We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel with some negative points”
Review of Hotel du Brabant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Brabant
Ranked #1,703 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Reviewed 1 November 2016

There are some negative aspects of this Hotel which should not be ignored but overall the Hotel is fine.
The problem arises with the access to the rooms. The Hotel is the conversion of a narrow six storey building and consequently the staircase is steep. There is a lift which starts at floor ground and a half and goes to floor four and a half. You step out of the lift on to a curving step which is not full size and you are faced with a flight of stairs to your room. If you are on the sixth floor then you have one and a half flights of stairs to your room and the top flight is steep and open. You should therefore be fit enough to manage stairs with luggage. The lift is large enough for one person and a suite case. I am 72 years of age and had no problem in using the full staircase and rarely used the lift to reach my room on the sixth floor. The Rooms also have thin walls so you can clearly hear your neighbours.

On the positive side, the Hotel is situated in a side street within a few minutes walk of the Gare du Nord so is ideal for anyone arriving by rail. One review I have read states that there were drug ushers and other undesirables in the street but I do not know where this reviewer was looking because the street was a typical Parisian side street with a selection of Hotels, shops, restaurants, offices and residential accommodation. The room was clean with small but very adequate en-suite facilities and the towels were changed daily. Breakfast was included in the cost of the accommodation and was the usual French Breakfast consisting of a roll, croissants and unlimited supply of coffee or tea.

The Hotel staff are friendly and welcoming.

I have read comments about dog fur on the seats but cannot understand this since the seats are single seats and the dog the size of an Alsatian so it would be impossible for the dog to lay in the seats. The dog spent most of its time asleep laying on the tiled floor of the breakfast area or in reception. It posed no problem and was more hygienic than having a cat which tends to walk over surfaces where food is being prepared.

Overall, I would be very happy to stay in this Hotel again but I would recommend that any one with mobility problems should look elsewhere because of the access limitations.

Room Tip: I was on the sixth floor with a small balcony Thoroughly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

I read the reviews before coming to stay here. But i found out its not that bad.
The thing i like most is the friendly staff. Nima is her name. She works at the counter from 9am-5pm. She speaks very good english and gave direction and good at answering our questions.
She explained that the old paris building were not designed to equip lifts they had to fit a small one in between floors.
Our room was small but i still felt comfortable and slept well. Since we were out the whole day.
Our booking online include breakfast, which is only croissant and bread.

Great location to 3 main train station.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Pegster88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Our rooms were basic and clean , location was fine, no more no less than a 2 star hotel, fresh croissants for breakfast. Got exactly what I paid for.
Hotel is in an up and coming area , plenty new cafes etc in the surrounding streets. Close to 3 metro stations

Room Tip: rooms 24 and 25 were basic and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank euanmchardy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

We have stayed at the Hotel du Brabant on a few occasions over the last five years. We keep returning because it's so close to the Gare du Nord, it's a very reasonable price for Paris and you can walk just about anywhere from there.
We know that the lift is small and only goes from the first floor, we know we will invariably have to ask for another towel, but it's clean and warm when it needs to be warm.
The staff are friendly and the dog Joker is a great guard dog, though he is getting old too.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

This run-down Hotel!!!!! is located in a bad neighborhood which is full of mules, addicts, drunk people and criminals. It is close to Metro Station but it isn't worth it.
There is no reception area as u expect it, no breakfast area. you have to drag your luggage half a floor to get to a ridiculously small elevator which takes years to come to you. Hotel rooms are old, noisy, dump, dirty and small. Walls are so thin you can almost see the other side!!!!
Bathrooms are a joke, small, dirty and broken..I am sure any guest with slightly larger body of a medium size man (like me) won't be able to use them.
In addition to all, the rate is sooo high. We paid 100 Euro for one night stay in a room that you can see in my photos. Now you decide!!!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AMJAVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Château d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Jarry Hotel
Jarry Hotel
#1,600 of 1,809 in Paris
355 reviews
Hotel de la Terrasse
#1,589 of 1,809 in Paris
188 reviews
Château d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Grand Hotel de Paris
Grand Hotel de Paris
#1,623 of 1,809 in Paris
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Château d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Hotel Liberty
Hotel Liberty
#1,559 of 1,809 in Paris
286 reviews
Entrepôt
Hotel Cambrai a Paris
Hotel Cambrai a Paris
#1,588 of 1,809 in Paris
263 reviews
Château d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
Libertel Gare du Nord Suede
#397 of 1,809 in Paris
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Brabant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Brabant

Address: 18 rue des Petits Hotels, 75010 Paris, France
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Chateau d'Eau / Gare du Nord
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,703 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Price Range: €56 - €104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Brabant 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Brabant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Brabant Hotel
Du Brabant Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing