We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Standard Design

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Standard Design
Ranked #510 of 1,795 Hotels in Paris
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    265
    89
    28
    18
See reviews for
73
252
59
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
228 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I stayed in the hotel for one night and found it very pleasant. I felt very welcome at the reception. The rooms are not large but they are well furbished, and the decoration is modern and design. They are very clean and comfortable.
I would recommend you to book a room like the 209, which is not oriented on the main street: it is then very quiet.

Room Tip: If you prefer a quiet room, mention it at the reception because those rooms oriented on the main str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Florian020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flopyk, Manager at Hotel Standard Design, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about our services.

Your satisfaction is important for us and your comments are very helpful to improve our services.

We hope to have the pleasure pf welcoming you back to our hotel in a soon future.

Best regards,
Florence Pons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

When we arrived at the hotel we thought we had somehow managed to book the perfect hotel! The location is excellent, surrounded by bars, lovely restaurants and clubs, and a stones throw from the Bastille Metro stop.

But unfortunately is was pretty much all down hill from there. The reception staff were quite rude and unaccommodating throughout our stay, and judging from photos of other visitors rooms it looks as if we drew the short straw, as our room was TINY! It could hardly fit the queen sized bed in, with no more than 10cm between the bed and the wall on either size of the bed.

The room was a real let down, with paint peeling from the walls, dints in the walls and doors, and there were dirty marks all around.

Our 'view' was of the fire escape. Which was a bit of a let down to say the least.

Can't stress enough how much I would urge couples to avoid this hotel!! We travelled as two girls on a girly weekend so having a bit of a rubbish room didn't really affect us, however if I had have stayed with my boyfriend I would have been sorely disappointed.

Room Tip: Make sure you double check you haven't got the tiny room like we did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GirlsWeekend1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flopyk, Manager at Hotel Standard Design, responded to this review, 13 February 2012
Dear Guests,

You do were unlucky and we sincerely apologize for it. We were probably fully booked otherwise you should have had a bigger room. Concerning the bad condition of the room, we have suffered a small water damage in one of our room. Now, this room is like new but I guess it's a little comfort to you .
Concerning the behavior of the staff , we will check and ask for an explanation because if unfortunately, we were not able to do anything for the room, you have to expect the right to have all the reception staff's support.
If we have the chance to accomodate you again ..., we will do our best to make you forget this first bad experience.
Best regards,
Florence Pons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Having read lots of reviews saying rooms in Paris are on the small side I was pleasantly surprised by our 3rd floor room here. Compact but well designed and nice clean black and white decor. There's three things I think hotels should try to get right,... a good shower, comfy bed and good thick curtains. All three were great here, lots of room in the shower, big bed and the curtains blocked out the light. We booked well in advance and I think we got great value for money.

It's easy to find from Bastille Metro, probably 10 minutes walk at the most, The area might not be everyones taste as it felt more residential and alternative than touristy which suited us down to the ground. As it was freezing we stayed around the Bastille area at night and there was plenty of choice for bars / cafes.

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, but there's a lovely patisserie just off the street on the way back to Bastille metro and they have a few tables and bar stools so you can sit in with your goodies. The cafe on the corner has a great atmosphere and does great value tasty meals.

There's a church at the end of the road so if you are a very light sleeper you might want to take earplugs but if definitely shouldn't detract from your stay. I'd whole heartedly recomend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gfletcher100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flopyk, Manager at Hotel Standard Design, responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Dear Guests,

We can see you have spent nice time in Paris and we feel glad for it. Thanks for your wonderful comment. We look forward to see you again in Standard !!
Best regards,
Florence Pons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

My partner and I have stayed in Paris a few times, always on a budget and this is by far the best hotel we've stayed in. Very clean. Good size room, excellent spacious bathroom and lovely help yourself buffet breakfast. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jillian21W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flopyk, Manager at Hotel Standard Design, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your experience in Standard Design Hotel. Your satisfaction is always very important for us.
We look forward to welcome you at the time of a next stay in Paris.
Yours sincerely,
Florence Pons
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Touraine Opera
Hotel Touraine Opera
#819 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel L'Antoine
Hotel L'Antoine
#101 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Passy
Melia Paris Champs Elysees
Melia Paris Champs Elysees
#371 of 1,795 in Paris
4.0 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Palm - Astotel
Hotel Palm - Astotel
#103 of 1,795 in Paris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Campanile Paris 11 - Bastille
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Standard Design? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Standard Design

Property: Hotel Standard Design
Address: 29 rue des Taillandiers, 75011 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Bastille / Oberkampf , République
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#160 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#640 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Standard Design 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Standard Design reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Standard Design Paris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing