We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant enough”

Carcassonne Medieval City
Book In Advance
More Info
US$171.98*
and up
Medieval Cité of Carcassonne Guided Tour for 2 Hours
More Info
US$163.68*
and up
Carcassonne Sightseeing Tour
whitefish
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Pleasant enough”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The fortress area is pleasant enough and the castle proper is expensive with limited artifacts, etc. I would not have paid the admission price had I known.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sagecrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,320
    1,558
    403
    100
    35
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

This medieval castle is a terrific attraction. In addition to the structure itself, there are some cute shops and wonderful restaurants on the property. We had a cassoulet (a local entree) that was fabulous. There is even a hotel on the property if you'd like to really immerse yourself in the experience. We were just passing through on our way to Nice and it was a wonderful diversion.

Helpful?
Thank cmbtravel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastian, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“This really is a "must-see"”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

It is just amazing to know you are walking in the footsteps of people that have gone before you so many centuries ago. You must take a tour of the castle. We were there in July and made sure we were the first in line in the morning. it was very interesting and really gives you the history of the city and the era. It was not as crowded as I thought it was going to be for high season. I highly recommend you stay at the Best Western inside the medieval city.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank DonnaSebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stepping back in time”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Its a truly magical place and never ceases to amaze me. The ideal time to visit is spring as its mostly closed in the winter. The summer is very busy with tourists.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lesley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Diving into time of the Cathars”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Old medieval town-fortress very much alive, with shops, cafes, restaurants, museums all naturally co-existing with tourists

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
Thank sotola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carcassonne Medieval City also viewed

 

Been to Carcassonne Medieval City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing