We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Ranked #282 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2017

This was my second time staying at this hotel. I had encountered some problems the first time, but I'm happy to say that everything was good this time. The rooms are small, which is typical in Paris, but comfortable and clean. The location is great, on a quiet street, close to many of the places you might want to visit, and close to Metro stops which makes it very convenient. The staff are all really pleasant and very helpful. My 3 days there were very pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Happytraveller0319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesignSorbonne, Responsable réception at Hotel Design Sorbonne, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Happytraveller0319,

First of all we would like to thank you for sharing your experience. It was a pleasure to have you again with us and the entire team is thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay! We would like to thank you so much for having given us a second chance!

We appreciate your feedback about our team and we are really happy to read that you enjoyed the location of our hotel.

There’s an old proverb in French that says “never two without three”: so we all look forward to welcoming you for a third stay with us! For your next stay, do not hesitate to book directly on our web site to get best guaranteed rate and a free welcome drink upon your arrival!

Best regards,
Carlotta PIETRINI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2017

This hotel was in a quiet street directly opposite the Sorbonne University, and walking distance from the Louvre, the Musee D'Orsay, Notre Dame, the Shakespeare and Co Bookshop and, if you are a good walker (eg 1-2 hours), the Eiffel Tower, Arc de Triomphe, and Montmartre as well. There are Metro stops within five minutes' walk as well, which made Versailles very accessible. The staff were pleasant and helpful. I only had breakfast there once as I didn't get an inclusive package, but they did do a deal where they knocked off four euro. It wasn't the greatest spread I ever saw - a few small mason jars of cereal, pastries and pancakes, but I found plenty of places nearby for breakfast instead. The indoor courtyard was sometimes noisy, and the room itself very compact, but the shower was amazing and the cleanliness was perfect. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Offwhitetower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesignSorbonne, Responsable réception at Hotel Design Sorbonne, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Offwhitetower,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. It is great to read that you spent a nice time with us and we really appreciate your feedback about our team!

It is true that the location of our hotel is perfect to easily discover the city. We are just a short walk away from many of the main sights: Notre Dame, the Pantheon, the Luxembourg Gardens and many others.

We have taken note of your remarks: it is thanks to comments like yours that we can improve our services.
Concerning our breakfast, we propose a various delicious buffet with homemade and local products at 14€ per person, per day. As alternative, we do offer a very convenient take away breakfast at 6€ which is probably better and cheaper than the nearby alternatives. Just in case, we invite you to check the special offers on our own website, some of which include breakfast!

We hope to welcome you back very soon! Do not hesitate to contact us directly for your next stay: you will have the best guaranteed rate as well as a welcome drink at your arrival.

Best regards,
Carlotta PIETRINI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Had a nice stay @ this hotel for a daytrip Paris. Hotel is perfectly located @Pantheon and the Gardin the Luxembourg. Receptiondesk personel was very friendly. Room was not to big but nicely decorated and clean, Bed was nice!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DeToerist1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesignSorbonne, Responsable réception at Hotel Design Sorbonne, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear DeToerist1982,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our Hotel Design Sorbonne!

It is true that we are ideally located on the Left bank of Paris, just in between all the beautiful locations you will like to visit, such as Notre Dame Cathedral, Luxembourg Garden and the Pantheon! Our team is always happy to help and give touristic advices to our guests.

For your next visit, do not hesitate to contact us directly to make sure to get the best rates and your welcome drink!
Maybe you would like to return in Paris to visit the exhibition “Christian Dior, Designer of Dreams” at the Museum of Decorative Arts, that runs until 7th January 2018.

Best regards,
Carlotta PIETRINI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

This is my fourth or fifth time staying at Hotel Design Sorbonne and it's still as good as the first time. Staff is very friendly, hotel is a small quaint boutique hotel right off the Place de la Sorbonne, which is extremely convenient when you are a visiting researcher.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DesignSorbonne, Responsable réception at Hotel Design Sorbonne, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Christopher M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience. It was a pleasure to welcome you once again!

We are really happy to read that you appreciated our great location in the heart of the city, to easily discover the best attractions that Paris has to offer!

Our entire team looks forward to greeting and assisting you again for your next stay. Feel free to contact us or book directly on our website to get the best rates and an offered welcome drink!

Best regards,
Carlotta PIETRINI

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

Over the last year we have stayed in Paris three times and in three different hotels; all of them roughly in the same area. Our last hotel was the Sorbonne. Given the name I expected it to be near to the university but I did not expect it to be diagonally opposite the main entrance. A lovely location and area, lively, cool and sophisticated. The hotel is elegant and the staff very welcoming and accommodating. Highly, highly recommended.
Over the last few months I have been revising my long rusty and mostly forgotten Russian. As parts of the building that house the hotel are also used by the university I am thinking of dropping into conversations, “When I was reading Russian at the Sorbonne...”

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank absalomLucca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro S, Directeur général at Hotel Design Sorbonne, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear AbsalomLucca,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review about our Hotel! We are very glad to read that your experience with us was enjoyable, as we do our best to do so!

It is true that we are very well located, just between the most beautiful places in Paris. The Sorbonne University, the Pantheon, Luxembourg Garden and the Seine! We regret that you did not teached us a few words in Russian, as it is a language that none of us is familiar with :) , but it is the occasion for you to come back for your next stay in beautiful Paris, so feel free to ask us about it directly and we will be happy to give you the best rates and Welcome drinks!

Best regards,
Pedro SANTIAGO UGARTE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#449 of 1,805 in Paris
601 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#73 of 1,805 in Paris
1,213 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#252 of 1,805 in Paris
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#182 of 1,805 in Paris
973 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
#617 of 1,805 in Paris
536 reviews
Quartier Latin
Select Hotel
Select Hotel
#267 of 1,805 in Paris
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Design Sorbonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Design Sorbonne

Address: 6 rue Victor Cousin | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#250 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#255 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: €104 - €213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Design Sorbonne 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bigger brighter lobby, all-new designer rooms, new sound system, new breakfast area, new photo exhibition on every floor, unlimited free internet access, a freshly-cleaned fa??ade... you'll be amazed and delighted by the new Hotel Sorbonne! Total comfort, refreshing style and attention to detail; all our rooms have been fully renovated with daring designer fabrics, sumptuous wallpaper, completely new bathrooms and your own iMac for surfing the web, watching a DVD or checking your e-mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Design Sorbonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design De La Sorbonne Hotel
Hotel De La Sorbonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing