We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location but small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Design Sorbonne
Ranked #282 of 1,805 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Very nice hotel. Located close to RER B Luxembourg. Rooms trendy but very dark (no main light - we stayed in one overlooking the courtyard) and no mini bar. Cleaned well every day. Staff can all speak English. Breakfast basic - not worth paying extra unless included in the room price as there are places nearby which do breakfast for less than 13 euro.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank heroin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

577 - 581 of 1,342 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2011

Nice hotel in central location for public transports etc. The rooms were small but I expected that for Paris from other comments. The breakfast was nice and the rooms and lobby were always clean. Our air con leaked and was never rectified when reception was told (they actually said it was our fault??). The only major con is the lift - it is TINY! My husband and I had to take it separately with our luggage and struggled to fit together without it. Luckily we were on the 1st floor so we took the stairs instead.

Overall a nice hotel and I would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mzpickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2011

Safe and lively location in the Latin Quarter only 3 minutes away from the RER B that runs directly to CDG airport. Its closer to the Luxembourg RER station than the map linked to the hotel's website indicates - when on Rue Soufflot & walking up towards the Pantheon you turn left at the intersection with Rue Le Goff & the hotel is 1 minute walk away & on the left side.

Many tourist attractions are nearby inlcuding the famous Pantheon around the corner and the Sorbonne University across the road. Luxembourg Gardens are also only a few minutes away as is Notre Dame. On the RER B you can pretty much reach all of Paris with only one connection to the many nearby RER/metro lines, especially at Chatelet Les Halles.

Spoilt for choice in terms of eating out all around the Latin Quarter & Bvd Saint Michel provides plenty of opportunity to do some shopping.

The hotel has been renovated to a very high standard & the iMac in the room with free internet access is very useful. Rooms are a bit on the small side as is usual in Paris, but the rooms are well designed & make the most of the space available. Very clean and well maintained.

I have stayed there 4 or 5 times now and have always found all the staff to be very friendly & helpful - feels like it is family run. The special offers can be great value for money.

Room Tip: Look out for the special offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bamme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

When we arrived the staff at the front desk are very friendly and showed us to the only downstairs room there was room 1 . which had a large bathroom doors out to the courtyard (not sure if they opened didnt try) and room was small with just enough room to walk around to the other side of the bed. The rooms are really funky nice wallpaper quite dark colours which makes it really cosy. The shower is really powerful and great to wake you up in the mornings, the Mac in the room was a great bonus and the room itself was quiet didnt hear much of the outside noise considering where the room was located.
The hotel itself is just down a side street about 5 min walk when you get off the train from the airport. Pantheon is just 2 min around the corner and there is a little square around the corner with 3 lovely restaurants/cafes for lunch or dinner and are very reasonable. its about a 5 min walk to the seine where you can get the hop on hop off bus or just stroll along looking at the book stalls along the seine. We didnt try the breakfast as its 13 euro for it there is so many places outside to get good coffee and pastry for alot less. Overall I would return to this hotel even for the location only its was great.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DublinGirl009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

If a small boutique hotel is your thing, then you'll love this. The rooms may be small, but very well designed (we had a standard room), with extremely comfortable bed, apple mac which is a nice touch and the bathroom has the boasts a power shower, everything you need for the centre of Paris .I have seen a review complaining about the size of the lift, but I would say its typical of a small french hotel, and hey, you only need the lift to carry your luggage to your room.
The location is perfect, quiet yet close to bars, restauarants.

Room Tip: If you are carrying a lot of weight, dont stay in a standard room, you may struggle in the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paris hotels
Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
Hotel Le Clos Medicis
#449 of 1,805 in Paris
601 reviews
Quartier Latin
Select Hotel
Select Hotel
#267 of 1,805 in Paris
1,200 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
Hotel Excelsior Latin
#383 of 1,805 in Paris
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier Latin
Hotel des Grands Hommes
Hotel des Grands Hommes
#124 of 1,805 in Paris
1,695 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel du College de France
Hotel du College de France
#182 of 1,805 in Paris
973 reviews
Quartier Latin
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
Hotel Elysa Luxembourg
#617 of 1,805 in Paris
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Design Sorbonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Design Sorbonne

Address: 6 rue Victor Cousin | 05 Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#250 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#255 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range: €104 - €213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Design Sorbonne 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A bigger brighter lobby, all-new designer rooms, new sound system, new breakfast area, new photo exhibition on every floor, unlimited free internet access, a freshly-cleaned fa??ade... you'll be amazed and delighted by the new Hotel Sorbonne! Total comfort, refreshing style and attention to detail; all our rooms have been fully renovated with daring designer fabrics, sumptuous wallpaper, completely new bathrooms and your own iMac for surfing the web, watching a DVD or checking your e-mail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Design Sorbonne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Design De La Sorbonne Hotel
Hotel De La Sorbonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing