We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent small hotel but challenging bathroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Ranked #274 of 1,809 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2012

All of the previous reviews commenting on the great location ,transport links good choice of restaurants within a 5 minute walk are totally accurate .Also (unlike a lot of hotels in Paris ) the reception desk were very helpful and were willing to phone restaurants and make reservations for us .
We expected the room to be small and it was .We were on the second floor and overlooked the courtyard -with the window open at night we found it quite noisy,I don't know if the building on the other side of the courtyard is a residence for Insead but we were woken by a very loud argument from a room on the other side of the courtyard (obviously nothing the Hotel can do about that ).
However the challenge was the bathroom which was beyond tiny .I reckon it was 4 feet from the back of the sink to the back wall .The sink was tiny with a shelf cunningly positioned so that every time I bent down I banged my head .The shower was the most entertaining feature -it was so small that twice i bumped in to the tap ,Once switching it off and the other turning the water to hot ! I know its all rather trivial but having paid for a superior room i expected something with room to swing a very small cat .I even asked reception if we had been given a standard room by mistake.
Hint-avoid room 27

Room Tip: Check the size of the room before you unpack
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

494 - 498 of 1,348 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here end July 2012 for a city break. 5 mins from Luxembourg station and jardin du Luxembourg which is lovely

we had a double room on the ground floor looking into courtyard - lovely decor, free wifi and new mac TV, ok hairdryer, basic toiletries, the room is quite dark, very clean. Bathroom is relatively small but good shower and again very clean.

staff very friendly, they let us leave our bags there pre check in and post check out, there is a breakfast room but we didnt sample!

would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rolly12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Chose this hotel for the location and because of the photos and wasn't disappointed on either. Was easy walking to Notre Dame and even walked to The Lourve and Catacombs as well. Lots of nice places to eat in the area, especially enjoyed breakfest at Crepes a Gogo on the nearby Rue de Soufflot. As mentioned in all other reviews the rooms are tiny, and getting in and out of the shower and bathroom is a technical procedure of opening doors the right way. The staff was very friendly and helpful, asked to stay another night and got it at the discounted rate ($157), would definitely not pay the 'full price' rates they advertise on the website. Had no problems with the internet, only thing is that they do change the password regularly, around 5pm so if it stops working then this is probably the issue! All up very happy with the accommodation, just wish we could've stayed longer!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

this hotel is brilliant.

i loved the location. all within very easy walking distance - Notre Dame, the latin quarter (which is worth a whole weekend on it's own), the place de la sorbonne (some nice little cafes for a glass of wine and a people watch), plenty of shops, cafes, beautiful buildings, gardens, and easy access to the main tourist destinations.

we actually walked from here to the musee d'orsay (free as it was the first of the month), then on to the Invalides, via the Institut de france, and la tour. we didn't queue to go up the tower though as only one elevator was working, and it was a 6 (yes six) hour wait!

anyway the point is, from here, you can easily walk to most places! (the batobus was great too and stops only minutes from the hotel).

as with all Paris hotels the room isn't enormous, though it was big enough for two and was well equipped.

i was happy with the free wifi (saved on data roaming!), and the internet, though we couldn't seem to manage to connect our ipods, which was disappointing, but not a real problem.

the room was reasonably well equipped, and very clean, though more towels and maybe tea/coffee making would have been nice.

Staff at the hotel were helpful, and polite, spoke English, and didn't treat me like an idiot when I tried my risty A level French (unlike the taxi driver and a few waiters we encountered!).

I really did enjoy my stay here, it was wonderful, and I'm definitely planning another visit soon. a weekend is NOT enough time to spend in Paris, I think I need to move there for months to fit it all in, and then I don't think it will be enough!

the only negative is the breakfast, just not enough variety I'm afraid, especially for the price. better to go out! if not to the cafes in the square, there's a starbucks about 2 minutes walk away.

oh and don't be scared of the metro, it's brilliant. and the double decker trains on the RER are fab!

Room Tip: beware of the very very tiny lift. only just managed to fit 2 girls and cabin bags in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vixentim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

For my second trip to Paris I chose this hotel as I wanted to be within walking distance to the Notre Dame and the lovely little streets behind it. The location didn't disappoint. There is a lovely square by the hotel - place de la Sorbonne with convenient restaurants / cafes for coffee, breakfast or a quick bite. The hotel is very boutique, nicely decorated and bijou. The staff are excellent, they will help and advise on anything which you need to know. The young gentleman was great at assisting with our planning for a desired Jazz-based night out. There are lots of windy streets nearby which are okay for a cheap meal or souvenirs but do feel a little like Turkey rather than Paris! Convenient to have them near though and you can bypass them if desired. My main tip for Paris is not to plan too much, if you're on an itinery and always hiding behind a map you will miss the wonderful surprises which this City has to offer. Let the day take you rather than trying to control it and you will have a much more pleasant and special stay! Would I recommend or stay here again? Yes, if it fits your budget and location desires, go for it! Xx

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLM85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Quartier Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
#395 of 1,809 in Paris
1,201 reviews
Quartier Latin
Select Hotel
Select Hotel
#273 of 1,809 in Paris
1,206 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Cujas Pantheon
Hotel Cujas Pantheon
#710 of 1,809 in Paris
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#167 of 1,809 in Paris
980 reviews
Quartier Latin
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
Grand Hotel Saint-Michel
#183 of 1,809 in Paris
1,057 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#130 of 1,809 in Paris
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Design Sorbonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Design Sorbonne

Address: 6 rue Victor Cousin | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#250 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#255 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: €112 - €199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Design Sorbonne 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bigger brighter lobby, all-new designer rooms, new sound system, new breakfast area, new photo exhibition on every floor, unlimited free internet access, a freshly-cleaned fa??ade... you'll be amazed and delighted by the new Hotel Sorbonne! Total comfort, refreshing style and attention to detail; all our rooms have been fully renovated with daring designer fabrics, sumptuous wallpaper, completely new bathrooms and your own iMac for surfing the web, watching a DVD or checking your e-mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Design Sorbonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design De La Sorbonne Hotel
Hotel De La Sorbonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing