We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (828)
Filter reviews
828 results
Traveller rating
334
337
105
35
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
334
337
105
35
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no elevator tom hanks autographed photos movie stars parking space reserved parking historic hotel parking spot lower floor the main street lovely hotel old world train station lounge area d day beaches bayeux tapestry within walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 828 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2018

Very nice hotel convenient to Bayeux Cathedral and Tapestry museum with good restaurant. Limited courtyard parking lot, but reserve and they'll hold the spot for you by name. Only downside, no elevator, but we needed the exercise.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

We used to stay at this hotel whenever we would visit Bayeux which was about every 5 years. On this visit, we learned the hotel changed ownership and the current owners modernized the hotel such that all the charm is gone. We used to love the demi-pension plan because the meals were especially memorable such as the Poulet Normande and the ris de veau (sweetbreads), the sorbet with Calvados given as a palate cleanser, the assorted cheese plate (for which there is now a supplemental fee) and Normande desserts. Back in the 1980s, the hotel restaurant was so extraordinary that it had even earned a Michelin star. With regard to the room, our large bed was actually two twins pushed together. The toilet was in a separate closet. To wash our hands, we had to walk across the room to the room where the basin and shower were. For us, staying at the Hotel Lion d'Or was always something we looked forward to. Unfortunately, with the modernization, it's just like any other non-descript hotel and no longer a special part of our travels.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jdc8mbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

We stayed here for three nights. It is a lovely hotel and the restaurant is superb. There is off street parking available if you reserve a spot with your hotel reservation. Rooms are larger than most hotels we stayed in throughout France. No elevator, which was ok for us, but if you can't do it, request a lower floor. No air, as most places, but even in august...we were fine. Very courtious staff. This hotel was a peferect location to walk to all the restaurants and shops. I'll be back!

Room tip: No elevator. So I'd choose a lower level if you can.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cruiser796517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

I picked this hotel based on its reviews and location and I’m so happy to share it was not a disappointment! I also learned after we booked it is one of the hotels Rick Steve’s recommends in his France book.

This hotel was so cute! It’s in a perfect location - next to train station, shopping, restaurants and walking distance to the cathedral and other monuments. There was a farmers market on one of the days we stayed. It’s very close to the Normandy beaches/sites and other locations. Le Mont Saint Michel was a further drive but so worth it.

The staff there was so helpful! I don’t remember the woman’s name at the front desk who helped my husband make arrangements for our car rental - but she was fantastic! She made it so easy for us to get a car. Everyone spoke English so it made things easier for us.

The room size was great - we arrived from Paris where the hotel rooms are very small so the extra space was welcomed. There is no lift but we didn’t mind walking up the 3 flights.

I would absolutely recommend this place - I hope to visit again!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Geneva M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

Good size room and very clean, double bed and double sofa bed. Staff on reception were very helpful. Parking space reserved for you with your name, you must contact the hotel prior to arrival for this, you have to pay extra for parking but it is worth it. Walking distance to restaurants and attractions. Good base for visiting Normandy Landing Beaches. Would stay at this hotel again. The only negative was that our window looked over a building site, which was very noisy very early in the morning.

Room tip: Ask for a room not looking over the main road.
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jerseyci2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews