We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
28
44
37
13
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
44
37
13
26
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2018

My brother booked 3 nights at this hotel through Expedia in November for a stay in January. When he arrived the man on reception told him Expedia had cancelled his reservation, and his options were he could pay twice as much to stay that night in the hotel, and find somewhere else for the other two nights, or they would find another hotel locally for him. My brother opted for them finding another hotel, at the price he originally booked for, which turned out to be a lower standard hotel with a much smaller room, but the staff were friendly.

I'm assuming the hotel overbooked and bumped my brother as he'd booked a low rate. When my brother checked his paperwork it said the money would be taken by the hotel on arrival, which gave them the option to bump him in favour of someone willing to pay more.

When I asked the hotel about it the next day, they said there was a problem with my brother's card and so the reservation had been automatically cancelled. When I asked why they didn't try to verify the card details with my brother, I got an innocent "didn't he get an email?" Well, no, he didn't. And the paperwork only has the last four numbers of the card, so no way of refuting the claim of a mistake in the number.

It might have been an unfortunate one-off, except that while I was in the reception asking what happened with my brother's booking, there was another man in the lobby on the phone to someone (a booking service?) complaining that his reservation had been cancelled and he was being asked to pay double for the room, and that it was a scam to draw people in with cheap rates and then try to charge them more on arrival.

And the receptionist also seemed to be placating someone on the phone who was complaining about a cancelled reservation.

For comparison, I'd booked the same hotel using their website, paying a higher rate then my brother as I was booking later and there were no cheap booking service deals, and my stay was absolutely fine. I had a quiet room at the back. No issues.

Room tip: Back room was quiet
Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Siob47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Small old dusty rooms. We stayed 4 nights. The first room had broken plumbing and broken lock on the door. The second room smelled of smoke, had broken showerdoor and cracked dirty handsink. We were promised a better room for the next day, but were then told I had "missunderstod". That room was booked (?). Do not book this hotel!
Stay next door at The Mistral insted!! (It looked a lot better..).

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tessis69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

We happened to be passing through Paris during a busy week with lots of conventions in town, and this was the only place even remotely within our price range that night. Unfortunately, we were also there during one of the many heat waves to hit France this summer. The hotel has no air conditioning and no fans, so it was miserably hot.

As a basic room for a night, it should be fine in cooler weather, and the front desk staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Just beware the canicule!

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Philotes1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017 via mobile

Difficult to find as Montparnasse station is closed due to works being carried out.
Friendly, helpful staff.
Unfortunately the room is far too small, the bed is even worse, I'm a UK size 10 female and I could not turn in the bed for fear I would fall out, it literally is tiny, there should be some sort of standard on the sizes available as this is beyond ridiculous.
First floor is far too noisy, fell asleep but have been abruptly woken up a few times by noise in the building.
Bathroom lovely, towels, soap and shower cap provided.
Exhausted and just want to sleep!

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank PurpleAngelLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cyrill934, Gérant at Hotel Agenor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017
Google Translation

Nous vous remercions d'avoir choisi notre établissement pour votre séjour à paris
d'abord si la station de métro Montparnasse était fermée pour travaux cela n'est vraiment
pas de notre faute pour nous le reprocher surtout que la station la plus proche est gaite.
le plus petit de nos lit fait 140cm donc je ne comprend pas comment vous aviez eu peur de tomber.nous essayons de faire de notre mieux pour satisfaire nos clients et de faire en sorte qu'ils soit satisfait et vous le dite bien mais dans ce cas ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

Good location on a quiet street and the metro is just next door to visit the other neighborhoods.Hotel located 5min from Montparnasse train station and Montparnasse Tower 2min you have plenty of restaurant, theater and cinema.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews