We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent food, no nonsense setup - very very relaxing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Papilles

Les Papilles
Ranked #36 of 16,600 Restaurants in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$141
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Quartier Latin
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent food, no nonsense setup - very very relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Great restaurant - ate here on 11 Feb with party of 6. Set menu - soup, beef casserole/daube, cheese, desert, coffees and great wine, all very reasonable. Very relaxed atmosphere and polite unpretentious staff - will definitely return.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BonViveur1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,250
    338
    77
    30
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
119 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“French Comfort Food at it's BEST!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

We must have dined on the same night as the review form rina_tosa 2 review down as they described out exact meal. I'm still dreaming of that cauliflower soup! They change their menu everyday but the Friday and Saturday night meal is the same. We did make reservations and they were packed.

This was some of the best food we had in Paris. Not for the picky eater though, there is a set menu for the day with no other choices.

I loved being able to choose my wine from the wall. We did get a recommendation and wasn't 100% thrilled with it. It was ok.

I will return on another trip to Paris.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelingtheworld61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fabulous Evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Having brought my fiancee to Paris for her 30th birthday we found ourselves staying a short walk from Les Papilles. They managed to squeeze us in at short notice and I am delighted that they did!

The service was very good, not obtrusive at all. The food (Fixed menu) was delicious and the wine, recommend to us, was delightful. The place was busy, with a lovely atmosphere, and with a mix of French and other nationalities dining there.

We spent just over 100 Euros on a four course meal for two and a superb bottle of wine. I cannot think of anywhere in Paris (or London for that matter) which delivers such superb value for money!!!!

I will certainly be recommending this restaurant to anyone planning a trip to Paris in the near future. A fantastic evening!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“W.O.W”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

What can i say? We had an absolutely amazing dinner!
Small but cosy restaurant, friendly staff.. The menu is fixed, (it changes every day); we could choose the wine by ourself directly from the wall which is full of different bottles, a very wide range of high quality wines!!
As an entry we had coliflower soup: it was served in a very nice way.. we received a dish with some bacon pieces, crusted bread and some cream and we could pour the soup on it directly from a soup tureen which was brought to our table. It was really creamy and tasty, we couldn't ask for a better start!
As a main we had beef stuffed with wine and some vegetables: it was soft and perfectly cooked. Super good!
Then we had a kind of blue cheese (I can't remember the name, but it was similar to Roquefort) which came with plums cream... a very strong and salty kind of cheese but i did appreciate the overall taste of this dish!
And, finally, the dessert.... Awesome! It was a kind of panacotta, creamy and milky, covered by caramel... I could have eaten 10 of those!
Overall evaluation: incredible! Try it, you will not regret it!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rina_Tosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, Uk
Level Contributor
97 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“50th Birthday treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

I booked this place for a friends 50th after reading the reviews on here. All I can say is that it was absolutely superb ! Very friendly staff and the food is out of this world. Beef cheeks ! Amazing ! Believe the reviews, and very reasonable for Paris. Bravo

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Soprano30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Papilles also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Les Papilles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing