We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On second thought”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Convention Montparnasse
Ranked #662 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“On second thought”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

I stayed in this hotel before, but I don't know if I will stay there again. Yes, it is a modern hotel compared with other in this category, the metro is super close and the area is safe. And, yes, the accommodations are good by american standards. But: 1) My single room was microscopic even for parisian standards. 2) The staff is NOT service oriented at all. Except Laurent, the only one who is helpful and agreeable (Hi, Laurent, hope you got the gift I left you). And 3) It is impossible to take a daytime nap; every little noise is amplified by the hotel structure. Tip: If you stay here, go to the nearby Belisaire restaurant. The food is good and the service is great.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alicia_Boricua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    198
    51
    16
    11
See reviews for
77
155
27
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Having done a lot of research I choose this hotel for a 4 day trip. It was perfect .The room was bigger than many 3 star hotels and clean . Plenty of restaurants nearby and good places to have cafe & croissants . No room safe but that was not an issue. Would definitely go back. Staff were very nice and helpful . Could not believe this was a 2star. Recommend it .

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBLonUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

I recently stayed in this hotel while on a business trip. Mr Hossini was working at the front desk.

He was hostile from the very first moment. For example, he assigned me a room on the second floor (directly above the restaurant with the outdoor dinner seating) and when I kindly asked if he had a room on the higher floor he proceeded to yell and shout at me. He was saying that if I want a better room I need to come first thing in the morning (?) . This was not explained in a reasonable manner but in a shouting, aggressive, hostile way which was supposed to make feel like an idiot for even asking but in reality made me want to walk right out of the hotel. If this was not a business trip and my colleagues were not staying here I would have done exactly that.
I came to the reception 10 min later to see if there was a print out for me and saw him just check in another person with the room on the 6 th floor. When I confronted Mr Hossini and and asked if it was true that the hotel was not full and that he just did not want to give me another room he said ' that's right'. He felt compelled to add that he did not like me from the moment that I walked in.

If you decide to stay in this hotel, make sure to be on the 'I like you' list for Mr Hossini or you will be fed up with the stay before you even see your room.

I will certainly not go back here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Boston_Traveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

- rooms are very clean, modern, quite small (like most of the hotels in Paris), bathroom- clean and modern,
- there is a metro next to the hotel, it takes about 20min to get to the eiffel tower or notre dame,
- the surroundings of the hotel is very pleasant, there are some outdoor restaurants next to the hotel, and also a nice patisserie

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marsi_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I stayed here in mid January for a Trade Show at the Porte de Versailles Convention Center. For me this was the perfect location. Whilst the Convention Metro stop is just a few steps from the front door of the hotel, I liked to walk the one stop down the streets to the Convention Center. Otherwise, lets face it, the only bits of Paris you get to see is a bar, the hotel room and the Trade Show. It's about a 10 minute walk and very pleasant it was too.

A number of reviewers have stated that their bedroom was tiny. It's not. Yes, the rooms are small. This is Paris. I've stayed much smaller bedrooms and vividly remember kicking my toe on the bed at one place it was so small. This in comparison was quite roomy.

I didn't eat the breakfast so I can't comment on that. I did grab something from a nearby cafe on both mornings and wandered down to Porte de Versailles enjoying the architecture and munching on a pastry.

- The free WiFi was simple to log onto, fast and it worked.
- The staff were helpful.
- The room was spotless and cleaned to high standards.
- The shower was challenging and sprayed in all sorts of directions but it worked.
- Contemporary decor.
- Reasonably priced for Paris.
- Safe area. I walked back to the hotel on the first night after midnight from Porte de Versailles.

I have put this hotel into my list of places to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Le_Scribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
0.2 km away
Ibis Paris Convention 15eme
Ibis Paris Convention 15eme
#649 of 1,801 in Paris
431 reviews
0.1 km away
Quality Hotel Abaca Messidor Paris
0.6 km away
Hotel de la Paix Paris
Hotel de la Paix Paris
#793 of 1,801 in Paris
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Chouette Hotel
Chouette Hotel
#303 of 1,801 in Paris
311 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Mercure Paris 15 Porte de Versailles
0.4 km away
Hotel Lutece
Hotel Lutece
#1,314 of 1,801 in Paris
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Convention Montparnasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Convention Montparnasse

Property: Hotel Convention Montparnasse
Address: 41 rue Alain Chartier | 15 Arr., 75015 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #662 of 1,801 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Convention Montparnasse 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Convention Montparnasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Convention Montparnasse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing