We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality accommodation in the perfect location”
Review of Hotel du Chateau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel du Chateau
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This is the perfect location without actually staying inside the old city. A quality hotel. Lovely spacious rooms. The staff were polite and helpful. Breakfast was extra but not worth it. Off- street parking was extra.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jag-u-rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (773)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Chateau
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

320 - 324 of 773 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2011

While the castle and the old city is magnificent, I'm glad we didn't opt to stay in one of the hotels within the medieval city's walls (La Cite) - the old world Hotel de la Cite (as charming as the stately hotel is), or the more modest Best Western. After sundown when the tourists leave, the ancient city within the castle walls gets a little dark, quiet, and somewhat eerie I might add (there is also an old cemetary on the city grounds).

So we were very happy we had chosen to stay at the Hotel du Chateau, facing the castle and literally just outside the city walls. The boutique hotel is newish and stylish, and boasts a Carita spa on site (although we didn't manage to try out the spa facilities in the 2 nights we were there as the spa was fully booked).

The hotel rooms were comfortable but small (Classic 14 sq m room, but felt smaller because of the layout). Comfortable bed, good quality toiletries, but unfortanately not enough space for 2 people's luggage. There is also no mini-fridge or even a table area you can stash your drinks and snacks, let alone any coffee or tea-making facility.

If you are in Carcassone just to visit the castle however (apparently Carcassonne is the 3rd most visited place in France!), I would still recommend staying at the Hotel du Chateau.

We paid €162 per night. If you find this a little too much, you can opt to stay at the property's sister hotel just across the road, the Montmorency.

The hotel charges €10 a night for its private parking. Breakfast at €12 on the terrace looked nice, however you can also opt to eat in the restaurants within the castle. Many of them offer a breakfast set for less.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

If you want to be outside the old city this hotel is the best location possible. From the terrace and bar you can sit and look at the old city walls just across the road. At night with the walls lit up it is a wonderful sight. The photo at hotel web site shows the night scene and it is exactly that in person. The hotel is nicely furnished and our room a good size. We had a superior double for our 2 night stay. Room was also nicely appointed, the bath modern and clean (separate tub and shower. Staff very helpful. Breakfast is served on the terrace or lounge area affording you a morning view of the city walls. There are 2 friendly dogs on premises that add character and charm to the place as well. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eurotraveler280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

For visiting Carcassonne the location is perfect, it's just across the road and you have an amazing view of the old city.

We had a junior suite and it was a little small, although well fitted out, clean and perfect for a few days stay, the bathroom and wet room were great! The outside space was private and quiet. The grounds and hotel are lovely. The staff were friendly, professional and efficient.

The car park is 10 euros per night, which seems a little off given the cost of the rooms, and that the large car park is attached to the hotel.

Breakfast was additional to the cost of the room and a bit pricey, but eating outside with the amazing view did make it worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsg11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2011

We've just had a 2 night stay at this neat hotel. On arrival we were given a fabulous welcome by the receptionist and instructions on how best to access the old city of Carcassonne... and a friendly nudge by the hotel cat. The room was small but very cleverly set out. One small thing - although immaculate and clean there was a slight fusty smell which was difficult to get rid of. Maybe a consequence of being so close to the outdoor swimming pool?

The helpful and warm nature of the staff followed through during the remainder of our 48 hours. Drinks were well received (indoors as it was raining). Hotel dogs (2) came to say 'bonjour'. Reservations were made on our behalf.

We didn't want to leave and will definitely return.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs might be noisy at they seem to be over the bar. Suggest you aim for one that is away...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IrishMimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.4 km away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.3 km away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.0 km away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#9 of 39 in Carcassonne
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
3.3 km away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#3 of 39 in Carcassonne
310 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#8 of 39 in Carcassonne
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Chateau

Address: 2 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range: €146 - €295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Chateau 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is ideally situated, facing the towers and city walls of the medieval Cité it welcomes you at the entrance to the drawbridge. The marriage of ancient and modern offers an interesting journey between the medieval and the contemporary.The hotel is totally unique : a rare elegance and model of aestheticism, it is a constant reminder of timeless good taste and defines the art of entertaining guests.Wine tasting and enjoyment in the panoramic bar…A special space, relaxation in the sun or shade around the heated pool, opening from Pâques to Toussaint or the heated Jacuzzi opening all the year. Relaxation, pleasure and absolute refinement in our luxury SPA CARITA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Chateau Hotel
Du Chateau Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing