We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Waldorf Montparnasse(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Monceau Wagram Hotel(Paris)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$122
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Eiffel Capitol(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Mansart(Paris)
US$191
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$214
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Berne Opera(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Royal Saint Germain(Paris)(Great Value!)
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$354
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,381)
Filter reviews
1,381 results
Traveller rating
585
619
132
30
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
585
619
132
30
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslatin quarternotre dameluxembourg gardensapple macgreat locationluxembourg stationrooms are smallaround the cornerrer bquiet streetsuperior roomwatch tvinternet accesscrepesquiet at nightcdg airportminute walk
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 1,381 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2017

We left booking the room until the day of arrival via Euro-star, and there was limited choice by then, one of which was the Design Sorbonne, they had the small basic room on show via Booking.com, when we got there they also had another deluxe room for more Euro's of course. After inspecting the two rooms on offer, we felt the extra price asked for the larger room was not worth paying as it barely much bigger and they wanted 40-50 Euros for the 2 nights we were staying there. So we went for the smaller room, 5th floor room 51. Adequate room....just, you could get around the bed, but that was it, The shower room was tiny, when sitting on the loo, my shoulder was up against the sink and the shower was so small I could hardly squeeze into it. But it worked and we survived! The TV was also the computer, so you had internet access if you wanted it. The WiFi code everyday at noon, and to be fair was poor, the signal kept dropping out due to being overloaded i think. service was slow and I could not use my Ipad at times so I hot spotted off my phone and it was quicker.
The TV had lots of Euro channels with 1 English channel.... CNN. so after 1/2 hour I was bored to death of the same rotating news. This was poor service after just being in the states recently where even the cheapest Motel had 100+ satellite stations and even the BBC. So this irritated me more than the small room. Being so small, there was no fridge, so drinks were out on the window sill to keep cool. 1 free small bottle of water for the 2 days.
Breakfast was extra but discounted if we paid up front, and to be fair it was OK, hot pancakes pre-made by the kitchen server or cook your own eggs on a griddle. nice croissants and bread and some slices of salami and ham, plus cereals.
The lift in the hotel was the size of two people, and noisy too, so if you had a room by the lift, I would not be happy.
There were only 1 spare sockets each side for chargers by the bedside, nothing else in the room,
Location was great, in the Sorbonne area and the Left side of the Seine, there were lots of cafes and restaurants nearby to eat at. Very close to Luxembourg Gardens and Metro train station (Blue Line B) which runs from Charles DE Gaulle airport thru Gare De Nord and on to the south of Paris, as it has less stops it moves across town quicker too.
One night we went out locally to a Southern specialty restaurant and had a fantastic meal La Petite Périgourdine on 39 Rue des Écoles, 75005 Paris, France.
There are better rooms to stay in at the hotel, and depending on when you book the rate will be better, we paid 371 euros for 2 nights so it was not cheap but about normal for Paris. For the best deal call the hotel direct as they will do deals.
Will we stay there again..... maybe, but they have to do better with the TV stations and provide fridges and a kettle/cups for tea making. Personally I think I can do better than this place and get bigger rooms for a better price elsewhere, not sure my wife is convinced though!
The bed was hard and uncomfortable, both me and the wife suffered and kept turning to ease back pain.

Room Tip: top floor rooms in attic have best rooms and views.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bikerboysimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesignSorbonne, Responsable réception at Hotel Design Sorbonne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear bikerboysimon,

Thanks a lot for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We have taken note of your remarks and appreciated your positive feedback, it is thanks to comments like yours that we can improve our services.

It is true that location is perfect to discover the city: we are just a short walk away from many of the main sights, such as the Pantheon, the Luxembourg Gardens, Notre Dame and many others.

We apologize if you have encountered some troubles with Wifi connection and if you have found the bed uncomfortable: please note that our front desk is open 24/7 and our team ready to assist you with any request you may have had, even if we had needed to change your room.

You’re correct in saying that there is no fridges in our rooms, but we are able to stock small items in our kitchen fridge on the ground floor (ice cubes are available upon request too). Regarding the kettle, we can provide a tea and coffee courtesy tray upon demand at the reception.

For your next stay, do not hesitate to contact us directly or book on our website: you’ll get the best guaranteed rate as well as a welcome drink and we’ll be happy to assist you find the category that will suit you best!

Best regards,
Carlotta Pietrini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Great smaller boutique hotel, excellent location, staff most warm and welcoming eager and enthusiastic to assist.
Rooms very comfortable, nicely equipped, tastefully furnished. All round great place to stay and rest.
Hotel less than five minutes walk (with case) to Luxembourg station (RER Line B to / from CDG and Orly airports), five minutes in opposite direction is nearest Metro station (Cluny la Sorbonne). Less than ten minutes easy stroll will see you on the doorstep of a whole plethora of restaurants, bars to breakfast, coffee, wine and dine or just have a glass of wine and people watch; catering for every taste (my Lady vegetarian - not a problem).'Almost perfect hotel' if you want to be staying in the lap of luxury - this hotel is not for you; however, if you want to stay in very comfortable surroundings, very well located, easy reach of centre, staffed by warm, welcoming, attentive, enthusiastic people quick with a smile - based on our experience - Hotel Design Sorbonne is for you.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesignSorbonne, Responsable réception at Hotel Design Sorbonne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear David N,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your lovely comments! We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are really thrilled to read your compliments about our staff: our first goal is to get our guests enjoy the most pleasant stay!

It is true that our hotel is very easily accessible from the airports (CDG as well Orly), with the train RER B. Moreover, our location is perfect to discover the city: we are just a short walk away from many of the main sights: the Pantheon, the Luxembourg Gardens, Notre Dame and many others.

We hope to welcome you again very soon. Feel free to contact us directly for any future bookings: you will always get the best rates and a free welcome drink upon your arrival!

Best regards,
Carlotta Pietrini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

We loved the small boutique hotel which has a great location. Everything is really small, the rooms, elevators and staircase, but it was worth being in such a great location! Walking distance to transit, Pantheon, Notre Dame and the gardens of Luxembourg(don't miss this beautiful park!)

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Esther S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesignSorbonne, Responsable réception at Hotel Design Sorbonne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Esther S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in the Hotel Design Sorbonne!
We are really happy to read that you appreciated our great location in the heart of the city!

For your next stay (hopefully very soon!), feel free to contact us directly or visit our website to get the best rates guaranteed and a free welcome drink and to find all the different room categories: we have Design Classic rooms with a shower, larger Design Superior rooms, Design Deluxe rooms with a bathtub and a couple of exceptional top floor rooms with amazing views.

Perhaps you’ll be back during the springtime so that you can rediscover nearby places such as the Luxembourg Gardens, during the flowering season!

Best regards,
Carlotta PIETRINI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

This is a lovely, boutique urban hotel with a few minutes of walking distance of Jardin du Luxembourg with great local brasseries accessible on the main road by walking for great brunches. Ideal for those looking for a short break in Paris and yet not be in the hustle amd bustle of the city while accessing all central points within 20 minutes by metro. Rooms maybe small but well designed and the staff are always available. Rates are affordable via Trip Advisor or directly sometime. Bonne Parising.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Renevatio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesignSorbonne, Responsable réception at Hotel Design Sorbonne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Renevatio,

First of all, we would like to thank you a lot for taking the time to share your experience. The entire team thanks you for your positive comments: we are always happy to advise and help guests throughout their stay.

As you mention, we are located in the heart of Paris with great restaurants and cafés, and just a short walk away from the main sights.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back very soon, maybe before the end of the exhibition dedicated to the famous artist Gauguin: “Gauguin: Artist as Alchemist”, that runs until January 22nd at the Grand Palais?
Feel free to contact us directly or visit our website to make sure you get the best rate guaranteed.

Best regards,
Carlotta Pietrini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

Small rooms, helpful staff, safe and great location.

I'm a big guy so taking a shower was hard, however our room was on the top floor and our windows fully opened overlooking the university and other buildings in the distance.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PernaLonga150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesignSorbonne, Responsable réception at Hotel Design Sorbonne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017


Dear PernaLonga150,

Thank you very much for you time and your comment! It is great to read that you spent a nice time with us and we really appreciate your feedback about our team.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the great location of our hotel: we're situated in the heart of Latin Quarter, with restaurants and cafés, and just a short walk away from the main sights.

For your next stay (hopefully very soon!), feel free to contact us directly so we can help you choose the best room for your needs, as the Deluxe room is so nice with a larger space, Queen size bed and a lovely bathtub to relax after a long walk in our beautiful Paris!

Best regards,
Carlotta PIETRINI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews