We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Ranked #282 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Second stay at this very nice hotel. Service is so good and friendly. Breakfast is also very nice. The design, all over the hotel is simply beautiful. Great location in a nice neighbourhood with easy access to most turist-places. Will surely be back...

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellingchef_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

516 - 520 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2012

Overall: Value for money. Pretty little hotel in a good location. A/c was broken during my stay.

Location: This hotel was situated right next to University of Paris and Sorbonne University. The neighbourhood is very nice and lively...and safe. Most importantly, it's a few minutes walk from RER B Luxembourg, the line that will take you to CDG airport in 30 minutes without any transfer. I travelled with 2 big luggage so transfer is really a nightmare.

Room: My room type is Deluxe Sorbonned. The decoration is pretty but a bit too dark at night. The only bad thing was a/c was broken on the night I arrived and that day was quite a hot day. Frontdesk staff said he can't do anything about it and suggested me to open the window. Unfortunately, my room was on 1st floor so it was very noisy even when the window was closed. I asked to change the room but the staff told me that all roooms were fully booked.

Service: The hotel staff was very responsive to my inquiry email about the room and offered an upgrade with attractive extra cost. However, once I decided to upgrade, they didn't reply my email asking about neighbourhood safety at night. Breakfast was good but there was only one staff servicing the whold dining room so guests had to cooked eggs and pancakes by themselves. Everything was delicious though.

Room Tip: Ask for room on a high floor before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kulanuj N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This is a very nice modern hotel. It appears to have been recently renovated, and it still feels very new. I stayed in a room on the 4th floor, overlooking the interior courtyard. The location is fantastic – close to the Sorbonne, the Luxembourg Gardens, the Musee Cluny, and just a short walk to the Seine and Notre Dame. There were a number of restaurants and bars nearby. It is also just a few blocks from 2 or 3 Starbucks.

The staff was very professional. They sent an iron and ironing board promptly to my room on request, and they booked a taxi for me for a very early ride to the airport. The room was a bit small, and the bathroom was even smaller, but I believe that this size is typical in Paris. I did not try the breakfast.

Pros:
- Rooms are very clean and tastefully decorated
- Great location near interesting sites as well as good restaurants
- WiFi generally worked well and seemed fast most of the time
- TV was provided via iMac, with a number of channels, including some in English
- Bed was comfortable
- Staff was very friendly and very helpful

Cons:
- Internet connection via iMac seemed slow (but I only tried it once or twice, as I mostly used my laptop and the hotel WiFi)


Overall this is a great hotel in a nice area, and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I recommend a room on an upper floor, as the hotel has a small elevator that was reasonably fast. M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dt_world_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed here for four nights and were very pleased with the hotel. The rooms are very nicely finished and clean. Staff were fantastic and friendly, we could not fault them. We loved the fact that each room had a computer with free WiFi - a very nice unique feature. Our only criticism is that the rooms are very small (but not unusually so by Parisian standards) however we would definitely recommend the Hotel Design de la Sorbonne.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kayt83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The room is small ,but was perfect for me 1 person, max 2, vey neat designe, clean bed, small but clean bathroom, nice cozy colors, make you feel at home. very helpful staff, specially front desk. Jaleel. the hotel has strange set up for breakfast, but you will enjoy it.The hotel is surrounded by fine art. beatiful ,well designed bulding and monmnts. worth to take pics.
for 10 euro taxi ride you can see the effile tower. Also it is easy to get to the hotel from Int. airport chrls de Gals CDG, you can take one train RER (B) get off at Lexonborgh station and walk 100 yd. remember from now till November the train stob running from the airport direct at 2230 for construction till the morning early hrs, where if you arrive late to CDG you have to take the buss, then continue to the RER B train.the price was good. CU around

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank majeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#449 of 1,805 in Paris
601 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel le Petit Paris
Hotel le Petit Paris
#73 of 1,805 in Paris
1,213 reviews
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Odeon Hotel
Odeon Hotel
#252 of 1,805 in Paris
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#182 of 1,805 in Paris
973 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
#617 of 1,805 in Paris
536 reviews
Quartier Latin
Select Hotel
Select Hotel
#267 of 1,805 in Paris
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Design Sorbonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Design Sorbonne

Address: 6 rue Victor Cousin | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#250 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#255 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: €104 - €213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Design Sorbonne 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bigger brighter lobby, all-new designer rooms, new sound system, new breakfast area, new photo exhibition on every floor, unlimited free internet access, a freshly-cleaned fa??ade... you'll be amazed and delighted by the new Hotel Sorbonne! Total comfort, refreshing style and attention to detail; all our rooms have been fully renovated with daring designer fabrics, sumptuous wallpaper, completely new bathrooms and your own iMac for surfing the web, watching a DVD or checking your e-mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Design Sorbonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design De La Sorbonne Hotel
Hotel De La Sorbonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing