We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
35
12
1
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
12
1
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2016

This is a quaint old French home that is full of antique furniture and ambiance. We found the owner to be very friendly and helpful. When we were going in to Lourdes he gave us advice on the best route through the town, the best place to park and recommended a good place to dine. Then to our surprise he gave us a few croissants to take with us for an afternoon snack. If we are ever back in the area we will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

It may be too late to comment on this property as no reviews have been posted for a year it may be closed.
However having returned from another trip memories of our 1 night there last year (September 2011) were triggered by a similarly disappointing stay.
Relais de Saux had seen better days. We were given a choice of 2 rooms. The first was upstairs at the front of the house and was stiflingly hot with flies circling, but it was its proximity to a noisy main road that decided us on the second. This was downstairs with very tired decor and a view over a couple of dilapidated, rusty old cars in a yard but was a least away from the noisy road. Not a comfortable night and we had to drive a couple of miles to find somewhere to eat recommended by the owner but very poor.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisydoggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We found the host charming, but the hotel itself has seen better days. No restaurant, so we had to have dinner elsewhere. A bit stingy on breakfast as we were refused additional croissants! Only one each apparently. A plethora of old furniture and antiques just isn't enough when the curtains are stained, garden furniture is stained, and bathroom carpet is stained. Sorry but this is not shabby chic, just shabby.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Itchyfeet1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Old and beautiful mansion with confortable and big rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeannot44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2008

I spent an entire week with my wife and kids in this beautiful hotel near Lourdes.

Our room was facing the gorgeous chain of the Pyrenees mountains, where we went skiing.

There is a beautiful garden and a lot of outdoor space which was great for the kids

The decoration is very unique. The facade is covered with ground-ivy. The dining room is perfect in size and tables are well spaced.
There's a splendid fireplace which adds a lot of cachet (in addition to heat).

We found the owner and the staff very accommodating.
Every details from the table setting to the service was high maintenance and the food is amazing.

I would recommend the "Foie Poelle aux pains d'epices" (duck). I tried to get the recipe from the owner but he would not give it away.

The rooms are all unique and the furniture dates from the French Monarchy.

The hotel is old, antique, and definitely unlike any other hotels we have been to.
It is by far the best hotel-restaurant in this area.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicosaisai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews