We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit on the old side but nice location and friendly staff”
Review of A l'Hotel des Roys

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
A l'Hotel des Roys
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Note much to say here. The hotel looks a bit worn out but clean enough. It's on the main road but the room we had was at the back so was quiet enough. It's located only 2 minute walk from the palace so very conveniet. Staff are very friendly. Worth a stay for one night.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ch0gi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrunoROSE, Gérant at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2011
Google Translation

Bonjour,

Nous vous remercions pour votre avis.
L'hôtel est entièrement rénové mais volontairement décoré en partie dans le style "Versailles".
Nous avons aussi des chambres très modernes comme l'on peut le voir sur le site internet.
Lors de votre prochain passage nous serons ravis de vous en faire découvrir une.

Bon voyage et à bientôt.

La direction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (353)
There are newer reviews for A l'Hotel des Roys
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 143 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2011

It all comes down to what you want....if you want luxury, don't go to des Roys. Despite it's name, it's not for the kings. It is clean and friendly though and the breakfast, albeit a bit pricey at 11€, was nice. The hotel is also just down the road from the palace, so you cannot fault the location.

We had two adjacent rooms, one of which was under headline "new" and hence twice the price. It was newer than the other one, but not exactly luxurious. In fact, the room was a bit confusing: it had Villeroy & Boch bathroom suite, so not exactly cheap, but the rest of the decor didn't seem to follow the same standard.

Our rooms were downstairs, with windows and glass door facing to the inner courtyard, so we felt a little but exposed and could hear whenever someone went to one of the other rooms, but luckily most people seemed to go to bed at similar time with us, so it didn't become an issue.

We only stayed for one night on the way to the south, so a nice clean bed with good breakfast was all we needed. Had we planned our trip slightly differently (our children didn't fancy going to the palace, after all, but wanted to head for the next stop - camping!), we would probably have stayed something less central and less expensive.

The hotel has no dedicated parking, but there is a lot of parking on the Avenue de Paris and it is free in the weekends.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelling_w_kids_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Friendly staff, but the rooms are the size of a walk in closet, bathroom and toilet areas separate and even smaller. We could not get the wireless internet to work for more than 5 minutes at a time. Comfortable bed, though. May be fine to use as a base to explore, as long as you don't plan to spend too much time in the room. Just not a business hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank appletonWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel and found it to be very comfortable. It had a nice big shower and the bed was comfortable. It is about 1/2 km from the Palace of Versailles so you can easily walk there. It has an elevator. It says on Trip Advisor that the hotel has free parking. This is only true in August. There is parking on the street but one has to pay during the other months. Lucky for us we were there in August!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaryQue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Pro: 10 minute walk to the castle, very friendly staff

Con: Room very small and old fashioned, absolutely no luxury,

OK for 1 night

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Versailles hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Le Versailles
Hotel Le Versailles
#3 of 26 in Versailles
501 reviews
1.4 km away
Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
1.7 km away
Novotel Chateau de Versailles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
#9 of 26 in Versailles
882 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Le Louis Versailles Chateau, MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 km away
Mercure Versailles Chateau
Mercure Versailles Chateau
#10 of 26 in Versailles
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A l'Hotel des Roys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A l'Hotel des Roys

Address: 14 avenue de Paris, 78000, Versailles, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Versailles
Price Range: €83 - €172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — A l'Hotel des Roys 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your A l'Hotel des Roys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing