We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (519)
Filter reviews
519 results
Traveller rating
141
260
96
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
141
260
96
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gare montparnasse great location small hotel no air conditioning metro station room was small but clean standard room clean hotel nice stay long weekend main attractions reception staff gaite street cereal french earplugs
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 519 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2018

Near by Montparnasse station means good accessibility from any airport in Paris.
In spite of compact entrance, they have lots of types room. The elevator is available.
In the superior room, small refrigerator, the bathtub are set.
The breakfast is good, every breads are also tasty.
We could access any place that we wanted by Metro. The station Gaîté is just few steps distance from the hotel. For the tourists,this hotel is very useful and comfortable. I strongly recommend to stay.

Room tip: Even the room faced on the back street, it was calm.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank yamada31743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_Dupain, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Arcadie, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2018

Dear yamada31743,
All our staff thank you very much for your very nice comment. We feel very happy that your have enjoyed your stay and the service of our staff.
See you soon!
Best regards,
Diana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2018

I was travelling on very early train from Montparnasse station so needed a hotel very close. I was up earlier than the usual breakfast hours but the hotel accommodated my needs and served me breakfast before the usual time. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The room was basic but was fine for my needs.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatherineB4687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2018

My boyfriend and I stayed at the hotel for a long weekend, Friday to Monday. We were in room 43, a standard room which, to our delight, overlooked a courtyard rather than a busy street, so it was lovely and quiet. The room itself was small (but what else would you expect in Paris?), but had everything we needed, and the en suite was clean. We didn't pay for breakfast as felt it unnecessary when there are so many bakeries, and a big Monoprix, a short walk away from the hotel. One of the best things about the hotel is that it's directly outside Gaité metro station, making it easy to zip around the city. We took the RER B from CDG to Denfert-Rochereau, then to Montparnasse-Bienvenüe, and then to Gaité (though you could also just get off at Montparnasse-Bienvenue, as Gare du Montparnasse is a 5 minute walk from the hotel).
Overall, we enjoyed our stay. We had two issues, though – firstly, for security reasons, you have to drop your key card off at reception whenever you leave the hotel, which is strange... and rather annoying, as you can't just come in after a night out and go upstairs. Secondly, while the male staff doing the night shift were really nice, we didn't get a good impression of the lady who checked us into the hotel on Friday afternoon, who seemed to work the day shift every day, apart from the day we checked out. She was rude and uptight, and even though she encountered us constantly she never seemed to remember who we were, or what room number we were in – even when we'd just been to the supermarket and dropped our key off with her half an hour earlier! Maybe her memory is just really bad, but I get the impression she was deliberately being awkward.

Room tip: Room 43 is a budget – not a 'confort' room – but overlooks a quiet courtyard.
Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Grace H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_Dupain, Propriétaire at Hotel Arcadie, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2018

First of all, I am glad to read that you appreciate your stay in our hotel. You didn't enjoy our breakfast, il's a pity because it is a nice buffet breakfast with cheese, ham, saucisson, yoghurt (white and with fruits), different kind of cereals, almonds, dried apricots, prunes, fruit salad, fresh fruits, different jams and butters, coffee or chocolate or various kind of nice tea, and of course the baguettes from the bakery next to the hôtel and "les viennoiseries : croissants, pain au chocolat, torsades, brioches, pain aux raisins, chaussons aux pommes "...
About the key, it is only for your own security. If there is a fire in our hotel (we hope never!), the firefighters can immediatly be informed which room is occupied or not. As they can work very efficiently and save people quickly.
Concerning our staff, usually there isn't the same person on Friday and on Saturday and Sunday. May be ... a little fatigue, but it is not an excuse.I do apologize. It is not the use in our hotel, quite the opposite we like so much welcome our guests and help them to discover our beautiful town Paris ! Thank you for your opinion which help us to do better. Dupain marie-agnès.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

Arcadie Monparnasse is a compact, conveniently located establishment, ideal for the Paris visitor requiring cleanliness, comfort & a good, filling French breakfast. The Staff are friendly & helpful. Recommended!

Room tip: Areas for improvement: Shower curtain necessary. Additional coat hangers
Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_Dupain, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Arcadie, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Dear Kevin B,

It is our pleasure to know you are fully satisfied with your stay.

Please be assured that we will continue doing our best at looking after our guestts while making further progress to serve you better.

Warmest regards,

Madina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2018

I booked a room at the Arcadie Montparnasse hotel via booking.com with a free cancellation until April 27, 2018 and a cancellation fee from April 28, 2018 of €100.
The same day the hotel wrote off 100€ from the bank card indicated by me.
On January 15, I canceled the booking and wrote a request to Arcadie Montparnasse via booking.com for a refund of 100€ written off.
During 4 working days the hotel didn't returned the money and ignores my letters via booking.com.
The website of the hotel does not work (until now). I was forced to find the website of the hotel in Google's cache, find an e-mail there and insistently ask the hotel to return the money.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank IllarionovaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels_Dupain, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Arcadie, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2018

Dear Madame,
We are really sorry for the inconvenience.
We always make a pre-authorization in order to check the validity of the credit card just for guarantee. In case of cancellation according to cancellation policy we refund this amount.
In your case we are sorry that it took three days, but these days we had a problem with our machine.
Again our apologies for the inconvenience!
Best regards, Diana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews