We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique decor ”
Review of Maison Souquet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maison Souquet
Ranked #1 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Loved the unique decor of Maison Souquet. History of the place, antiques pieces, painting all coming from very end of the nineteen century make the place very special and very unique in Paris. Our room was awesome as well. Special mention the the staff which make our stay memorable.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Katy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maison-Souquet, Propriétaire at Maison Souquet, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Katy A,

Thanks for sharing your kind words about your stay with the Tripadvisor community.

We are deeply touched by your feeback. It is very important to us to make you feel at home and to provide a perfect guest experience from the moment you pass the door until the moment you leave the hotel.

We are glad to know that you have appreciated so much this unique atmosphere created by the famous designer Jacques Garcia in our property remains the opulence and the luxury of the French Belle Epoque.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in a near future in your new Parisian home.

Kind regards,

Sylviane Sanz,
CEO & Founder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 28 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

This is a very interesting hotel! It was not what I really expected. I like hotels that are different but I was a little surprised that apart from snacks as such there was no restaurant.

Therefore as I was traveling solo it meant I had to go out which I did not really want to do. So instead I had some smoked salmon which I must say was very good.

The hotel appeared to me to be pitched at couples who want privacy and solitude as it is not a lively place.

The decor is French Renaissance in heavy red tones. The staff are just great and breakfast is good.

I probably would not stay there again as a Solo traveller as overall it was a little quiet for my liking.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maison-Souquet, Propriétaire at Maison Souquet, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Stephen T,

We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay at Maison Souquet with the TripAdvisor community.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the unique atmosphere created by the famous designer Jacques Garcia, all is made to remind the opulence and luxury of the French Belle Epoque especially in the trendy South-Pigalle district.

We read your comment very carefully and attached great importance to it. At Maison Souquet, we are always looking for excellence and we would like to offer you our most sincere apologies for failing on this occasion. We truly think that the quality and service of the Maison played an important role in making a stay a memorable one .

Please be assured that we do consider your remarks regarding our delicacies menu.

We hope to have the opportunity to prove to you, during a next visit, the quality of Maison Souquet.

Kind regards,

Sylviane Sanz,
CEO & Founder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

We stayed in Paris for 3 days and two nights and stayed here the whole time because we want to be in the hip Monmartre neighborhood. I have been debating whether to give the place 3 or 4 stars for reasons which I will explain below.

First, the positives:
1. The entry, lounge, and common areas of this hotel are fantastically beautiful. It really does feel as though you are stepping back in time.
2. The staff was impeccably courteous and professional, as you would expect from a 5 star hotel.
3. The room itself is beautifully decorated.
3. There is a private hammam which you can book for and hour at a time and this was really a nice touch.

Now, the negatives:
1. The room was pretty tiny. We stayed in a junior suite and it was probably the tiniest suite we have every stayed in. I understand that this is Paris but I live in New York and I thought it was small for the price point.
2. The room was not particularly sound proof. I am a very light sleeper and the street outside is fairly loud, and there's a strip club right across the street. I used a white noise app which was somewhat effective. I understand that fully sound proofing a building such as this is almost impossible, but it should once again be reflected at the price point.
3. I went down to eat and they wanted about 20 dollars for two eggs. I wound up spending like 35 dollars for two eggs some bread and some coffee. Anyone that thinks that this is a fair price for a hotel (as I saw in other reviews) is drinking some serious cool aid.

As you can see from my negatives, to me it's all a price point issue. When I am paying around 800 dollars a night I expect I perfect day and night experience, I shouldn't have to be using a white noise app and I shouldn't be gawking at the outrageous egg prices. I decided on 4 stars because it is a true boutique experience and the staff was very nice, but honestly I am being generous. I would say at around $4-500 it would be a truly worth while experience.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jemiel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maison-Souquet, Propriétaire at Maison Souquet, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Mr & Mrs Nejim,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor after your recent stay at Maison Souquet

We are delighted to read that you truly enjoyed your Parisian stay with us and that my team took wonderful care of you and that the quality and service of the Hotel played an important role in making it a memorable one despite your deception with the size of the room and our location.
Our decoration, signed by Jacques Garcia, is the biggest part of our guests’ journey to the Belle Epoque, all is made to recreate the codes and the particular atmosphere of old houses of pleasure,

We are very pleased to know that you had relaxing moments in the Salon d’Eau.

Rest assured that we took care of your comments.

We remain you that our prices are the same since the opening of Maison Souquet.

The sizes of our rooms are also clearly described in our website online.

Regarding the breakfast, as mentioned we do propose two options:
- A Continental breakfast at 22 euros inclusive of a hot drink, a fresh juice, a bakery basket, jam, butter and honey.
- An American breakfast at 36 euros inclusive of a continental breakfast accompanied with a fresh fruit salad, a yoghurt, cereals, and two eggs cooked to your liking.

At Maison Souquet, we are always looking for excellence and we would like to offer you our most sincere apologies for failing on this occasion. Thanks again helping us to improve the experience.

We hope to have the opportunity to prove to you, during a next visit, the quality of Maison Souquet.

Kind regards,

Sylviane Sanz
CEO & Founder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

From the moment I had the door opened for me it was absolute bliss from start to finish the suite was exquisite and the staff to match this is in my top 5 hotels of the world I couldn't recommend it anymore

The epitome of fabulous!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maison-Souquet, Propriétaire at Maison Souquet, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Stephen W,

We would like to thank you for sharing your kind words about your recent stay at Maison Souquet with the TripAdvisor community.

We are glad to know that you had a such great time, that your stay with us exceeded your expectation thanks to our team and the unique atmosphere created by the famous designer Jacques Garcia.

We hope to welcome you back in a near future in your new Parisian residence.

Kind regards,

Sylviane Sanz,
CEO & Founder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

A magical place in a location that has changed dramatically since my last visit. I always think of Paris as two separate cities: Montmartre and then pretty much everything else. This hotel's location at the foot of the Montmartre hill, but just edging in to the increasingly cool South Pigalle was ideal as we wanted to try and stick to one area of Paris rather than exhaust ourselves by trying to see and do everything. For a precious one night hotel stay without our children, we wanted perfection and we found it at Maison Souquet. Boutique and bijou, certainly but truly welcoming and amazingly appointed. The staff were courteous and extremely helpful, recommending and arranging restaurants for lunch and dinner. We chose La Mascotte for lunch (like Maison Souquet, expensive but faultless) and Pantruche for dinner (buzzing, interesting food, very good value) - neither of which we would have found otherwise. As for the hotel itself, the room was compact but very comfortable with a neat bathroom and amazing shower with Hermés Orange Verte toiletries - how do you top that? Being able to book the pool and hammam for an hour completely privately is a good idea and we took advantage of it twice. We felt like we were the only guests as the place was so quiet (despite being 100m or so from the Moulin Rouge). Our stay coincided with two days of hot sunshine in the city so we were keen to get out and about. This meant we were unable to sample Maison Souquet's own bar or restaurant, but we would be keen to return in the winter to soak up the cosy ambiance. We paid €300.00 for the stay which seemed quite high before our arrival, but when there is literally nothing to fault, it's the money is easily forgotten (plus, of course it's easy to pay €200 - 250 for very basic, soulless accommodation in major European cities)! Overall, brilliant. ps two things to see in the local area - the beautiful Pigalle basketball court (complete with fully inflated basketball) and the tea garden of the Museum of Romantic life.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JC1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maison-Souquet, Propriétaire at Maison Souquet, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear JC1972,

We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at Maison Souquet with the TripAdvisor community.

We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed the unique atmosphere created by the famous designer Jacques Garcia, all is made to remind the opulence and luxury of the French Belle Epoque especially in the trendy South-Pigalle district. As you said this area has got a special atmosphere, full of pleasant restaurants and bars.

It is very important to us to make you feel at home and to provide a perfect guest experience from the moment you pass the door until the moment you leave the hotel.

We are glad to know that you had a wonderful experience, that our service exceeded your expectations thanks to our team. The front desk team who helped you during stay who will certainly be very thrilled of your comment.

We are really happy that you had great moments enjoying our Salon d'Eau.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you another time shortly at Maison Souquet.

Kind regards,

Sylviane Sanz,
CEO & Founder

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Batignolles-Monceau
XO Hotel
XO Hotel
#5 of 1,804 in Paris
163 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Le Narcisse Blanc Hotel & Spa
Quartier Latin
Hotel Monge
Hotel Monge
#3 of 1,804 in Paris
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Bristol Paris
#6 of 1,804 in Paris
1,689 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Souquet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Souquet

Address: 10 rue de Bruxelles, 75009 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Opera / Bourse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1,804 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: €335 - €1,243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maison Souquet 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only those in the know will experience the luxury of the Maison Souquet, hidden behind an understated facade signaled by two red lanterns. The bawdy, wanton legend of the City of Light was forged in the area around Montmartre, a legend of which the Maison Souquet now forms part. In a building that served as a pleasure house during the Belle Epoque, one of the most lavish and licentious pages in the history of Paris has been brought to life. Jacques Garcia has applied his talent to recreating the mystery, elegance, exoticism, sensuality, and ostentatious luxury of these establishments with their own architectural mores. Carried away from the city on the whimsy of the decor, the mind is free to pursue pleasure amid a fantasy setting conjured through artwork, sofas, causeuses, and divans. Perfectly at home, guests see their room open out onto a plush setting where life revolves around the ritual of tea-time, play, and rendezvous before and after dinner. A temple to hedonism, the Maison Souquet is home to 20 rooms, including six suites with unique interiors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your Maison Souquet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing