We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Helvetia
Nearby Hotels
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$377
US$365
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$322
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Le Patio Bastille(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Le 20 Prieure(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$221
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$446
US$434
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Fabric(Paris)
US$246
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$196
US$189
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$632
US$561
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
41
132
115
19
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
132
115
19
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgare de lyonbetween floorsmetro stationfront desk staffparis stayfrench hotelcorner roomstayed here for nightssmall hotelliftcafesseine
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2008

Booked the Helvetia for one night purely because of the location: we had an early train from Gare de Lyon next morning.

The hotel was what we expected - no nasty surprises, just a good 2 star property. Our room was clean and comfortable and the reception staff were pleasant. We did not have breakfast in the hotel - went next door to the little bar for coffee and croissants.

This was our first time staying in the 12th arondissement and we were pleasantly surprised. Plenty of restaurants nearby and a 15 minute stroll will bring you to Bastille. The promenade plantee is also close by.

If ever we need to use Gare de Lyon again we will certainly stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kebabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2008

I spent one night in this hotel. I choose to stay here due to the proximity of the hotel to Gare de Lyon as I had an early morning train to catch. It is just a few steps away from Gare de Lyon and so is very convenient if you have a train to catch. In addition I believe a bus from Charles de Gaulle airport stops at Gare de Lyon. The area around the hotel seemed safe enough although I was only there for one night.

I paid 62 Euros for a single ensuite room. This price didn't include breakfast and thus I felt this was quite expensive for a basic 2 star hotel.

My room was clean but quite small. The bathroom was also quite small and didn't have a door to close it of from the bedroom. The shower head didn't have a bracket or anything to hold it up with and so I had to hold the shower head while showering.

The room didn't suffer from any noise either from outside or inside the hotel which was a plus point.

As mentioned earlier breakfast cost 7 euros. I would not recommend having breakfast in the hotel as it certainly wasn't worth 7 euros. It consisted of coffee, juice, yogurt, a roll, a croissant, and a slice of cheese.

The staff in the hotel were quite friendly.

If you are looking just to get your head down for a night before getting an early train from Gare de Lyon then this hotel is fine but it probably isn't the best for a prolonged stay in Paris.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank alan_ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2007

I recently stayed at the Helvetia Hotel in Paris. It is a basic hotel - staff not all that friendly if you are not French but helpful enough. The big thing was location,location, location. The Gare de Lyon metro station is about 10 steps away so that was a big bonus for me.
The hotel room was clean and with the double glazed windows there is no noise from outside. Beds are really comfortable and the shower was really good. No fridge but that is fine. Second night a group of young people arrived and the noise was unbearable. It was like they were in my room!!!! People were banging on the walls and yelling out - this went on till about 3am. Was going to stay there on my return to Paris but cancelled as the noise in the surrounding rooms was too much for an old girl!!!! There was a nice little brassiere downstairs to have a coffee. If you kept walking away from the station there was a great little bakery and on some days there would be lines of people down the street waiting to buy the goodies of the day.

Stayed: September 2007
2  Thank natasha1cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Ne vous attendez pas à tomber sous le charme
Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews