We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for our short stay in Carcassonne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Carcassonne
Reviewed 27 September 2011

My family and I stayed here for just one night as part of a bigger French road trip, and it was great. We were all upgraded to prestige rooms which were huge and comfortable. It definitely felt a little bit 'budgety' in a way - not classy, lovely furnishings, but rather IKEA-feeling. However, the bed was super comfortable, the bathroom huge, and everything was really clean.

My parents stayed on the third floor and had a gorgeous view of Carcassonne's old town from their window, so do try to get a room higher up that overlooks the courtyard in the direction of the old town.

Parking was adequate and semi-secure, although we did take valuables out of our cars as we didn't feel leaving them there was a good idea.

We didn't eat at the hotel and chose to have dinner and breakfast in Carcassonne's old town, so can't comment.
The distance to the old town is short - literally just a few minutes to walk there.

Staff were friendly enough - there was a conference going on at the time we were there, so everyone seemed busy. No problems to report though.

Overall, I would definitely recommend staying here if you can't afford to stay at the beautiful hotel next to the cathedral in Carcassonne's city centre! :S

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank voyageuse_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,535)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

448 - 452 of 1,535 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2011

The Mercure Carcassonne is a typical mid range business style hotel within very easy reach of the Medieval City of Carcassonne. We stayed here for two nights whilst visiting the city. We chose this particular hotel because of its reasonable cost and its close proximity to the city.

The hotel itself is no more than a 10 minute stroll from the main entrance of the medieval city of Carcassonne. There is a car park at the hotel which is free. Entry and entrance is through a raised barrier gate which operates via a push button to speak facility (although on very occasion we used it, simply pressing the button seemed sufficient – there was never any conversation via the intercom).

The foyer itself is quite small and underwhelming. When we arrived the single member of staff on duty was on a call and it took some little time for us to check-in. We stayed in Room 64, typical of what you would find in any mid range chain hotel. It overlooks the pool and has views of the turrets of the city (see pictures). The room looked as if it had recently been refurbished. Two single beds were joined to create a king size bed. Bedding was clean, crisp an well ironed. There was a flat screen TV on the wall facing the bed which offered continental channels and BBC World. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided as was a safe.

The bathroom did not have a bath but a walk-in rainforest shower. Towels were large, clean and very fluffy. The WC was not separate. Hairdryer and razor point were provided.

The only slight downside was the smallish window. Not a big issue but given the amount of wall space available and the view, a larger window would have been nice. Other rooms which overlooked the pool seemed from the floor plan to be larger and include a terrace or balcony but as a base for a short term visit we felt ours was perfect. Friends visiting Carcassonne with us had the same style room next door but for some reason there was no safe. The free WIFI worked fine.

We were on the third floor for which lift access was provided although it seems that the 3rd floor was on two slightly different levels and a short staircase of 2 or 3 steps needed to be tackled.

Breakfast is served in the dining room offering cereals, croissants, pastries, toast, cheeses, cold meats etc Also scrambled egg and bacon.

Didn't eat here for dinner as the a la carte was relatively expensive compared with food in Carcassonne (although we did on our last day spot a €17 set course meal).

We would definitely stay here again if we chose to visit Carcassonne.

TIP:- We did the Tourist Train which you get at the entrance to the city. This takes you around the outer walls extending into the lower city for a very short while were close proximity to the walls is not possible. It has a perspex roof which was covered in raindrops from an earlier shower. This made it impossible to see the walls clearly when sitting on the left hand side as you look forward. Its twenty minutes with an audio commentary that talks about the various towers. Vastly overpriced and certainly not worth the time from my viewpoint. Better to spend your money visiting the chateau inside the walls and walking along some of the ramparts. If you are going to do the train, sit on the right hand outside as you look forward.

Room Tip: Ask for Room facing the pool/city
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Two_Fogies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights at this hotel, and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

Our very large room overlooked the beautiful ancient city which was a five minute walk away.
The room was clean and well appointed, with a little confusion over the AC that was quickly resolved by a staff member.

The hotel grounds were very attractive and extremely well maintained.

The staff were welcoming and friendly, free parking available right outside the door, and wifi available.
The breakfast was excellent and we ate one evening meal at the hotel which was delicious and good value.
Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to avoid standard rooms which are very small
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndyAuckand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

This hotel is very well positioned,being only 5 mins walk from the old city. We had a privilege room on the second floor with a Juliet balcony overlooking the pool. It also gave a view over the old city walls. The room was a good size with a table but only one chair and a sofa (which in fact was a sofa bed). There was a safe ( although this had not been fixed to the wall) a fridge and an expresso coffee machine.
The bed was large and comfortable. The air conditioning came on automatically if the french doors were closed and was noisy, but the shutters and our position on the sencond floor, meant we were able to sleep with the windows open. The bathroom was a good size with a proper shower over the bath. Bathrobes and slippers were provided
The room was generally clean but there were some minor points such as stains on the chair seat and a small stain on the sheet.
The hotel has a good size pool with loungers. We stayed at the beginning of September and although the temperature topped 30 degrees the pool area was not overcrowded and offered a pleasant area in which to relax.
Breakfast offered a good choice. However the hotel does cater for coach parties and on one morning we came down shortly after 8.oclock to find the waiting staff frantically trying to clear and rearrange the tables after the departure of a coach. We were left somewhat to our own devises including having to find a clean cup and saucer. Neither had our table been wiped properly. In addtion some of the buffet needed replenishing. We would recommend that you took you breakfast a little later if there is a coach party in.
We ate in the resteraunt on one evening and the 17e menu was good value in terms of quantity but not particularly inspiring.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nretiredBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I and my wife stayed in this hotel as a part of the tour on August 25, 2011 for one night.
The location is excellent, mere ten minute walk from the Castle. The people at this hotel are friendly. The room was very nice and clean, with good air conditioning and an in-room safe. We got two twin beds instead of one double, but the beds were comfortable to sleep.

The breakfast buffet was very good.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharu123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carcassonne hotels
0.5 km away
Best Western Le Donjon Les Remparts
0.6 km away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
0.2 km away
Hotel Montmorency
Hotel Montmorency
#10 of 39 in Carcassonne
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Aragon
Hotel Aragon
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
413 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
776 reviews
1.4 km away
Campanile Carcassonne Est - La Cite
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel

Address: 18 rue Camille Saint Saens, 11000 Carcassonne, France (Formerly Mercure Carcassonne Porte de la Cite)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#6 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range: €93 - €196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
5 minutes walk from the medieval quarter and 10 minutes from the Canal du Midi and the lower city, you will find the Mercure Carcassonne tucked away in a leafy corner. The hotel features a restaurant, a garden, a bar with a fireplace, 80 rooms (all non smoking) and 3 meeting rooms. The hotel has two private secured and free car parks. Whether for a business trip, a holiday or a conference, our hotel is a wonderful place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Carcassonne Porte De La Cite Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing