We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not so sure” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Versailles

Chateau de Versailles
Book In Advance
US$10.86*
and up
Palace of Versailles Entrance Ticket with Audio Guide
Ranked #1 of 73 things to do in Versailles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Palace, trianon palaces and the estate of marie-antoinette : open daily except mondays and certain public holidays. Gardens and park : open daily.Commented tours, independant visits, musical fontains shows, shows, bowboats, little train, bicycles, bookshop, shops, restaurants...
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Lockers / storage
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not so sure”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2011

I'm sure the Chateau de Versailles is fantastic... but we never got to even see the front door. Upon seeing the huge queue that obviously a many hour wait we immediately wanted to return our tickets... unfortunately no refunds allowed. Im sure there is legal implication here as I cant see how you can refuse a refund when you cant deliver what has been purchased.

Thankfully we took the advice of a local and headed into the gardens to see the Grand Trianon, Petit Trianon and Marie-Antoinette’s estate. These were worth visiting so you could say we did get half our moneys worth. Although I'm sure after visiting the main Chateau you probably wont find these as interesting.

My recomendation would differ from most. Dont buy your ticket until you arrive so you can better judge what areas you wish to visit. The only time I would buy my ticket early would be if you know you will be there long before opening. There was no real queue for tickets on the day we were there and also you can get tickets at the tourist office only a short walk from that Chateau.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Crazyhold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16,647 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,647
    4,091
    1,674
    708
    527
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
teignmouth
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Too crowded and filthy toilets”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2011

WE visited on Sunday 17th April, 2011 when crowds were horrendous. Visited gardens first which would have been impressive except that most of the borders were unplanted. Women had to wait 30 minutes to use two filthy toilets. Person on duty at front of long long queue for the palace took pity on two old souls and let us jump the queue. Shuffling round with such a large crowd was not pleasant. All the furnishings were covered in a thick layer of dust and all in all a great disappointment. Not worth 25 euros each when we have such wonderful historic buidlings in this country which are far better kept.

Mike and Margaret Nicholls Devon

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank maggy02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to visit... make sure you get down to the Marie Antoinette Estate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2011

Had a great day with my parents at Versailles the other day. Read the reviews on TripAdvisor re long lines and crowds so brought our tickets on line, arrived for 9am... thanks to all the previous reviews these two things allowed a great start to the day.

I would recommend people visit Marie Antoinette Estate while there... I loved it. Thought it had a better feel than the Palace itself. Would also recommend you hire a buggy to get around. Makes for a fun time and allows you to save some time. You can still park it and walk through the gorgeous gardens so you get the best of everything.

We caught the train down and back. Very easy and cheap plus you could work to your own time schedule.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank LPTripalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Versailles is everything you hope for, but the crowds ruin it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

The Chateau is beautiful and majestic. You can't help but want to stare at the ceilings all day long to be able to appreciate every intricate detail the palace has to offer. It is unbelievable. However, we were not able to appreciate it very much due to the lack of organization by the staff and local administration. Before entering the palace we had to wait in line for 2 hours! And we already had tickets - can't even imagine how long those without tickets had to wait. We made the mistake of going around noon and even though it was only 20 degrees it felt like 40 while we waited in the longest line I've ever seen (it beats Disneyland for sure). My recommendation is to go later in the afternoon, closer to last admission when the crowds die out a bit. Early in the day is pointless because of hundreds of buses arriving packed with tourists.

The other problem was inside the palace. Since every room in the state apartments only has one entry and one exit open, thousands of people are ushered in and squeezed into these doors, making it very uncomfortable and stuffy. We even saw paramedics arriving because some people were passing out due to the size of the crowds. It is only made worse by the tours and tour guides. It baffles me why they would allow external tours inside the chateau: they held everything up and made it impossible to walk through the place sometimes. Don't want to make this an England x France thing, but if Versailles learns to run the place a bit more like Windsor Castle visitors will have a better time enjoying the place.

PS: The gardens were hosting the Musical Fountains extraordinarily on a Tuesday, which made garden entrance restricted and might have led more people into the castle.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank safbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OMG the queues for horrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

Travelers beware - we waited 2 hours in the hot sun on cobbled pavement to enter the Chateau. Had we not had a museum pass and had to buy tickets we would have been in a separate long queue for those too. The crowds in the buildings were crushing, queues for the toilets huge and plenty of those that push past you to jump the line. We could not bare the thousands pushing through small doors so made the mistake of exiting to go to the gardens. We had to pay for an extra ticket to the gardens because there was music and water entertainment. Heard the music through the loud speakers but not fountain action at all??????

We are sure that the interior of the Chateau that we missed would be outstanding, however if you are wanting to visit this beautiful palace be prepared!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Dingopups_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chateau de Versailles also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Chateau de Versailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing