We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and a bit of a surprise!”
Review of Hotel des Arts

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Arts
Ranked #44 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Reviewed 12 July 2012

The toughest thing was finding this mtel as we were driving. However once we did find it, after reversing 300 meters in a one way street cause we could not stomach another 20 minute drive and after parking the car, we we shown to the smallest. Hotel room I have ever stayed in. I am sure the four toilet Rolls were some compensation in a bathroom that was tiny!

However location wise this was an amazing find. Less than 300 steps to the main square and slap bang in the middle of the old town. A few hours spent wandering the old town, appreciating the history and getting data for my iPad was great. We ate at a restaurant and wandered back after 2300 to our poky room. The shutters on the window went down and we did not emerge till 0800 which surprised is.

The bed was comfortable, the young man on the desk was very helpful and even had an adaptor for my camera to be charged. Air conditioning was quiet and kept us comfortable during the night.

When all you need is a bed and a bath this was ideal. Could not imagine staying a second night but good for tourists passing through.

Room Tip: Ask for a room where the lift exits without needing to navigate stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eddie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

I stayed in "hôtel des arts" for two night in july 2012 for buisiness purpose. I enjoyed my stay in this hôtel especially the kindness and the disponibility of the staff. The room was nice and original, very calm for a "downtown hotel" and clean. The room wasn't really modern but had AC which is a good thing in july in Montpellier. The bathroom is quite small but OK.
However I find this hôtel quite a good quality -price deal.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank juliewohlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Stayed here in October 2011. Good location, 200m from Place de la Comedie and the tram.
Prices were very reasonable, staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast a bit expensive at €7, coffee, orange juice (squash dilute) bread and a croissant. Room was a good size, one double and a single bed. Very clean and comfortable. Beware though, NO access to hotel after 1AM, even for guests.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulcDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We had a large room with a mezzanine level on the ground floor of the hotel. The windows had shutter blinds which blocked the noise and light from the street outside. Our room was clean and comfortable with free wifi. A short walk to the centre of Montpellier. Our only problem is that we found the carpark provided to us a nuisance to get to. Whilst it may be only a couple of blocks away it was difficult to navigate to - especially with the roadworks that were taking place. To return the car key you also have to try to navigate back to the hotel from the car park. The staff were very efficient and pleasant to deal with.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshinelollypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed here at the beginning of August for 3 nights as a base to see Montpellier and surrounds. Whilst the rooms were fairly basic they were clean, the staff were friendly and it was a great location - a 2 minute walk from the main square, train station and city bike hire place.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montpellier hotels
Comédie
Le Mistral
Le Mistral
#12 of 93 in Montpellier
301 reviews
Hotel de Paris
#71 of 93 in Montpellier
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Strasbourg
#46 of 93 in Montpellier
193 reviews
Nova Hotel
#48 of 93 in Montpellier
103 reviews
Hotel d'Aragon
#15 of 93 in Montpellier
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Arts

Address: 6 boulevard Victor Hugo, 34000, Montpellier, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 93 Hotels in Montpellier
Price Range: €71 - €116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Arts 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In our entirely renovated, soundproofed and air conditioned establishment you will be welcomed with great pleasure by our wonderful team in a very family friendly environment.Located in the heart of downtown Montpellier. Within walking distance of the famous place de la comedie, the Theatre, the palais des congres (le corum), the fabre museum.Access to many different types of entertainment including museums, movie, theaters, restaurants and much more. Public transportation consists of train, tramway or bus.Whether your stay is a learning exerience, professional or touristic you will have an exceptional time.You will be perfectly situated for a wonderful visit of old montpellier and its beautiful typical small streets.All our rooms are equiped with either a shower or a bathtub, toilet, flat screen tv, telephone. Free wirless internet in certain rooms and in the reception.Rooms for families available maximum 4 people, free beds available for babies as well on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel des Arts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Arts Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing