.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chiliburger340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

Good location ; friendly english speaking staff and ample restaurants nearby. Rooms good size and breakfast is good. Bus station nearby so easy to visit War museum. Caen is a good city to stay in to do the Normandy WW11 tours.

Date of stay: May 2018
1  Thank charole618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

We used Caen as our base for visiting the WW II sites in the Normandy region. This hotel is centrally located in Caen and with our iPhone GPS, Caen was easy to navigate. Our rooms were well appointed and very clean. Hot breakfast was an extra 16 euro but the convenience and quality made it a good value. The front desk staff went out of the way to give directions and restaurant recommendations. Their English was perfect! Grocery-drug stores and restaurants are all within easy walking distance. If you are driving, let them know. Their parking garage is small and you will need to let them know in advance you have a car.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gregh53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews