We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,476)
Filter reviews
1,476 results
Traveller rating
948
431
74
17
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
948
431
74
17
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel no elevator main building lovely garden wine and cheese modern bathroom off street parking d day beaches private parking the hotel staff bayeux tapestry within walking distance quiet location normandy beaches top floor free parking staff was very friendly and helpful
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 1,476 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2018

We recently visited the Normandy area and stayed in Bayeux. We choose Hotel d'Argouges because it was centrally located in the beautiful village. We could walk and enjoy the museums, cathedrals, stores, and restaurants. The hotel was an old manor house turned into a hotel. It was well maintained, especially the garden and patio area out back. All the rose bushes were in bloom and quite lovely in the evening after dinner in town. The rooms were very comfortable, and the breakfast buffet was delicious with prompt service for beverages. The staff was extremely helpful with dinner suggestions and helping with reservations. We highly recommend this beautiful property for your vacation in Normandy. Bayeux is a great location for D-Day beaches, Mont St. Michelle, and coastal towns north and south. We would most definitely stay at Hotel d'Argouges again and will certainly recommend it to friends.
Thank you to the wonderful staff and owner of this outstanding property, you helped to make our vacation magical!
The Hughes and May Families

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ellyshey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

This is a beautiful looking hotel set back off the street. It is an old small chateau which has been renewed. The hotel has parking at the back of the property. You drive through the front gates pass the pot plants and follow the road around the back of the property. It has a small pretty garden at the back. It is about ten minute walk to the cathedral and tapestry museum so not in main tourist area. The breakfast is 12 euros which looked good. We did not order this but walked down the road where there are several good places to grab something if you just want a coffee and a pastry.

We booked two standard rooms for a family of four which were not in the main building but another smaller building near the car park. The rooms were very clean small and basic which was fine for us. The bathroom has a great walk in shower with great water pressure. The linen was very good and I slept really well as the building was off the road so very quiet. The staff were all extremely pleasant and happy to help with any questions you may have about the town.

The only negatives were firstly that there were no power sockets near the beds. Secondly, It is an old building so there is no lift and a narrow staircase so if you have heavy cases you might ask for rooms on the bottom floor. We had one room on the first level and the other on the second level.
I would stay here again no problems.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank zitaaussiemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

We stayed at the Hotel d'Argouges for two nights in June 2018. It is an excellent location for touring WWII sites in Normandy, France. The hotel was clean and quiet. Our room was nicely decorated. The breakfast buffet in the morning was good. The hotel's staff were friendly and very helpful. They gave excellent dining recommendations and helped us make reservations for local restaurants. We would not hesitate to stay there again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MGFamof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

Hotel d'Argouges was perfect. The lobby is up one very small flight of stairs and our room was on the next flight. (No elevator/lift.) They served a buffet breakfast with a nice variety and the option to dine in the garden which was gorgeous and peaceful. We required a room for 3 and they accommodated us with a double and twin bed and a roomy bathroom. We had a window overlooking the front courtyard which we left open to keep us cool at night. There's no air conditioning, but it's not needed with the perfect weather there. (Even in mid-July it was mid-70's during the day and in the 50's at night.) Everything was clean and well-kept and the staff was exceptional. This was the most accommodating and friendly establishment we stayed while in France. I'd like to especially thank the young lady at the front desk who helped us find & book our D-Day tours & suggested local eateries. She was amazingly helpful. We will definitely return.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mcneal723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018

The hotel is set back from the main road with entry through a gate. We enjoyed the charm of the main building each day at breakfast but our room was in a separate, smaller building overlooking the stunning gardens. The staff was wonderful and we really enjoyed our stay.

This was our base for exploring Bayeux, the tapestry, and Juno Beach and other sites related to the Canadian participation in the Battle of Normandy. It was a perfect location.

Each time we returned to the hotel we felt like we were staying on a private estate. The room was wonderfully decorated, the bed very comfortable, and the modern bathroom had a shower with lots of water pressure and lots of hot water.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TorontoJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews